We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome activities, like night kayaking!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome activities, like night kayaking!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I just recently returned from the Frenchman's Cove in St. Thomas, and already wishing we could go back. Along with the amazing views, nice rooms, and friendly service, there was tons of things to do around the hotel. The Adventure Center kiosk by the pool helped us sign up for night kayaking, which turned out to be one of the best experiences we had in the islands. These kayaks have a clear polymer bottom (made from the same type of polymer used in jet fighter windows, so totally safe), and LED lights that illuminate the ocean floor beneath you. It was easy to see all the way to the bottom, and we saw a green sea turtle, sting rays, huge sea urchins, many types of fish, tons of coral, a rare spotted eagle-ray, and an ancient sunken cannon. The kayaks were light, and easy to maneuver. Our guide Chris was extremely friendly and accommodating, as he guided us through coves along the banks and showed us historical Danish fort remains and other points of interests. We actually met the owners of the Adventure Center the next evening, who were also very friendly, and they told us about the other activities they offer, such as snorkeling and even a water-powered jet pack. We had a great time, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean_and_Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Frenchman’s Cove! We are thrilled you had a great time on the night kayaking tour. It is also great to hear your resort experience exceeded your expectations when it came to service and luxury accommodations. We look forward to your next stay with us in beautiful St. Thomas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    394
    99
    32
    29
See reviews for
632
394
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I read so much about the Marriotts Frenchman's Cove on the Service that when I arrived I had expected it to be bad, but not so the staff was more than helpful the service was great - We ate at ever restruant on the premises great friendly service, I couldn't believe I read so much negative stuff about the service here. The maids, The Bartenders, The Wait staff everyone was just so nice. I felt it necessary to say this after we read so much bad stuff. Now the Marriott it self was nice, but seems to be in some repair work. The bed was pretty uncomforable, but the resort as a whole was beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kel242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review of Marriott’s Frenchman’s Cove! We truly value your positive feedback and are glad our team exceeded your expectations on your recent stay. Please visit us again on your next trip to St. Thomas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Out family stopped at St Thomas during our 7 day Allure of the Seas cruise. After doing some great shopping, we took an open taxi to this resort where our friends were staying on a time share. Resort is beautiful. Great location. Amazing views. Powered motor sports was available, though expensive compared to other islands. Will return in the future if the opportunity presents itself with or without the kids.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PipeDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your positive review of Marriott's Frenchman’s Cove! We hope you have a chance to stay with us on a future trip to St. Thomas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Beautiful pool and secluded little beach. Rooms have wonderful views. Kids club takes good care of your children...lots of activities. Food and drink on resort are a little pricey, but what I expected from other reviews. The grocery store and liquor store are only a few minutes away...prices there are very reasonable. The beach is a little small, but a quick shuttle ride next door to the sister Marriott property and you'll find the nicest beach on the island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

The best thing about this property is how convenient everything is. The pool, beach, bar, and store are all steps apart. I love the sun but my husband only wants shade. Unlike so many other resorts, there is plenty of both here. The beach tends to be crowded on weekends as check-in & check-outs overlap but usually there is no problem getting a lounge chair. The property is very clean and the beach is cleaned beautifully each morning by Marvin who does a great job! The free shuttle that runs between the Cove and Marriott Reef Hotel next door is wonderful and gives you a wide variety of eating/drinking options at night. All the Villas have been very recently remodeled and there is plenty of space. You never feel crowded here. This property is very well maintained and the staff is extremely helpful and friendly.
The only negatives we found were the mosquitos (But I am told they recently received more rain than normal) and the row of coral that runs along the entrance to the beach. You can avoid it by walking into the water by the dock. Ten of us went on this trip and 10 would happily return !!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views but 90% of the rooms are very nice Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review of Marriott’s Frenchman’s Cove! We are thrilled to hear your party of ten had a great visit and would happily return. Thank you for visiting and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I've stayed here before and every stay is truly exceptional. My family and I stayed in a two bedroom villa in the Virgin Gorda building and had exceptional views from every room. The way the resort is situated, every villa no matter what building, has the same exceptional views. The beach seems small, but it actually accommodates many people and always has a free lounge chair available. The pool is wonderful and be sure to check out the section with the lounge chairs in it. The resort has many activities throughout the week to keep everyone busy and most events are free! The little car "garages" are wonderful to keep your car cool from the hot sun. The rooms are very spacious and convenient. They have all been redecorated since my last visit and are just stunning. I would recommend you stay here if you can!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Cliff, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

The resort has many options for the Vacation Club owner. It allows you to use the two other hotels on the site. Allows you to use different beaches/pools. It is a very relaxed and scenic facility. Much smaller and intimate than Aruba where we usually go.

The staff is very friendly and the views are fantastic, as are the rooms. The only negative was the towel usage. I liked being water conscious with the use of beach towels, but it became a burden to have to wash the towels, or "beg" for new ones throughout the week.

Loved the views and the sailing/snorkling trips that leave from the dock on the premises. We rented a car to see some of the other beaches for a few days, but you can just stay on the resort or use the taxis. We enjoyed Megan's beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karenp344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your positive review of Marriott's Frenchman’s Cove! As an owner, your feedback is important to us and it is rewarding to know you had a great vacation. We look forward to many more visits to come and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.2 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
8.0 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
8.9 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Property: Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3011, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing