We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crystal Palace
Nearby Hotels
Windward Passage Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Emerald Beach Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
$305
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mafolie Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
$202
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $217/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Olga's Fancy(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midtown Guest House(Charlotte Amalie)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bunker Hill Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
$110
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove(Charlotte Amalie)
$569
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
37
23
2
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
23
2
4
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 69 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2012

From the moment Ronnie picked us up at the airport, to the time he dropped us off at the ferry dock, we had a great time at his B&B. The rooms were very clean and spacious, and there was a great view of the bay, with boats of all sizes coming and going. The informal bar was perfect, allowing for the honor system, which helped moderate the amount we all drank! While everything was great, we were very disappointed in Ronnie's business practices - after being dropped off at the ferry dock, mere moments before the ferry was to take off to take us to the BVI's - he gave us a copy of the bill that he had charged our credit card, and it was quite different from the amount we had confirmed when making the reservation several months before arriving. He stated "the price went up." We tried to make our case, but he was adamant. The other couple we were traveling with also had the same problem. Despite a great stay, it left a bitter taste in our mouths...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonUSVI, Owner at The Crystal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

Thank you for your review. There must be some misunderstanding in what happened. I did raise my prices and protected you at the old price. I reviewed your bill and find it to show the old price, plus taxes and the less than tree nights stay charge.Both were and are clearly specified and explained on my web site.
I may have been abrupt in saying I just raised the prices as a first answer to which I am sorry.
Sorry for any misunderstanding and glad you enjoyed the Palace.

Ronnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We spent a night here before heading off to St. John, which is what quite a few people seem to do. But next visit we will be sure to stay at the Crystal Palace longer!

It was definitely our kind place...very interesting story to the mansion and friendly, enjoyable people.

Our room was clean, spacious, and comfortable.

The other rooms we had access to were filled with the owner's family memorabilia (Ronnie is born and raised "St.Thomasonian" and led to many interesting stories about the island). We learned quite a bit about where to go and what to see during our stay.

The only reason I wouldn't go for 5 stars is if you are looking for elegance or fanciness, you won't find it here...go stay at the Ritz :)

But we will be back.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
Thank Marylou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Ronny was great, he goes out of his way to make you feel welcome and is a wealth of information. The Room was clean and comfortable, the AC worked great. The location is close enough that we were able to walk to dinner and Ronny picked us up from the airport and delivered us to the ferry. I would stay here again if headed to St. Thomas.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

As others have said, the owner goes out of his way to make sure you are taken care of. He'll pick you up and drop you off at the airport or nearby ferry, which is a huge bonus.

We stayed in the two rooms that have a private bath. The upstairs room was large and comfortable, but the dogs were right outside and their barking at night woke us up several times. On our second stay there, we stayed in the downstairs room, which was much quieter, so would definitely recommend that one. All the rooms with shared bath are also downstairs.

The location is ideal if you want to walk around Charlotte Amalie. It's only about 5 minutes to the waterfront and good eating establishments (Gladys', Cuzzins). We enjoyed the viewing deck the most - to enjoy breakfast, a complimentary drink or conversation with Ronnie and the other guests. Watching all the activity around the harbor from this ideal vantage point was a great way to pass time.

This is an old place, which means it has interesting architecture and furniture, but is always in need of maintenance. Don't expect something shiny and new - this has years of character worn into it.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs are quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PandC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Owner, Ronnie Lockhart is a wealth of knowledge and humor to boot. Like others have said: Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. I usually stop in once a year while I'm at the Charteryacht shows. You'll enjoy it. I do.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews