We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left everything was great. We were welcomed on arrival by TJ who could not have been nicer or more helpful. He asked if we were celebrating some special occasion and then sent a bottle of wine to our room. We had a nice condo on the 3rd floor of the St John Building. The view was good (a higher floor would have been even better) and we didn't mind the walk to the pool and beach (both of which were clean and well maintained). The resort felt quiet even though it was busy and the staff were all so friendly and nice. We rented a car and ate out every night. The restaurant at the resort is fine but better for lunch than dinner. For dinner we liked Havana Blue and Mims. The NorthSide Bistro is also a great place to eat if you go to the Magen's Bay area. Keep in mind that taxis charge by the person so a round trip to anywhere can get expensive. We have stayed at Marriott timeshares in Aruba and St Kitts. This place is much, much better!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynx505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    394
    99
    32
    29
See reviews for
633
394
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fitchburg, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our family had a great time at New Years at this property. Beach was nice, busy but not crowded. Service at the beach/pool restaurant/bar was excellent; food was very good and good value. Our condo was 5th floor of Virgin Gorda building with nice view. Our condo was nicely furnished, everything worked, and comfortable. Only downside was they were doing construction on the sea wall between Frenchman's Reef (hotel) and Frenchman's Cove (condos) and that didn't improve the view. We walked over to the Marriott Hotel to try their restaurants which were good, and we got groceries at the market by the pool to make our own breakfast in our kitchen. We loved it, and we would go back in a heartbeat. Only complaint is that they should have had simple stuff like salt and pepper in the kitchen, so better to bring your own spices if you are going to cook.

Room Tip: higher floor has better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Im a lifetime Platinum member with Marriott and I have to say that my opinion is probably somewhat jaded but Ive been at Marriott resorts all over the world and several in the Caribbean.
This was our belated honeymoon and we let the hotel know that. I was expecting some recognition but we received nothing. The $35 resort fee covers internet and two bottles of water daily, plus non motorized water sport rentals.

There were no newspapers delivered, no turndown service and very abrupt service by the pool bar for you $10 and up drinks. The lack of actual attention to guests is actually quite disturbing to anyone who travels frequently.

Other than the location, I would NEVER choose to stay here again. We actually complained to the Manager on Duty and he kept asking what we want or what he could comp us. It made my complaints about the service seem like it was just to get something for free. I was really insulted by the whole process.

If youre not going to be going to Charlotte Amalie every day, spend your money at the Ritz Carlton near Red Hook

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pastahhman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our family of four just returned from 7 days of pure heaven at Frenchman's Cove. We had an amazing unit with all the essentials. We had a great view of the harbor and had the opportunity to watch multiple cruise ships pull into port. The food was great (Shelly was a fantastic server) and the concierge was super helpful (Michael). Outside of the high cost of food and taxis, we had the time of our lives. Be sure to head over to Morningstar to check out the beach. Take the night kayak tour and definitely use the water taxi. Thanks to all for a great time!

Room Tip: It seemed like every building had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We (me, wife, and three kids) had a very nice stay at this resort over the Xmas break.

The good:
- Resort is in a very good location. 5 Min from Havensight shopping mall and 10 Min. from Charlotte Amalie
- Nice pool; was never too crowded during our stay.
- All Villas have water views. We happened to be on a low floor with a big palm tree blocking some of our view but still was nice to see water and the cruise ships coming/going from our room
- The beach was small but very nice and never overcrowded - even though we visited during the busiest week of the year. I think that's because cruisers can get onto almost all other properties (beaches on St. Thomas are public) but somehow this resort is able to keep them out.
- The restaurant/Grill was decent; great to have someplace to eat at the resort since most Marriott VC properties don't have a full service restaurant
- Our 2 bedroom villa was spacious; very comfortable for our family of five
- The fitness center was excellent
- Service was good on the resort. Not quite mainland US standards but much better than the rest of the island where service staff work very slowly.

The bad:
- Many stores/attractions were closed including the Lift up the mountain. Unclear whether it was closed for the season or permanently
- Lots of road construction made it extra hard to get around (and driving on the left didn't help)
- There were a few annoying maintenance issues in the Villa (Dishwasher, broken sweeper, etc). To be fair I didn't call maintenance to fix them
- DVD rentals at the front desk were $5. Felt like the hotel was nickel and diming us given what we were spending overall to stay at the resort
- Overall the food at St. Thomas restaurants was not good and service was terrible. Even places that were highly recommended weren't good and were overpriced. Strongly recommend hitting the Food Center on your first day (which is a good grocery store) and cooking your own meals.
- Had poor service at the Grill one day because the server had an extended conversation with a guest at the next table. This guest was a Marriott employee who was asking the server about what employee discounts she could get at the resort. It was very unprofessional for both of them to do this while we were waiting for our bill.

Room Tip: ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travlinf00l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a room in the Tortola Building which offered the best views. The villa was well-equipped with new appliances. The view from our balcony was magnificent and we were able to watch the sunset. We were also able to watch the cruise ships dock and depart. There was only one restaurant on the property but the food was quite good. Many of the water excursions departed from the Cove's dock which made it very convenient. The beach was large enough for the number of people there at the time as were the number of lounges available at the beach and pool . Definitely worth a trip! Be aware that the resort is built on a hillside and the buildings are therefore terraced from one another. There are elevators but if you are into exercise, there are plenty of steps.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 61Carol_N61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I can't say enough great things about this property. We were on our honeymoon a few weeks ago and had booked with another resort on the island. That happened to be Sugar Bay Resort and Spa and it was horrendous. Half way through our trip we were ready to find a new place to stay or fly home. Our travel rep, Pam Larson, went above and beyond to find us a new place to stay. When she called the Marriott they told her they were fully booked but when she told them our story the reservations representative Connie took it upon herself to ask if there was any way they could find a room for us, and somehow they did. We arrived in the afternoon and were immediately greeted by Roberta in the lobby. She was very friendly and welcoming. We told her who we were and why we were there and she right away started to make us feel at ease. The reservation was not complete in the system yet, but after a short while it was and we asked to see Connie so we could thank her. They took our bags, got us some punch, and we were finally starting to relax. We were all inclusive at the first resort but were told by our travel rep that the rate we were paying didn't transfer to the Marriott as all inclusive. My wife asked to speak to the manager which was Patricia. My wife explained our situation and asked if there was any way possible to transfer our full rate from Sugar Bay to the Marriott and receive the all inclusive package. Patricia without hesitation said yes. We couldn't believe it. The difference in service from Sugar Bay to the Marriott was night and day. We spend the day by the pool relaxing while our room was made ready. They staff went above and beyond to find us a beautiful room with an ocean view. As we were eating lunch I met Diane the restaurant manager and began explaining how we ended up there. She was so empathetic and felt so bad for what we had experienced on our honeymoon so far. She promised that the last three days with them would make up for it all, and she couldn't have been more right. Our room was incredible and comfortable. That night at our first dinner I saw Diane again and introduced her to my wife. She was so pleasant and took some time to speak with us. At the end of the meal she came by with a complimentary bottle of champagne and two champagne flutes. This was totally unexpected but so appreciated. After dinner we went exploring and ended up at Coco Joes where Zane was tending bar. He was such a cool guy. Nice, down to earth, funny, and helped make us feel even more at ease. We chatted and told him our story, he told us how he had come to live on St. Thomas all the way from Oklahoma and we ended our night on a great note. The rest of our stay was fantastic. The service was impeccable, the food amazing, and the staff so friendly and welcoming. Everybody we ran into asked us how we were doing and was genuinely interested in how we were doing. Our honeymoon went from absolutely ruined to incredibly magical. There is no way we could have afforded our full 8 day honeymoon with all inclusive at the Marriott, but the three days we did get to stay there and experience the service has made us fans for life. We are signing up for the Marriott rewards program and will make a point of staying at any of there properties whenever we can. Even if it means saving up a little bit longer it will be worth every penny. I've worked in hospitality quite a bit in my life and have never experienced such wonderful service. I hope our appreciation is passed onto everyone we mentioned, and to the entire staff at Frenchman's Reef. If anybody is ever planning a trip to St. Thomas this is the place to stay! Thank you so much, Jeff & Renee Hill!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.2 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
8.9 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
8.0 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Property: Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3011, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott and Expedia so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing