We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Customized One Week Sailing, Snorkeling, Dining...”
Sail Into Romance aboard Bel Ami, our 53 foot world class luxury sailing yacht.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sail Into Romance aboard Bel Ami, our 53 foot world class luxury sailing yacht.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Sail Into Romance aboard Bel Ami, our 53 foot world class luxury sailing yacht.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yacht -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
East End, St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MyBridean...
LaGrange, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Customized One Week Sailing, Snorkeling, Dining Vacation”
Reviewed June 20, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I booked Bel Ami Voyages with Captain Dave and Admiral Bobbi Rae as my wife's surprise 50th birthday present. My wife is at least one-half mermaid and has always loved the Caribbean and being on boats, but neither one of us has ever sailed. For those who want to fast forward to the summary, here it is: the sailing trip completely blew away my wife and me. I'm sure to win husband of the year!
Dave and Bobbi are magnificent hosts and knowledgeable tour guides. Even though we arrived three days before our charter to enjoy some time on St. Thomas, they picked us up at the airport and gave us a driving tour with stops at attractions around the island before depositing us at Secret Harbour Resort. (Dave was instrumental in helping us schedule our first scuba dives at Aqua Action while we stayed at Secret Harbour -- another check off of my wife's bucket list!). They carefully interviewed us regarding our itinerary and food and beverage choices before we came aboard and then proceeded to intuitively design a perfect week for us.
Dave is an accomplished sailor who was generous and patient with instruction about the boat and sailing. Bobbi is a competent first mate who allowed me to assist with some of her duties as I caught on.
The captain is a wonderful chef (as is Bobbi). Two carnivores by nature, my wife and I chose a week of absolutely delicious vegan cuisine (except for two almost vegan meals!).
Dave is also an accomplished musician and Bobbi a vocalist. Each evening we were able to relax on board with drinks and music while anchored in beautiful bays, unless we decided to head on shore for drinks and/or dinner.
But that was our voyage. What became clear to us was that Dave and Bobbi have the knowledge and insight to tailor a charter to anyone's interests. Whether we wanted to spend all or part of our time sailing, snorkeling, hiking, shopping, or sitting in a beach chair or on a stool in a beach bar they were dedicated to making it happen. They knew the best spots and how to get us there. If we had chosen vegan, Mediterranean, or Adkins they gladly would have prepared our outstanding meals accordingly.
And most important, when they delivered us to the airport at the end of our adventure, we shared sad goodbyes (until later) with new friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghanima M
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
“Unique, amazing, relaxing trip. Great vehicle to celebrate life, love and friendship”
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This was truely a relaxing adventure with world class new friends. My partner and I spent a week aboard the Bel Ami early November. From the time we landed in St.Thomas until we took off, we were pampered by Captain Dave and Admiral Bobby Rae. They anticipated our needs, from suggesting hikes, taking us to beautiful snorkling spots, to cooking gourmet meals, and surprising us with delicious drinks. Although not new to the boating world, our accomadations exceeded our expectations. We had plenty privacy in our relatively spacious quarter, and enjoyed the efficiency of the amenities on board. We often left it up to Captain Dave to decide where to set his sails, and he never took short cuts, and every place we visited was charming, and some were really magical. We were looking at spending a week, reliving some of my boyfriend's early memory, and celbrating our love, and friendship. We wanted a laid back escapade indulging in the beauty of the Carribean. Bel ami, Captain David, and Admiral Bobby Rae delivered this and more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review. Your mention of our being "world class new friends" is truly inspiring to us, particularly with Dave being born in Brooklyn and Bobbie Rae from Louisiana! I guess we've come a long way ;) Our vessel, Bel Ami, is truly a world class sailing vessel, and perhaps she is finally rubbing off on us?!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZippyBlue
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Third Times a Charm”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is the third time we have sailed with Capt. Dave and first mate Bobbie. That speaks loudly in and of itself. Capt Dave has years of experience sailing especially in the Caribbean, so this is truly a worry free, low stress, relaxing, yet adventuresome vacation. On our first trip, we explored the US Virgin Is; on our second trip, the BVI; and on our most recent trip, the Spanish Virgin Islands. Each time, we experienced new adventures in new places. Whether you prefer beach/snorkeling time in an excluded beach, touring an island or an exotic drink at a local hot spot, Capt Dave will find it. They will certainly go out of their way to make your vacation uniquely yours. Just sit back and enjoy the delicious food and drinks served and plenty of laughs shared.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Willing to adapt to what we wanted to do.
Liked least: Too short
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2016
It was such a pleasure to have Mike and Nancy aboard Bel Ami for the 3rd time in as many years. We now count them amongst our best of friends, and look forward to seeing them soon again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The whole package, too many to list.
Liked least: Motion sickness on the last day.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David M
1 review
“Dream Honeymoon”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My wife and I spent a week aboard the Bel Ami for the week of the July 4th, 2016. From the moment we arrived in St. Thomas it was a dream vacation. Dave picked us up at the airport and wisked us away to a lunch with a view. Soon we were aboard the Bel Ami and set sail. I'm a pretty novice sailor to say the least, and my wife had never even been aboard a sail boat in her life. Its pretty comical to see her face as we set out in to the open winds of the Caribbean and keeled the boat over pretty good the first time. Dave and Bobbie Rae quickly gained trust in our sea legs and we sailed the majority of the USVI's and BVI's over the course of our trip. Each night after dinner, we'd pull out the old map and decide on our adventure for the next day. We snorkeled for hours, toured various beach bars, watched live music, saw the pirate bar on Norman Island, snorkeled in caves, went to the baths at Virgin Gorda, and finished at the most amazing beach at Jost Van Dike. Captain Dave is a modern day renaissance man (Sailor, singer, musician, doctor, cook) and Bobbie Rae is his equal companion. She's literally one of the sweetest ladies I've ever met.

If you want a laid back adventure at one of the most beautiful places in the world, look no further than the Bel Ami. The ship itself is a very heavy luxury sail boat. We had plenty of room in our cabin and our own bathroom. We hope to return sometime in the coming years to re-live our amazing experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Laid back nature of the hosts and their genuine desire to deliever the ultimate island life experience.
Liked least: We ran out of time! Should have stayed longer.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2016
It was such a pleasure for us to host these two wonderful people aboard Bel Ami and we hope they come back to see us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia R
1 review
“Wonderful honeymoon vacation”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and I decided to spend our honeymoon visiting the beautiful caribbean islands. We were lucky enough to find Bel Ami and have the most amazing vacation ever. Captain Dave is very professional and has a boat in excellent conditions. He is also a lot of fun and will take you to the most amazing places in the Virgen British and US islands. Bobbie Rae makes sure all your needs are taken care of and helps Captain Dave cook delicious food. My husband and I were very eager to learn sailing and Captain Dave helped us fulfill that dream, and yes, we were sailing the boat at the end of our trip!!!!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2016
Doctor Lucia and husband Keith were a joy to have aboard. And they quickly went from a couple of swabs to full fledged mates as they soaked up nautical knowledge and learned to sail from scratch to full fledge sailors! We hope to see them sailing their own vessel down here one of these days!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B
1 review
“Just Amazing!”
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We can't say enough great things about how amazing and wonderful our trip on Bel Ami was with Captain Dave and Bobbie Rae. From the beauty of the boat, the wonderful meals, the indescribable views, and the enjoyable company, we had an amazing honeymoon.

The advantage of the sailboat is the ability to both cruise along and see the beauty of the islands, while being able to drop anchor at some amazing locales (St. Thomas; Tortola; Virgin Gorda; St. John; Water Island). The snorkeling, the hiking, the jaw dropping sunsets from a beach bar, we were able to sample a taste of what USVI/BVI can offer. But the real value add is the guidance and back stories from Dave and Bobbie Rae that made the experience that much better. They were the best travel guides we could have had.

The cost was worth every dime and more. We would (and will) do this trip again as it's the best way to experience the islands and all they can offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The variety of places we visited
Liked least: Captain Dave's jokes
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2016
John and Tina were just an amazing couple to have onboard Bel Ami. They reminded myself (Captain Dave) and Admiral (aka admirable) Bobbie Rae just why we do what we do. And we are passionate about taking care of 1 loving couple. We feed on the energy of love which is generated and surrounds us with positive energy. Amazing is the word!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing