We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You owe it to yourself.”

Beuchert's Beer Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You owe it to yourself.”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We're on a a jazz cruise out of Florida with some the great musicians in the world and we put into St. Thomas for an afternoon. After wandering in the hills (which I strongly recommend — check out the beautiful Synagogue in the hills, with the wonderful sand floor and ask to to speak with Dianne, the cantor, who grew u[p in Madison, Wisconsin) we found our way back to the waterfront and an endearing restaurant called The Beer Garden. I know, you're thinking it's another loud pub, but this Beergarden is one of the loveliest spots in the Caribbean — back from the loud tourist hang out front — genuinely a garden, a quiet spot with spectacularly good food — conch fritters, fresh fish, splendid drinks and a welcoming and very evolved staff.

Man, we've been in a million of these spots. This is the best — wonderful food, very hip service and a lovely ambience.

so says Mr. Bill

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    50
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Neat place”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Really nice place secluded in downtown Charlotte Amalie. Great Cheap Selection of Beers, and really friendly owners.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bmckim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cold Beer Cheap”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

When you need to escape the heat and crowds of Charlotte Amalie ... this is a great find. Wander off the beaten path, down the alley, and enjoy the shade and coold beer. The two-fer prices are a welcome destiny.

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An oasis from the hustle of St Thomas shopping”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I saw this on Trip Advisor before coming to St Thomas and it was a welcome respite from the shopping on Main St.

The beer seleciton is pretty good. It's all bottles and cans, not on tap and the owner made some good chicken sandwiches. Prices are very good and the peace and quiet down the alley is the best part. It's a husband and wife affair in this tucked away beer garden that was a nice stop. The plants that line the alley and restaurant make for a tranquil setting with a local feel.

Seems very authentic part of St Thomas and reccomend it to anyone! Maybe my wife and I will be on the wall of fame too. It's all outside under a mish-mosh of cabannas and umbrellas so if it is raining, there may be other places to duck into. It was gorgeous the day went to no idea how that will work.

They have some depression glass plates for serving the food which was a really nice touch. It made it seem even more personable and the owner came and talked with us for a bit. Check it out and it's not too early for lunch and a beer!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a bad spot to check out.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stopped in while in town from our cruise. We were drawn in by the beer prices (very reasonable), and stayed for the company. It's a cute, little spot and there were some pretty friendly folks to chat with both behind the bar and as patrons. I suggest sticking to the beer, though. We got some margaritas as well and they were weak and overpriced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beuchert's Beer Garden also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Beuchert's Beer Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing