We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frenchman's Cove is fantastic.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
592 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Frenchman's Cove is fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed Frenchman's Cove. The complex is very nice. The pool and beach are nice. The bar and restaurant offer good food and drink and good service.
They have good poolside activities and music.
The rooms are beautiful. They have great views.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BAHuston3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    394
    99
    32
    29
See reviews for
632
394
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leonardtown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

First, the entire hotel/resort complex is absolutely beautiful. It's location, amenities, and service are exceptional. What sets this hotel apart is its superior staff. With only an hour left in our wonderful time there, I lost my wallet somewhere between the restaurant where we were having lunch to the front desk to depart the island. Just prior to stepping into a taxi I realized it was missing and we immediately retraced our steps to no avail. With time running out to catch our flight, we immediately notified the staff and were taken directly to security, where Mr. Corby took down all my information. With no time left we departed for the airport. Shortly afterwards a good hotel Samaritan turned my wallet in. Corby contacted me, however due to traffic and time constraints we coordinated FEDEXing my wallet home. Corby contacted me every day, until my wallet arrived.
What more can you say? From the hotel shuttle driver, front office staff to security they took this problem and made it their own. We cannot wait to return to this amazing resort!

Room Tip: The wing we stayed in was a little more private, but did not have an elevator, just FYI. You entered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Pros: great location with beautiful views, easy to travel to and from, overall nice aesthetic, small but nice pool and beach

Cons: one dining option with terrible food (restaurants at adjacent hotel aren't much better), no poolside service, no pool towel exchange (have to hold onto yours and wash them throughout your stay), dilapidated rooms with stained linens, threadbare towels, old and uncomfortable furniture (rooms are being renovated this year but there's no reason they should have been allowed to get to this level which is far lower than other Marriott timeshares we've stayed at), small marketplace with very limited selection and extremely high prices.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BKLYN79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
268 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

As always, we slept really good and loved our upgraded room.
We had a fourth floor room overlooking the harbor, these rooms have no elevators but are quiet and large.
We were going to stay at the Morningstar but glad we stayed here instead, there are alot of stairs to walk everywhere, but we do not care it was a good way to walk off all the delicious food we ate...the only thing I wish that they would have given us an itinerary as to what they offered for activities at the hotel, such as aerobic classes etc. we rented a car and we were glad we did. There are so many great places to visit...

Room Tip: Get one on the harbor side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
147 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife & I had very enjoyable winter birthday get away. We participated in numerous on & off site activities. The facilities at Marriott Frenchmen's Cove are well kept and ample enough to find a place of your own.

My only complaint, the Vacation Club sales staff can be everywhere and many times annoying.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had a horrible experience. The accommodations and location was very nice but the service was AWFUL. I walked in on my room being robbed which resulted in almost $1000 worth of my group's property being stolen. The staff was demeaning towards me when I immediately let them know of what happened, they even refused to call the police and were reluctant to change our room. I have never been treated so poorly and I will never return to Frenchman's Cove.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Marriott's Frenchamn's Cove. Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a fabulous week at Frenchman's Cove- Stayed in the Tortola building, 5th floor on the end so our views were magnificent, service was great, properties were managed impeccably, and we met Gary Combs the 2nd day we were there, and he so impressed us that we had him drive us everyday to our dive locaitons, to restaurants, island tours etc. If you are going to St Thomas, make sure you have his phone number as he will make all of your transportatiion needs (he has a brand new van that is spotless), a breeze! (340)244-6796. Don't miss the Banana Room at Bluebeard's Castle, which was probably our favorite restaurant. We went to great restaurants all over the island and didn't have a bad experience. Take time to get a massage at Frenchmans Reef in the Lazule Sea Spa. Patty was amazing- a Colorado girl too!
We used Grocery Goddesses, (Julie Marshall) to stock our refridgerator, and that was amazing- everything put away and she did a fabulous job with the list provided. The entire week was amazing and would highly recommend the Cove for relaxation and great beach, pool and overall lovely destination,

Room Tip: Definitely the Tortola Building and ask for a room on the 5th or 6th floor at the end (our rum was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sfaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.2 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
8.0 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
8.9 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Property: Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3011, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing