We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just As Advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a two bedroom, two bathroom unit with a full kitchen and washer/dryer. The unit looked just like the promotional photos, so we knew what we were getting and were not disappointed. The furnishings have a little bit of a rent-a-center look and feel to them, but that's more an observation than a criticism. Both bedrooms were spacious, and the bathrooms were too. The couch in the living room opens into a bed. We actually stayed here twice, in two different rooms. They were both exactly the same. As noted by other reviewers, the location of the unit makes a big difference in the view. The first time, we were on the first floor of the building that the front desk is located in. We still had a reat view of the water though because there is no building directly across from this building. The second time, we were in St. John's but were on the fifth floor. Again, we had a great view of the water. Had we been on the first floor though, our view would have been of another building. We had no noise issues, and never heard any of our neighbors. As also noted by other reviewers, the pool and beach area are very small. We found the poolside restaurant to be pretty good. Lots of choices for adults and children, but we aren't culinary snobs. There is a store that sells basic food items - milk, cereal, danishes/doughnuts - if you want to avoid full breakfast prices, although the store is also expensive. There is a fitness room with a pretty good range of work-out equipment. The front desk staff was extremely friendly, and the bellman who delivered our bags and picked them up on check out (there were six of us, and without a car it is quite a trip to the front entrance where taxis are located) was very professional and personable. I had need for business services, and the front desk and manager were very accommodating in that regard. For a large printing job I needed, I was sent to the Marriott Hotel next door, which had a full and very efficient business center (internet and printing charged by the minute/per page). Our two stays were the starting and ending point of a week on Virgin Gorda, so we only spent a total of three nights here. We were pleased overall with our experience, though, and with the clean and spacious accommodations. The sole negative I will mention was an issue with housekeeping over the check-out time. Check-out is a surprisingly early 10 a.m. We were kindly given until 11 to check out by the front desk staff. Promptly at 10, however, housekeeping came knocking and advised that it was check-out time. I said we'd arranged an 11 a.m. check-out with the front desk. The housekeeper responded in a not-so-pleasant way that her paperwork did not show a late check-out. She didn't say that as an explanation/apology for knocking and trying to move us along, but more as a challenge to the truth of what I was saying. This was not appreciated, and I told her if she had questions, she could check with the front desk. I smiled and closed the door. We left five minutes early, at 10:55, and on opening the door, we found the housekeeper camped outside the door. My perception was that she was poised to pound on the door as soon as the clock struck 11:00 and make her point. Both incidents with the housekeeper were unpleasant and disappointing. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hesitant-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

898 - 904 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

We just returned from a family vacation at the Cove. We had 2 apartments for 11 people - 7 adults and 4 kids (18 months thru 9 years old). As usual the staff was very friendly and helpful in making our stay pleasant and relaxing. The food at the Sunset Grill as well as the service provided by Sandra and Chelsea was exceptional. We especially enjoyed the frozen drinks at happy hour! The rooms are immaculate, and they are large and comfortable! This is our favorite resort.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CT_Karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our son got married on the beach in St. Thomas on May 1, 2013. To pull this off we banked our 2012 Frenchman's cove week , Used our 2013 Frenchman's Cove week & traded our Grand Chateau week for Frenchman's cove.In total we were able to have 13 guests stay in 3 Villas. My sister in laws & my husband's brother rented 2 Villas. Some of my daughter in laws friend stayed at the Marriott hotel. In all 26 guests had a wonderful week in St. Thomas. We had 4 days before the wedding to relax& have fun.My Daughter in law used Island Bliss to plan the ceremony which was so beautiful. They used an Island taxi to transport guests from the Frenchman's Cove to the beach ,then back to Havana Blue for a wonderful dinner reception. The Bride & Groom then left for a 4 day Honeymoon @ the Rennaisance in St. Croix. Everyone who stayed at Frenchman's cove had a wonderful time & were very impressed with the resort. We loved being able to cook suppers in our villas & all get together to talk about the days events. We have been coming to The Frenchman's Cove since it opened in 2007.My husband & I along with the Bride & Groom are booked for our week in March 2014.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MassTravelers-II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This is an amazing place to stay! My room had an ocean view, and my room was very clean and comfortable! The staff was so friendly and helpful! The infianiniy pool, hottubes and the beach were amazing!(the ocean water was the warmest water I have ever swam in!!!) overall it was a great experience and would go back in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurend419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

So we recently returned from a really nice week down at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove in St. Thomas. Overall, we were happy with our stay at the resort although we did run into a few bumps along the way. We decided to stay at this resort since it offered two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a common area. As none of the people in our party owned a timeshare at the Marriott, our room choices were extremely limited. We received an email from the Marriott approximately 2-3 weeks prior to our trip which asked us our preferences as to which building / floor we wanted to stay on. The only problem was that the only options were the St. John Building and Floor 1 or 2. Ultimately we got put on the first floor of the St. John building. While the building is the furthest away from the pool, it was very simple to get down there ... only two short elevator rides. The view from the first floor of this building, however, is extremely limited and definitely not comparable to a lot of the other suites on either higher floors / other buildings. The worst part of our room, however, was the fact that there was construction going on on the road immediately in front of our window. I am not exactly sure what the problem was, but the solution apparrently called for a large portion of the road to be dug up with a jackhammer, which essentially made our balcony useless and made it impossible to rest in the afternoon. We had originally asked to be moved but unfortunately the entire resort was booked up. The management was very receptive to our complaints about the noise and agreed to take a small portion off our room rate during the construction time as it was quite disruptive. Overall, the rooms were very nice and clean. The kitchen has everything you need (pots, pans, coffeemaker, silverware, etc). The maids were excellent and kept the place spotless. One downside of this resort is that if you don't have a car and want to travel the island, it is pretty much a $6-10 cab fare per person each way. With that, I would say that if you are going to be on the island a while and are going to be bouncing around to different beaches / restaurants, it may be worth it to rent a car for the week. Overall, the resort was very nice and is perfect for families or groups of people (2-3 couples). I think the construction that was going on was definitely a bummer and I think its important to know that if you are booking this and don't own a timeshare there, your room choices might be limited.

Room Tip: - Higher floors will definitely have a much better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeithB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just spent a week at the Cove with my wife and 21 month old son and another couple and their 18 month old daughter. Had a great time and loved St. Thomas. The Cove is a great resort and we enjoyed our first visit there. The villas can stand some updating and from what we understand that will take place beginning this summer.

We took a day trip to St. John's and highly recommend that. We did not rent a car and took taxi's which can get expensive, but was a better bet for us than renting a van and remembering to drive on the left side of the street.

Made the mistake of buying groceries at Pueblo on Day 1. Not an awful experience, but later learned of Gourmet Grocery. Same prices, MUCH better selection and probably a little safer. Go to Gourmet Grocery, same cab fare.

Pool was small, but very nice and never felt crowded. The beach is also small, but the water is great and the sea urchins are not nearly the problem some have described them as.

Only thing we didn't like was the inability to walk to restaurants/shops. Only place to walk to is the Marriott Hotel next door. We ate at the poolside restaurant at the Cove and the food was good.

Room Tip: Stayed in Virgin Gorda building, VERY convenient to the pool and beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Amazing property, Beautiful beach, with great pools. One of the best vacations my family and I have ever had! Awesome place a must see, and thanks to the guys at Netrate it hardly cost us anything. The Marriott was great! Awesome service and they helped us find things to do all over the island.

Room Tip: Stay on the Club side with the large rooms and kitchens, great for families and small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
66  Thank ChrisVI09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.5 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
4.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3011, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $448 - $916 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing