We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just came back from a 1 week stay at the Cove. It was incredible. From the time I arrived I met with Kaneesha. She was friendly and hospitable. On check-in t he room wasn't ready so I went down to the restaurant with my pre-bought lunch n was told it was ok to grab one of the tables at the restaurant to sit n have lunch. Not halfway with my lunch the front desk called to inform me that the room was ready. Gorgeous 2 bed 2 baths a view to die for and clean accommodations.
I had requested a 4th floor with a view--all the rooms have a view by the way-Mr. Wilcox was a real professional he made sure my say there was as it should be-exceptional! Stayed in the St Johns building. I did the karaoke night, dinner @ the pool -happy hour and just relaxed

Room Tip: the St johns building was quiet and had a complete view of the ocean- I was on the 3rd dfloor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pufffpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

909 - 915 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

I am a Marriott platinum owner with a timeshare in Maui, Hawaii. I had never been to the Caribbean but had only heard good things. So we took the red eye out of San Diego to take full advantage of the Saturday to Saturday stay. What luck to arrive right in time for the Carnival parade. We spent the rest of the week exploring the Island (s), toasting our good fortune to be here with the many delicious flavors of Rum made right there in St Thomas and literally floating our cares away in the warm salty waters in front of the resort.
We rented a car that was both a blessing and a curse. The mountain roads are like those old Avocado roads that wind around the mountains except you drive on the left! Seriously the road to our sacred Hana on Maui was like a super highway in comparison.

Our only real complaint was that we had to leave.

(note) This resort is small and intimate so if it's big beaches and crowds of guests your looking for then forget it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank JEwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were respected by ALL employees. Keith, at the bar, started us off with such great service. Christy, our concierge couldn't have been more helpful. All the shuttle van drivers. I don't think I ever walked by someone that didn't acknowledge me always making us feel special. A special thank you to Andrew Blansfield, Front Desk Manager, for all his help prior to our arrival. The pool is great and the activities vary for all ages. We had a two bedroom unit on the 5th floor of the Virgin Gorda building. Perfect view. Starting sometime this summer they will be changing the decor in the rooms and it should be beautiful. We only had two elevators to get to the pool. One less than if you were in the St. John's building or the Crown House. These were the positives. The negatives were: the prices are high at the Marketplace for small staples you might need. $5.95 for a doz. of eggs, $5.95 for a half pound of bacon, $8.95 for half gallon of OJ, $10.00 for a drink at the bar(wait for happy hour- 2 for 1). Cab prices are per person. We paid $12.00 per person from the airport, $6.00 to downtown, and $10.00 for a trip to Magen's Bay ( a must for a relaxing day at the beach). We were thinking of renting a car but decided not to. Driving on the opposite side wasn't something that we were comfortable with. Bring bug spray. We all got bit at night. Things to do: An island tour with Ali for $35 pp is a must if you have never been to the island. Restaurants: Room with a View, Bella Blu, Coco Joe's These were ones we ate at. There are other good ones. Your concierge will tell you what days the cruise ships come in. We were at the end of high season so towards the end of the week there weren't any cruise ships and that means some business places close. Shopping hours 9 to 5. Would we return, yes. Now that I know some things I could save some money just by making a few smart moves ( going grocery shopping for the week, and possibly renting a car.). One tip - depends on the time of the year you travel - when you leave the airport you hear them announce be at the airport 3 hrs before your flight - we were there 2 hours before and sat around. So to sum it up The Cove is a beautiful resort with a good location and lots of amenities.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Virgin Gorda good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank SisPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at this resort. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel at home and well taken care of. We will definitely be going back. We loved the live music while we lounged on one of the hammocks. They have wonderful all you can eat breakfast buffet Fri-Sun. 8-11am. It's about $21 per person but they have $2 off coupons for the buffet that you can ask for when you arrive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashawkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I checked in to a 2 bdrm villa on 4/27. Staff is friendly and attentive, especially Blaize. He went above and beyond. We arrived at 4pm and was surprised our villa was not ready. They showed us an available room on the 2nd for of the lobby bldg. we declined and waited for the 4 th for in St John bldg. We were not happy that we had to wait till 5pm. Had a great view but a walk and 3 elevator rides to the pool beach area. It was a perk to have the sister properties of Frenchmans Reef and Morning Star a short walk or complimentary ride away. We had access to several additional pools, beaches and restaurants. Internet service was exceptional. We went on the 90 min presentation, quite pushy, and received 2 tix to The Cat which is a 2 hr catamaran ride. I have been on several catamaran rides and this surpassed my expectations. It was a TEN. A not miss. The staff was energetic, efficient and attentive. We decided on the dinner sunset sail nd the food was great. They cut fresh pineapple and melons. Served fresh veggies with dip along with meats, pastas, salads etc. The Cat is a newer boat and we thought they were joking when asked to remove our shoes b4 boarding. The staff respects this vessel. Can not say enough about th great time we had. Capt Joe, Matt and Sophie. The Marriott should promote this sail better than they do. We almost opted for the $ to spend at the property and we would have missed out on a special evening. Also want to mentio if anyone is renting a car on the island, which we did and so happy we did...DO not rent from HERTZ. Budget I the proffered rental on the island, we did not know this. We waited 45 min for someone to get our car. Those that rented at Budge were in and out in a few minutes. ALSO Hertz is the only rental you can not take over on th ferry to St johns. We ended up renting a car when we went there for the day. St John's is a MUST see. Would go back to St Thomas for sure nd would love to stay again at the Cove.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paula w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We checked in yesterday, for a one week stay. Very disappointed, thus far. We were given a 2 bedroom in building 8, with a poor view of the water and mostly a view of a chain link fence and the street. This building is quite far from the pool and other amenities. The room furnishings look very dated. We found coffee cups with lipstick on them in the cabinets. The carpet was not vacuumed well either. This morning, instead of getting to sleep in, a representative from the "activities" department woke us up at 0845 am with a phone call! About an hour later, someone from engineering was knocking on our door to change tv cables. So much for rest and relaxation? Food prices at the Marriott next door were outrageous, and we ate at their less expensive restaurant (buffet?) too, because our check in attendant yesterday couldn't get us reservations at their nicer restaurant, Havana Blue, until after 9:15 pm, way too late for us. The beach area has a sign that says there are sea anemones and coral rock, so swimming on their beach area is iffy at best. A cab to get groceries costs $12 per person. Food at their convenience store on site is ridiculously priced too. Our overall impression: Save your money, and go elsewhere! This place is not worth the prices!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We rented a two bedroom villa, and were thoroughly pleased. The staff couldn't have been nicer, the views were fantastic. We're definitely going back! I have to echo the reviewer who said Do Not Order Pizzas from the Hotel...prices were ridiculous, even for St. Thomas. We enjoyed the pool, the beach, and the happy hour prices on drinks. We got food at the Pueblo, but didn't eat most of it, because the food in St. Thomas is exceptional. Definitely rent a car if you are going to be there for more than a day or two, because cabs are expensive - not like the good old days when they were cheap - and they charge per person, so the cost can add up. Don't rent, though, if you're not comfortable driving on the left side of the road. My daughter, who lived in St. Croix for over a year, drove us everywhere.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the beach, particularly if you have kids who might be old enough to swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharonRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.5 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
8.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.2 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
4.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
731 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3011, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $626 - $1,360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing