We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT "Timeshare People" bc of First Impressions” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“NOT "Timeshare People" bc of First Impressions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Last year, we stayed for ten days at The Marriott's Frenchman's Reef Hotel. At the end of that vacation, I talked with Timeshare Reps. and was intrigued enough to reserve 4nights in the "condos/villas" for this year. I was also interested by the ability to gain points since I already have a Platinum Marriott standing from business travel. So, this year, we stayed in the familiar Marriott's Frenchman Reef Hotel for a few days preceding our reserved time at The Coves Timeshare facilities.
This year, we traveled with another couple and our adult daughter. On the morning of our 'Checkout' from the *Hotel accommodations [(*Both were top floors & beautiful ocean views. And, my family's room was kindly upgraded to a 2-story suite bc of my Marriott Platinum standing.) On top of that, as a Marriott courtesy, Frenchman's Reef allowed us to refrigerate our remaining food/wines and kept our suitcases stored until we could check-in at the neighboring "Cove timeshare"], I went to the timeshare letting them know that we had an ALL day sailing venture scheduled and would not return until later that evening. I also left my cell number which they already had on file from previous calls. (Someone had marked our packet with a note saying *NO Contact Number Available...silly gal!)

As it was our first time to The Cove, first impressions were NOT at their best! We returned around 6PM, to the pick up keys and a room assignment. The hostess was distracted while talking to us and we had to wait for several other guests asking questions. She finally handed us our room keys and walked outside on the balcony pointing to the building which had been assigned for our stay. When she was walking to show us the elevators, she was interrupted by another guest and never did even point us to the elevator. Thankfully, we found it on our own.
To our dismay, our timeshare (611) was the farthest away from all amenities, had the views blocked by the buildings across the street, and smelled like garbage on outside patios bc of the collection location for trash. As a Platinum Member of Marriott initially interested in a Marriott Timeshare, this was a POOR marketing selection to 'entice' my wife and I. We expected much more for our first visit to the Cove. (Sadly, we left our Frenchman's Marriott suite with highest floor level and an ocean view with half of the price of the Cove).

All in all, the food is well prepared. The breakfasts were good, but they are understaffed for service during their "high season" (Feb.). Happy Hours were nice but lines went faster when 2 bartenders were available. Lunches were tasty and reasonably priced. As with the breakfasts, dinners were nice but they needed more servers per area. ( We were treated to a free bottle of wine "on the house", thanks to an observant manager after waiting over 30 min. to have our order taken for dinner...Thanks!).
The beach experience was "unique". The first afternoon was met with our friends trying to find available loungers and umbrellas and no one available for service questions. They dragged empty loungers into a row from an unused stack to the chagrin of an older Timeshare owner who claimed that we blocked her view. My wife finally took initiative and sought the help of the young gal in the Marketplace Gift shop (Thank You!). A male manager came out to help us directly after that (Thank You!). We never did even see the "beach guy" during our stay which bothered my wife who had been a Director at a beach many years ago and said it was a staffing problem. There is a need for more than one "beach-babe" to help alleviate the embarrassment of new guests having to deal with old.

The shuttle service is nice to the Frenchmans' Reef Hotel and their restaurants. And, Andrew from Louisiana was very polite and gave some US.southern hospitality in his area of service for curbside greets. Maybe Andrew could help train the front desk in hospitality and teach them to focus toward one group of people at a time.

We endured the 90min. talk of repetition hearing, "I am NOT here to tell you how to spend your money" , & " I've sold these to millionaires and to guys who spray Terminex" & "Maybe you are hotel people (Renters) instead of Timeshare (Owners)". My wife tried to make the 'marketing idea' that they should have impressed her from the greeting inside the lobby and in trying to "hook us" with beach views like the hotel did for repeat customers. His only reply to her was that it is "high season" and the "owners" get first-dibs. He upset my wife with his attitude; I guess he will never know if we spray Terminex or have millions!

We Love St. Thomas Frenchmans' Reef Marriott Hotel. We love the adult atmosphere at the pools of the hotel. We will return to the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you 611.No VIEW! It is too far away from pool and beach area. And it is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bizman92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Frenchman's Cove. The experience you described is not typical for Marriott Vacation Club resorts and we apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We would like to learn more about your experience and invite you to contact our Customer Care team at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    394
    99
    32
    29
See reviews for
633
394
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We've stayed here twice and have no complaints. Clean, modern, great and attentive staff. They have fun things to do each night as well. Just an all around fantastic place to stay!! Will stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeiLover2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
272 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is our second year to enjoy this Marriott Timeshare.
This year we stayed in the Crown Villa on the 5th floor with the most spectacular blue view of paradise! The two bedroom villa is beautifully appointed with two balconies overlooking the pool and beach. The kitchen is fully equipped and the bathrooms immaculate and well maintained. The master bath included a huge soaking tub, as well as a large, step in shower. The master bedroom has a king size bed, and the guest room includes two queen size beds. Both are comfortable and appointed with high quality linens.
We enjoyed the poolside music in the evenings, along with the wine, rum or tequila tasting, and the two for one happy hour as we "drank in the sunset."
It is an easy drive or shuttle to the hotel and Morning Star Beach (or a lovely walk) for an expansive beach with sun chairs and umbrellas, as well as some natural shade. The beach is well cared for and has facilities and beach cafes. The hotel pool is something out of Hollywood with a 180 degree view of the sea, a large deck with comfortable chairs with umbrellas, a large virtual reality pool that appears to pour into the sea, and cascades into a waterfall, a smaller pool with seats up to the bar, a hot tub, and even a small area with a wading pool for little ones. The steps leading from the hotel down to the pool are expansive inviting guests into paradise.
Be ready to slip into a kick back and soak in the sun and beauty of the tropics vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest level for the best views...however, every villa has an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LUchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We are happy to hear Marriott’s Frenchman's Cove is your resort of choice when visiting St. Thomas! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views. Havana Blue restaurant delicious. Coco Joe's on the beach has good food. We liked taking a shuttle to these places since folks drive on left over steep hills. We took the car ferry to St. John and it was tense. You back onto the ferry with big trucks all around! The villas were well appointed with just what I would expect since we own time shares at Hilton Head. Try redweek.com for reasonable rates! It was a nice trip, especially in February.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Frenchmans Cove in St Thomas. The property has a great location, fantastic views, still looks like new and the staff are amazing. During the stay we also walked over to the Frenchmans Reef hotel and the place also looks great. There are many places to eat on the island, that said we had dinner at Havana Blue twice it was so good. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is one of our favorite Marriott Timeshare properties. We stayed on the 5th floor of the St John building and the views were wonderful. The rooms have all been renovated with new furnishings, draperies, freshly painted, new TV's, linens, etc. and they look great and very light and tropical. The staff is helpful and the menu at the Sunset Grille is much improved. They now have a Caribbean buffet on Monday evenings with entertainment and as always the manager's welcome party on Monday afternoon with vendors and prizes. Pool becomes crowded later in the day but lounge chairs are not a problem. We enjoy breakfast and lunch on our balcony enjoying the views and watching the cruise ships, but do prefer eating dinner out. The were no elevator issue this year.

Room Tip: HIgh floor in any building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were in a 2BR/2BA Oceanside unit February 8-15, 2014. We have been vacationing in Cabo San Lucas for the past 7 years, but decided to try the V.I.'s for a change. With a few exceptions, we had a nice time at Mariott's Frenchman's Cove, although we continue to prefer Cabo San Lucas for our warm weather vacations.

We checked in around 11:30pm on Saturday after a late flight arrival. The resort computer system was down, so we had to wait awhile for another couple to be checked in. After registering and receiving our room keys, we unloaded our luggage, carted it up to the villa, and none of the 3 keys worked in the lock (and no, I did not have the keys near a cell phone or credit card). I drove our vehicle back up to the office, and instead of giving me new keys, the attendant called security and had them meet us at our room to open the door. I tried to explain to her that would result in us not being able to leave the room without being locked out. She advised that I would have to come back to the front desk in the morning to get new keys. (Perhaps this was tied to the computer system being down, but she offered no explanation).

After the security guard let us in our room, exhausted after a long day of travel, we received a call from the front desk (same person who checked us in) waking us up at 12:50am telling us thay made a mistake and put us in the wrong room. We were actually very satisfied with the room we were in on the 4th floor of the Tortola building. I questioned the desk receptionist and without offering an explanation, she simply stated we were in the wrong room and there was no other option but to move us in the morning. First, I'm not sure why it was so important to call us at 12:50am when we were sleeping, and I never was given an explanation for why we had to move. Once we did move the next day, our 2nd room was adequate (not as nice of a location or view as the first room).

The pool area is fairly small for this size of a resort, and it is nearly impossible to get a poolside lounge chair if you are not at the pool by 9:30am.

Now some positives. The resort is in a good location - not too far of a drive to downtown, but has a remote feeling, which we enjoy. The room was spacious and well furnished with top end appliances in the kitchen. We found the resort to be quiet at night, yet there is entertainment and activities throughout the day and evening. The Water Taxi to downtown stops every 30 minutes at the Pier in front of the resort, which we found convenient. Other than our negative experience at check-in, the resort was a nice place to spend our vacation in St. Thomas. I'll write it off to a bad experience with an employee who did not use good judgment or customer service...and not indicative of the overall resort.

Room Tip: Upper floors of the Tortola building is best. Next choice would be upper floors of the Jost van Dyk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SailChicago2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.2 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
8.9 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
8.0 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Property: Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3011, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott and Expedia so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing