We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Home Away From Home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Home Away From Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great home away from home


We are owners at this Marriott Vacation Club property and stayed the last week of Nov. The Location, property and villas are all great. Do not confuse this with Frenchman’s Reef the Marriott Hotel/Resort next door. Many of the more negative reviews for the Cove I think are for the Reef as we’ve stayed over there a few times and have separate reviews.

The villas are either 2 or 3 bedroom and serve as an excellent home base for your vacation. We had some issues with the Villa not being ready on check-in and we had to wait for it to be cleaned after we were told it was ready. Multiple managers apologized for the issue which is nice to see they heard of the issue and called to say they were sorry. The villa itself was clean, comfortable beds and provides nearly all the comforts of home. The kitchen is stocked with dishes, utensils, blender etc but if going to cook you may want to bring a selection of things (sugar, salt, pepper, stuff that can be packed) from home rather than buy at the grocery store (remember this is an island and food prices are higher than at home). The in-unit washer and dryer although small is a great option to use if you want to pack extra light and don’t mind washing while on vacation.

The pool is nice but does get crowded at times and we prefer a beach. Last year the iguanas around the pool/beach were cool at first but more a nuisance not the animals but more the guests that ignore the do not feed them signs. This year its noticeable the property is doing something to keep the iguanas away from the pool/patio/restaurant area and it was kind of nice not having them all around. The Cove beach is ok if you want to stick close but be aware of following the easy path to water to avoid urchins and rocks. For a better beach take the free shuttle to the Morningstar beach next door at the Marriott hotel – it’s a very nice sandy beach and Cove guests can use beach, pools and chairs which give you a lot of options for activities.

We will surely be back next year and love going to the Cove. Staff is friendly and generally very attentive (much better than the Marriott next door). Our check-in issues and some difficulties getting ice resulting in our excellent review going down to a very good. We do love the property, villas and location and will be back next year.

Room Tip: Almost any building mid to high floors offer great views. Corner or end units are nice have open ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    391
    96
    32
    28
See reviews for
624
386
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We just returned from our 6th stay at Frenchman's Cove in St. Thomas. The property, which was beautiful to begin with, just continues to get better and better. The rooms have always been fabulous, nicer than most homes. The beach is larger and more friendly. The new dock makes water transports much more convenient. And the view is always just simply breath-taking. What makes this property unique is that management is determined to continue to improve it. So, the question is: how do you improve on perfection? Well, I think that they will find ways.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better ocean views, but all rooms have good views of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Cab driver rude from airport. 12$ per person "cab" ride which was a shuttle with 10 people in it. Stopped at 4 resorts prior to ours. Check in a nightmare even though we had confirmation number. Restaurants and service poor throughout the property in comparison to other Caribbean locations. Highly do not recommend this destination.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank footsurg9222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are sorry to hear about the poor experience with the cab service getting to the resort and the slow check-in. Please contact our customer care team so that we may personally address yoru concerns. 800 936 6824 or via email at customer.care@vacationclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We own a timeshare at Frenchmans cove and have been going there every October for about 5 years. The resort is beautiful and well kept . All of the staff is wonderful, friendly and helpful EXCEPT Keith the bartender and several other staff at the Sunset Grill. Keith is just arrogant and rude. Nobody is in any hurry to serve you. Our last visit to the grille we waited 50 minutes for our $18 hamburger and it still was not done. My very patient husband finally lost his temper after all the slow, rude service and vowed to never eat their mediocre overpriced food or their $10 watered down cocktails ever again. OH And Happy hour? Be prepared to wait in lines 10 people long to be served, even worse- they don't keep track of who is next in line so you may have been waiting 15 minutes but they will wait on someone that just walked up. I thought it was just me but I have heard dozens of people grumbling about Keith's bad attitude. It is the only place to get food and drinks in the whole resort so we are forced to take a $24 cab ride somewhere else for every meal or cook in our room everyday, it's my vacation-I don't want to cook! We spend LOTS of money at the food market in town where they appreciate our business! After all these years of bad service we finally complained to the GM, he was apologetic and said that the food and beverage manager would contact us, but never did. We traded our week for somewhere else this year and I am looking forward to our vacation for the first time in years. Too bad.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The rooms were wonderful, clean, updated. The only complaint was the iguana's by the bar and pool and the sand fleas. If you use an off wipe on your ankles while sitting at the bar you won't get bit. The iguana problem is a nuisance. the staff was very helpful in recommendations of restaurants in the area. Also do not recommend renting a car. Roads are narrow and curvy and you drive on the wrong side of the road.

Room Tip: Recommend Tortola Building any floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank boots2880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, IN
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We are owners here and have not been here for 3 years. Since we have been here there have been many improvements to the beach, restarurants,and shuttle service. We also enjoyed the improvements at the Marriott Hotel. The beach is still rocky but swimable. We never had problems gettting lawn chairs at the pool or beach. There were 7 adults so we had 2 units in the Tortola building (which we loved the location of this building) we had two parking spots for our vehicles and did not have problems finding parking spots. The resort had music from 6-8 about everynight. We had the breakfast buffett 2 times and everyone like it. We also had sandwiches by the pool and they were all good. The mixed drinks are pricey but we always stock up at ther liquor store and bring our own. Happy hour is 4-6. Our favorite day trips are we love taking our jeeps on the car barge and going over to St John- we had a blast at Francis Bay this year. We also love takign a day trip to BVI - In the past we have always went on the Breakaways trip to the BVI, but this year we did a private charter with Stan and had a blast!!! It was our Favorite day...Can't go wrong at the Soggy Dollar-the food and drinks. We ate at some good restaurants but really enjoyed Mim's this year. Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: High Floor for spectacular views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peyton0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights during our honeymoon as my parents are condo owners and gave it to us a as a gift. The condos are very nice, two bedrooms with a really nice kitchen and view. We stayed on the second floor of the St. John building and still could see a decent amount. We stayed at the Frenchman's Reef later in the week and for us that was a better honeymooning fit. There were fewer families and the beach was larger. The Cove was very nice but seemed a bit more geared toward families.

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor of St. John and could still see a good amount. I saw people complaining a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizbeth1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.5 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
8.9 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Property: Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3011, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing