We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Service, Been Twice and Own”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Service, Been Twice and Own”
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We had a great time here. We went in March of 2008 and again in 2009. It's a beautiful facility, and not to contradict anyone else's experience, but we found the staff to be very helpful and polite. The Island has many beautiful beaches and a one day trip to St. John is highly recommended, if you've rented a car. We always do as we like to beach hop. All in all a really really good time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidrose313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    412
    105
    35
    28
See reviews for
668
413
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Having been a Marriott Vacation Club owner for many years, we have stayed at numerous Marriott Club resorts and have come to expect high quality facilities and exceptional service. Although the facilties and the unit specifically were great, the service and staff competency levels were so under par they cast a dark cloud on the whole experience. In comparable terms, the service levels were comparable to a Motel 6. e.g. No information was provided to us upon checkin. There was no welcome packet, no information about the resort or surrounding area at all. The first day we arrived we discovered the toaster wasn't working and it took three days and a visit to the property manager to get it replaced. The elevators in our building didn't work for the 1st 3 days and we were forced to use the stairs, we were on the 3rd level. To compound that problem there were animal feces on the stairs that took almost a week to be removed. Quite discusting but gives you an idea about the basic service level. In the elevators they had posted information about activities and asked to call a certain number to make reservations, after calling the number for two separate events, no one answered and did not call back after I left a message each time. When I went to the checkin in order to ask for the property manager relating to several of these issues, the clerks at the desk tried to address the problem without giving me access to the property manager. Since they were part of the issues I wanted to complain about, I was stuck waiting for 20 minutes and was finally able to communicate the issues resulting in at least getting the toaster replaced. Although we were interested in a review of ownership at this property, no one ever approached us to attend a preview. Again, just a lack of customer relationship training, not up to Marriott's standards. Lastly, the pool was beautiful, but the beach area is extremely small and literally almost unusable due to rocks, coral, and undersea plant that was sharp and pointy. You need to go to the Marriott hotel for a satisfactory beach experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regosnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

The villas in this resort are beautiful, kitchens have everything you need, beautiful countertops, stainless steel appliances...the works. Bedrooms open up to the ocean with two balconies for 2 bedrooms and a living room with everything you need. I had a wonderful time, pool was nice, beach was nice plus you had access to the other resorts amenities. I definitely would want to go back to this resort...and you cannot compare this to the frenchmans reef hotel which needs a major renovation of the building. These are brand new villas and i could not add anything else to them. My only down fall was the service and the restaurants. The only restuarant on site was a small lunch bar that charged $18 for a burger and it would arrive 40 min later...not my idea of service or worth the $$. If you wanted to go out the taxis cost makes you wonder if it was worth it and eveyrthing is pretty far. I wanted to try Havana Blue at the other marriott hotel but never got a chance...but it looked amazing from a distance. Definitely check out the mountain top one night where you get on a lift to take you up...eat dinner there..and they have a wonderful happy hour that makes it worth it and cheap! you would never guess the neatest place on the island has the cheapest food and drinks! All in all..my best trip to st. thomas so far...been twice...want to go again!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank just2eazy4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

We are a timeshare owner at the Frechman's Cove, so we used our week to spend the first week at the Marriott's Frenchman's Cove . My family of 4 (2 adults and 2 young children), and my wife's sisters and one of their husband stayed in Room 244. This is a 2 bdrm condo on the 4th floor of 2nd building (Virgin Gorda) with a direct view of the giant infinity pool and the channel that leads into Charlotte Amalie harbor. What an amazing view. My brother-in-law literally dropped his bag and didn't move from the entrance when he saw the view from the entry way.

OK - i need to get this off my chest. Like some other reviewers, I also noticed reviews about Marriott's Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star resort on this property. Not the same and no comparison. Frenchman's Cove wins hands down! Enough said!

Our unit was 2 + 2 unit with a living room with a modern pullout softbed (soft...not for adults), a dining table with 6 chairs, and a full kitchen with a full size refrigerator, dishwasher, full oven and all the pots/pans, plates, utensils, and knives. Also has coffee maker (but not the filter nor coffee or sugar packets), a washing machine and tumble drier (but no detergent or fabric softner), 3 good sized flatscreen TVs (32" TVs in bedrooms and 36" in the living room) and with DVD players. Each room has a balcony, with the balcony off the master bedroom is large enough for 8 adults. The rooms were so well insulated, so when I closed the doors, you dont hear anything outside! Which was great for sleeping in!

The master bathroom has a tub and vanity and a door separates the toilet and the full shower. The second bathroom has a full vanity, a toilet, and a tub with shower. There was a small bottle of shampoo and soaps in each of the bathrooms but no conditioners.

Airconditioning is centrally controlled and works great. Sometimes too good since each of the rooms have a ceiling fan, so my wife had to keep borrowing my fleece jacket.

There were enough towels to go around, but for pool towels, they inventory the towels - apparently past guests were packing towels when they were checking out.

Currently, the Frenchman's Cove only has 4 buildings for occupancy, and I was told that the next building will be ready by end of 2009. That will be named "Tortola". I noticed that all the building were named after the nearby islands, such as Tortola, Virgin Gorda, Jost Van Dyke, etc. Because the resort is situated on a steep hillside, there are a lot of steps. So when the elevator is not working due to the lightning storm we had one night, the only way to get to the pool and to the beach was climbing up and down the stairs. No problem for us, especially our kids - aged 6 and 7 - preferred to use the stairs.

The pool is a large rectangular pool and half of it has the infinity pool feature so that you can look into the bay. Even though there were a lot of people there the first week of June, I never felt it was overcrowded or had a difficult time finding empty chaise by the pool. The pool also features a small water slide (two turns and you are in the pool) for kids next to the kids area. Kids and some adults enjoyed the water slide. The pool was warm! I am not used to the warm pool water, so I had to go in the bay to "cool" down!

Checkin - smooth. The front desk staff was exceptionally efficient, friendly and helpful. My entire checkin process was less than 5 minutes.

Housekeeping - this is not a regular hotel which provides daily room cleaning. So if you want the room cleaned or trash picked up, you have to schedule it with the housekeeping and you have to pay extra. $35 for a full cleaning and $25 for tidy service (trash pickup, replace towels, etc.).

Restaurant - At this point, there's only the Sunset Cove Grill next to the pool. They have a full bar, a good menu (but not extensive), and at night time, there is a variety of entertainment depending on the week - live band or karaoke!

Fitness center - a really well appointed gym is on the second floor of the restaurant. It's clean, 4 full treadmills, weight equipment, showers/bathrooms, etc. A very nice gym, indeed!

Next to the pool is also the gift shop, which sells small list of groceries, beer/soft drinks, and liquor.

As others have noted, if you stay at the Cove, you can also use all the facilities at the Frenchman's Reef and Morningstar Resort. There's a short walk to the hotel or take the free shuttle service. Only thing you can't do is to charge anything at the Frenchman's Reef to your room at the Cove. You can, however, setup an account at the Frenchman's Reef, but I saw no benefit of doing that since I always carried at least one credit card, even when I was wearing just a swimming trunk.

The beach - The beach at the Cove is small but felt it was much better than that of the hotel next door. Since the Cove sits on the harbor side, the surf is not strong , so the water is much calmer and clearer. There's snorkeling immediately left and right of the resort, which has an abundant marine life along the reef. I actually lost track of time when I was chasing a stingray! Again, the beach never felt crowded at all. There are a lot of empty chairs throughout the day (unlike the busy beaches of Hawaii or Punta Cana of DR.

Food - since the Cove only has one restaurant, we ate out every night (cooked light breakfast in the kitchen). Here are some of the restaurants we visited:

- Caribbean Saloon in Red Hook - typical sports bar/restaurant with great service. good steak and seared tuna.
- Roberts at Elysian Resort - it was OK, nothing memorable.
- Mafolie - on top of the hill overlooking the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Great view of the harbor and good service. Food is mostly OK.
- Mim's Cafe - on the beach of Bolongo Condos. Great view of the Bolongo Bay and their curry lobster was excellent! Great service!
- Glady's Cafe - in Charlotte Amalie - after a full day of shopping we got there around 4:40 pm, and they still sat us. This restaurant closes at 5 pm. But the service was great, and their specials, such as Jerk Chicken, was as good as I ever had.
- Latitude 18 Restaurant - at the Latitude 18 Dock in Red Hook. Very hard to find this restaurant - easy to get lost if you dont know where you are going, but since we're there earlier for a daysail on the Treazzure (www.sailvirginislands.com), we stayed for dinner. Fantastic steaks. fresh fish, and great service!!
- Havana Blue at the Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star - what a find! Very expensive, but worth every penny! Their seafood stew (cioppino) was outstanding as was their seared tuna. Grilled shrimps and fired calamari were excellent! Great service!!!!

We're already making plans to get back to Frenchman's Cove next June.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank av8tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Stayed at the Marriott's Frenchman's Cove on a timeshare exchange through Interval International. NB Some of the reviews on this page seem to be for the Marriott's Frenchman's Reef and Morningstar Resort which is the hotel complex just around the headland from Frenchman's Cove. The Cove is a timeshare complex made up of very large, luxuirious apartments - ours was 2 bed 2 bath with a living/dining/kitchen (really well appointed - huge fridge/freezer complete with ice-maker and even a washing machine and tumble drier) plus 3 TVs and DVDs. Towels, pool towels, tea towels, starter packs of coffee, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, washing powder were all provided. For someone used to staying in apartments in French ski resorts (the sort of place where 8 of you are expected to share 1 bedroom and 1 bathroom and take your own bedding) it was absolute heaven. The complex itself is relatively small and climbs up a steep hillside so there isn't much in the way of communal areas around the separate apartment blocks. The pool area is quite small for the number of units - it was too crowded the first week we were there which was Easter week, but much better the second week. The complex is still under construction which wasn't a problem and apparently when it's finished there will be another pool and more communal areas. The least appealing aspect was the access roads betweens the blocks (so you could get your car right up to your building - typically American) and the combination of air conditioning and lack of screens on the balconies - so we tended to keep the doors closed all the time, which was a pity - unlike being in the Mediterranean where you have the doors and windows open all the time. Guests at the Cove could use all the facilities at the Frenchman's Reef and Morningstar Resort - although the path between the two was a bit of an obstacle course. The food at the Cove was OK but a bit pricey as was Coco Joe's at Morningstar Beach, which was worth it for the location. The beach at the Cove is small but with some snorkelling (watch out for sea urchins) and nice early morning and evening. The Morningstar beach is nice for walking along but the sea is quite rough. We liked the pool at Morningstar Beach which was very quiet both weeks (but the kids preferred the one at the Cove where there was quite a good Kids Activity centre). Hiring a car is a must as taxis are so expensive - we used ZIp Rental - the car was a bit of a banger but the service was good. Try to avoid hitting the most popular beaches such as Magen's at midday as they are full of tourists off the cruise ships - by about 2.30pm most of them have gone. Take the car ferry to St. John's but again avoid Trunk Bay at midday. Can recommend the half-day sail and snorkel trip on the Jolly Mon and also the half day kayak and snorkel trip to the mangrove lagoon, both booked through the Adventure Centre at the Cove. All in all a fantastic holiday with lots of great snorkelling and some amazing beaches (go to Coki Beach where the fish will eat food from your hand - they like dog bisuits!). Our only disappointment was that there weren't enough places selling Caribbean food.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wytibyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2009

My husband and I were in STT at the end of march. beginning of April. The Cove is a timeshare resort. The units have 2-3 bedrooms, with full kitchen, living room, and two baths. There are also 2 balconies. The property is NEW and still under construction. What I don't understand is how people can visit a resort and not know where they have stayed! The 2 previous reviews are for the REEF and not the Cove.
We stayed in the newest building this time (our 3rd visit). Getting to the beach meant a series of elevators but they all came quickly. The property never seems crowded even though it is at capacity. I would rely on the Marriott Hotel's concierge rather than the Cove's as they didn't have the right information. Since we have been to STT numerous times, this wasn't an issue for us, but might be for 1st timers. The Cove has a laid back atmosphere with not too many organized activities which is how we like it. We could trade our week but so far we have been very happy going once a year to the VI. The uniqueness of being able to travel to other islands from STT and the high quality of the Cove makes us want to stay just where we are.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardengirlBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

Yea, it was a nice place but it wasn't as luxurious and wonderful as their website would have you believe. The food was semi-crappy and overpriced, except for Havana Blue which was absolutely delicious and worth the extra money. You couldn't walk anywhere from the resort so you had to hire a taxi to go anywhere, usually costing $10 per person each way. You'd think they'd want you to feel welcome there but charging $2.50 for a 30 second local phone call, 70 cents per minute for internet, and charging $20 to rent a crappy snorkel when there was nothing to see there didn't make me feel very welcome. I felt like they had you trapped there and then just tried to extract as much money as possible from you. Overall even w all my complaints, it was a nice place to stay if you're into resorts.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahdck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
8.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.2 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
5.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
714 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Property: Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3011, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing