We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How on earth did this get nominated "#1 attraction"?”
Review of Magic Ice

Magic Ice
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We welcome you to the biggest permanent ice gallery in the world! Magic Ice`s entire exhibition is constructed of crystal clear ice consisting of beautiful sculptures, a kids slide, wedding chapel and a pirate ship bar, all made of ICE!Large parts of the exhibition will emphasize the rich history of the Caribbean. You will get a glimpse into the 18th century lifestyle. Here you will find sculptures from the “Golden Age of Piracy” and at the pirate ship ice bar were you will receive your drinks. Photos and videos are welcomed and our staff look forward to taking you on a tour!
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“How on earth did this get nominated "#1 attraction"?”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Well, how shall I put this... Magic Ice is rated the #1 attraction in Charlotte Amalie on TripAdvisor, so I guess we had somewhat high expectations (on the other hand, Charlotte Amalie is not exactly New York City or Las Vegas when it comes to tourist attractions, so it's probably easy to become number one).
We paid $20 each for admission into what appears to be a converted refrigerated warehouse that is filled with ice sculptures of dubious artistic value. The whole facility is not all that big, and within fifteen minutes you can have a good look at all the artifacts. Some of the exhibits were barely recognizable and especially the thinner parts of some sculptures seemed to have melted a lot (maybe due to visitors touching them frequently or maybe the place wasn't cold enough after all).
The $20 admission fee includes a free shot of rum at the ice bar, but we gracefully declined.
I don't recommend taking pictures inside Magic Ice: (a) it's not worth it, and (b) the inside of your camera will fog up, and the camera will be unusable for about an hour until it clears up.
As far as I can see, the only good reason to spend your time and money for Magic Ice is to cool off when you're close to a heat stroke.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank raner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    193
    76
    29
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magic ice castle”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

It was cool seeing the ice sculptures. Way over priced for a 15 minute walk through and a shot of rum

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE & a Great Spot to Cool Down!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Seriously, this place is freaking awesome! When you're shopping your way through the fifty thousand jewelry stores in Charlotte Amalie, you get really hot between the heat and the humidity, so Magic Ice is like a little slice of heaven,

I want to preface this by saying I've been to Minus 5 in Las Vegas where you pay $37 to hang out in a bar made of ice and have a couple of drinks... but don't even think of bringing your own camera in there. Magic Ice is completely different and better in so many ways!

First, Magic Ice is not just a bar made of ice, it's an ice museum with a large collection of ice sculptures. You walk through the collection of ice sculptures that are lit with colored lights AND YOU CAN TAKE AS MANY PHOTOS AS YOU WANT! In the middle of the museum of ice there is a large ice bar shaped like a pirate ship where you get a shot of rum. You can choose to buy more drinks if you want to, the first shot is included in the $20 entrance fee. AND, there is a slide! I wussed out and skipped the ice slide, but the husband had fun going down it.

It is super cold in there... obviously, but they give you a big hooded cape and leg warmers and gloves to keep you warm. My toes still froze in my flip flops, though! The bartender told us that these particular sculptures were carved all the way back in November, so they last some time. There was some melting that had taken place on some and he said it was about time when they are going to be redoing them now. It's really an awesome experience.

If you are in St. Thomas, seriously, do this. We had a lot of fun in there goofing around and taking photos. I highly recommend Magic Ice! I want to go back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyjadegd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllThings0777
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nice diversion from the heat!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stopped in after a long hot day downtown and had a nice time. The location is on Main Street at the end (or the beginning). The service was outstanding. The Bar Tender was funny being that he has to sit in 24degrees. We had shots and took a few pics. Go, you' won't regret it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AllThings0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We just happened to be walking around in Charlotte Amalie and bumped into this place. We loved it the ice sculptures are amazing. Don't miss this! Kids will love it and adults will love the drink at the ice bar.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Ice also viewed

 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Magic Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing