We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It made St Thomas for us.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 18, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in January and another one in February ( wanted 2 but fully booked ). We could not speak / recommend Pam and Matt's B&B / hospitality enough. St Thomas without Home in the Tropics would not have meant anything to us, it just made all the difference - a lovelly place, so convenient for walking everywhere, and what a location - in the best part of the town. When we go back we know where we are staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 337 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2009

We spent our two night honeymoon At home in the tropics! We got married and took two days to get away from friends & family who had traveled with us to St. Thomas. It was the perfect get away. The grounds, pool, rooms and common areas are gorgeous. Our room was so romantic with the lace curtains and the blue and white decor. Pam's breakfasts were incredible! You truly feel at home with Pam and Matt. We will return to At home in the tropics as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mklind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

This was a marvelous bed and breakfast. Clean and crisp. Great central location within walking distance of all nightlife and shopping. Beautiful setting overlooking the sea. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank innkeepermeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

I’ve been fortunate enough to stay at a few wonderful Bed and Breakfasts through the years. I have never stayed at one as comfortable as At Home in the Tropics.

St Thomas is certainly an island paradise. Beautiful beaches, friendly people, great restaurants and the best weather Mother Nature has to offer. But these aren’t the accoutrements that made this recent vacation perfect.

It was our stay at Pam and Matt’s B&B.

Pam is an unbelievable host. She’s full of energy and charm, always looking to bring that “little extra” to her guest’s stay. Bottle her attitude, resell it, and join the world of the rich and famous. Oh... and while her breakfasts are reason enough to wake each morning, the views are nourishment that fuels the soul.

Matt's a character... a smile that kills... honesty that's hard to find in today’s world. Oh, and if he should shake your hand in a limp manner, not look you in the eye…. It probably has to do with his many years living and working among the wonderful people of St Thomas... their customs are sometimes different than our own.

Jackie and I will be back. I only hope it isn’t for our 50th.

One love,

Steve

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank stzapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2009

I have absolutely nothing but the most positive things to say about At Home in the Tropics. We stayed there for five nights in early January for our honeymoon, and it was more than we could have asked for. As everyone else has mentioned, Pam's breakfasts are a highlight. She is really a wonderful cook, and waking up to a home cooked meal is just fabulous.

A little about the bed and breakfast:
The rooms are nice and very quiet. Each room has its own bathroom, and wooden shutters cover the windows (which can be opened if you would like) to provide extra privacy and block out the morning sun. There are air conditioners in the room, so you don't have to worry about the island heat. The view is definitely the best aspect of the rooms. Our windows opened right up to a stunning view of the harbor, and watching the sun set at night is a breath taking experience.

With only four rooms in the bed and breakfast, Pam and Matt are able to dedicate themselves to quality customer service. Pam was extremely accommodating, and will help you with whatever you need. Since there are just a few rooms, the house never feels crowded and you are afforded privacy that would not be possible at a large resort. The whole time we were there, we were only at the pool when other people were there one time. The rest of our stay we had the pool and the sun deck all to ourselves.

Finally, the location of At Home in the Tropics is wonderful as well. It is located right down the street from Herve, a fantastic French restaurant. It is also about a block from the best shopping in downtown Charlotte Amalie and about a 10 minute walk from a scuba shop that goes out on diving trips.

All in all, I would recommend At Home in the Tropics to anyone that is looking to visit Saint Thomas. I cannot say enough nice things about the home and Pa and Matt. We had a wonderful time, and can't wait to start planning our next trip down there!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lenerual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

Book here with confidence. Matt and Pam are owners who run At Home in the Tropics from the front lines where you will experience a truly hospitable stay. It's hard to imagine what they could to do make things better. If you are looking to stay in St. Thomas, this is the place. The rooms are comfortable, the views of the harbor excellent, the pool enjoyable and the home made breakfast beyond expectations. Did I mention true hospitality? They will know you by name by the end of your stay if not at the beginning. Common areas inviting, comfortable and as if you were at home, perhaps better. Excellent value for the money, too.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_velocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2008

We just returned from a short island-hopping trip and spent the last two days at At Home in the Tropics. This is a lovely inn -- spotless, nice decor, great breakfasts, very convenient to shopping, incredible views of Charlotte Amalie harbor.

This is a perfect place to stay a night or two before heading to the BVI or St. John or on the return trip home. There is a small, but very nice, pool and large deck area, a long front porch -- great place to sit at night with a drink or cup of tea and watch the boats come and go -- and cozy living room.

Pam and Matt make visitors feel like family. Staying in their home is a great way to begin or end a holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.4 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
712 reviews
1.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
72 reviews
4.2 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1680 Dronningens Gade, Charlotte Amalie 00802-4708, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $225 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Tropics is a lovingly restored historic Bed and Breakfast overlooking Charlotte Amalie harbor. A former colonial Danish barracks, each room features a view of the harbor and access to the main courtyard, pool and lounge areas. All rooms include air conditioning, a refrigerator, cooler, and beach towels. Nestled in a quiet neighborhood between the Government House Steps and the Historic 99 Steps, we are a short walk to the best local shops and restaurants. We feature fresh, homemade breakfasts made with local ingredients each day. Included in your room price is breakfast, parking, pool access, and wifi. There are no additional charges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
At Home In The Tropics Bed And Breakfast Inn St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing