We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time had by all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great time had by all”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our second visit to St. Thomas. We stayed at the Cove which is the timeshare sister to the resort. We had a 3bdrm 3bath villa. Our party included 2 adult couples and my 19 year old son and his 20 year old friend. The villa was beautiful as are all Marriott properties and the small restaurant on site was lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful. Will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12travelerJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    404
    104
    32
    27
See reviews for
644
404
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Marriott was lovely and the staff very helpful. The food is quite expensive but when you stay in a resort you have to expect that. If you don't rent a car you are at the mercy of the cab drivers who are out to rip you off. 10.00 dollars per person ,from the airport to the Marriott and an additional charge for each piece of luggage ( 4.00 for a large, 2 dollars for a small) and the airport is less than 5 mins from the resort. We were there in Sept., which is slow season, so a lot of the attractions were closed but there was still plenty to do and see. Would definitely go back, but maybe do a few things differently.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KB1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here the second week of Sept and enjoyed it. Our room was on the 3rd floor of the St. John villa and had beautiful views of the Caribbean. The staff was very courteous and very attentive to our needs especially Rita at the front desk. We had a vacation planner assigned to us who gave us ideas to make the most of our trip during our week. Go to the Adventure Center and book a snorkeling cruise on the Cat, you won't regret it.(Check out my review for it as well) Also make sure to not miss St. John and it's beautiful Trunk bay.
The pool at the Cove was ok and not really an Infinity pool since the views were semi-blocked by the chairs and umbrellas on the beach. The water in the pool seemed warmer than usual and with the water slide is perfect for kids. They also have activities going on during the day to entertain guests. One of the advantages was the usage of the beach and pools at the Mariott Reef. The Reef has nicer pools and a couple of infinity pools so we hung out more at the Reef than at the Cove.
Checkout is at 10 am, however they will keep your bags and allow you to use the pool and Fitness room till 5pm. Since our flight wasn't till the evening, that added advantage was very helpful. We purchased 6 Cruzan Rum bottles, from Dynasty Dazzlers which were packaged and delivered to the hotel for free. We were able to check that package for free on US Airways without any problems and got all 6 of them back in one piece. Overall we had a good stay and a fun vacation.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor in the St. John villa. Floors 3 and up should give you beautiful views. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKPMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Had a great time form 9/8 to 9/15. Slow time of year, but weather was great. Property is excellent, pool and beach just as described. Made arrangements for half day trip with Captain Mike on the Fury. If you do nothing else on vacation, arrange to take this trip. Very professional, swim with the turtles.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob12017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We just got back from a week at the Frenchman's Cove, St. Thomas and had a great overall experience.

I'll break it down in sections for easier reading.

Room: So perfect, great view and plenty of room. **I've seen complaints about the elevator rides and walks but the resort is located on the side of an island, not flat land, so this should be expected. In order to keep the villa views consistent, not everyone (or anyone for that matter) can walk right out to the pool from their front door!** I've walked much further, higher and with no elevators at other resorts. The pillows are a little soft, so if you have room in your cases, bring your own. After 6 nights your neck will thank you. The kitchen is well stocked with the exception of zip-lock bags and Tupperware. We made a lot of meals and grocery shopped so we needed those items more than others might. The washer and dryer was very helpful and so were the in room pool towels. We got a mid week maid service which was very nice. There are no fans on the patios so it can get warm out there! Their shampoo/conditioners are not very good so I recommend to bring your own from home.

Ice: There are no ice machines except in your freezer - again this is not a hotel. The bartenders always were fine with giving us bags of ice for our cooler if we needed them, so this was not an issue for us.

Service: Their staff is all around great. Bartenders, maids, front-desk, etc - we had no complaints and anything that might have turned into one was immediately addressed. People that complain on TripAdvisor but make no effort to fix their issues while on their vacation really don't give vendors a fair deal.

On-site Food/Beverage: The food at the resort is average, but you certainly do not go to St. Thomas for fine dining. The prices are high and I recommend going to the grocery to minimize your food/beverage costs. The drinks are also average and overpriced but you are sitting right off the beach on private property so that should be kept in mind. Take advantage of their daily happy hour! It is worth it!

Grocery: We went to the local Pueblo near the port for our groceries. It is the closest and has a decent selection of basics. I do not recommend buying meats. We packed our own (frozen in a soft cooler) and had no problem. You can check them or carry on, it doesn't matter. Don't bother bringing liquor, it is priced better on the island HOWEVER, BEER IS NOT. It is about double the price as here in the states.

Car rental: I recommend this to everyone. We used "Dependable Car rental" and got a soft top jeep for around $55/day. Cab rides can cost minimum $12EA person round trip and unless you're staying on property most of the time, its worth being able to hop into a jeep and explore! Parking on the island is not a problem and as long as you are a fast learner (DRIVE ON THE LEFT) then you'll do fine. Speed limits never go over 30 so it's not too intimidating. We even took our car over to St. John, trunk bay for the day with no problems. The car barge fee is only $50.00 no matter how many passengers. We also drove to Red Hook a few times as well as Megens Bay and around to the local bars (Shipwreck Tavern, Epernay, Room with a View, etc). Just get your maps at the front desk and youre set!

Excursions: We didn't book any excursions through the hotel besides the Paddle Boarding. We do this locally so weren't impressed with this activity - but if you are a first timer then this may be a fun time for a family.

Pool: (Open 24/7!!) The pool was the perfect temperature and size. We never were short chairs and it was fun to watch the iguana's move around on the pool deck.

Beach: So beautiful, quiet and clear. Also never had a problem getting chairs/umbrella and they had corn hole out all the time. They rent snorkel gear in the marketplace and there is a little to see along the rocks.

We booked a day trip with Captain John which was WORTH EVERY PENNY. I'll be posting a separate full review of our trip with him when I get the photos uploaded. http://stthomasboatrental.com/ This was the hi-light of our week - it beat out St. John by a mile.

The Spa was closed due to us going in off-season and there is no room service. So those are N/A.

This was the perfect place for us and would recommend over and over. Happy Travels!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Christinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a two bedroom villa that was superbly equipped, had a fantastic view of the harbor and beach with two balconies. Beach is small but well maintained with ample chairs and umbrellas. Staff is very friendly and helpful with suggestions for activities and sightseeing. Sister property Marriott Frenchman's Reef has larger beach area and more restaurants. Shuttle runs frequently, but walking is faster so be sure to ask for directions to the path.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coralone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just returned from a 1 week stay (9/1 - 9/8) at Frenchman's Cove. From the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out, this place was wonderful. Cannot say enough good things about the entire staff and some particular standouts (Rita @ front desk & Keith @ Sunset Grill) . The place is very well maintained and has fantastic facilities. The location is perfect with the pool right at the beach and ocean level. Fitness facility, pool with plenty of chairs & volleyball net, restaurant & bar (at pool), beach w/water sports - (some with a charge), snorkeling and even "bags" kept us busy when we were on the property. We own a Marriott Resort timeshare in Orlando and have stayed at several others. We consider this one to be at the top. The weather even cooperated, perfect. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Any building (all face the ocean) upper floors for best view. Tortola and Virgin Gorda buildings clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Banff22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.5 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
5.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
2.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
8.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Property: Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3011, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing