We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More stories for your trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crystal Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crystal Palace
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More stories for your trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

The USVI and BVI make a fine vacation, but the stories you tell your friends may be the same ones they tell you: "How 'bout that Foxy? What a character!" "St. John's really nice." It's unlikely that your friends will have had the benefit of staying in a historic house or the running commentary provided by its proprietor, Ronnie. Part B&B and part Broadway Set, the Crystal Palace will make your trip. Ronnie acts like your personal host, from the always-mentioned pickup to drinks on the porch. If you need a spotless cloned hotel, look elsewhere. If you need a memory, check out the Crystal Palace.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    23
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
27
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

From the moment Ronnie picked us up at the airport, to the time he dropped us off at the ferry dock, we had a great time at his B&B. The rooms were very clean and spacious, and there was a great view of the bay, with boats of all sizes coming and going. The informal bar was perfect, allowing for the honor system, which helped moderate the amount we all drank! While everything was great, we were very disappointed in Ronnie's business practices - after being dropped off at the ferry dock, mere moments before the ferry was to take off to take us to the BVI's - he gave us a copy of the bill that he had charged our credit card, and it was quite different from the amount we had confirmed when making the reservation several months before arriving. He stated "the price went up." We tried to make our case, but he was adamant. The other couple we were traveling with also had the same problem. Despite a great stay, it left a bitter taste in our mouths...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonUSVI, Owner at The Crystal Palace, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. There must be some misunderstanding in what happened. I did raise my prices and protected you at the old price. I reviewed your bill and find it to show the old price, plus taxes and the less than tree nights stay charge.Both were and are clearly specified and explained on my web site.
I may have been abrupt in saying I just raised the prices as a first answer to which I am sorry.
Sorry for any misunderstanding and glad you enjoyed the Palace.

Ronnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schnecksville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We spent a night here before heading off to St. John, which is what quite a few people seem to do. But next visit we will be sure to stay at the Crystal Palace longer!

It was definitely our kind place...very interesting story to the mansion and friendly, enjoyable people.

Our room was clean, spacious, and comfortable.

The other rooms we had access to were filled with the owner's family memorabilia (Ronnie is born and raised "St.Thomasonian" and led to many interesting stories about the island). We learned quite a bit about where to go and what to see during our stay.

The only reason I wouldn't go for 5 stars is if you are looking for elegance or fanciness, you won't find it here...go stay at the Ritz :)

But we will be back.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marylou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Ronny was great, he goes out of his way to make you feel welcome and is a wealth of information. The Room was clean and comfortable, the AC worked great. The location is close enough that we were able to walk to dinner and Ronny picked us up from the airport and delivered us to the ferry. I would stay here again if headed to St. Thomas.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

As others have said, the owner goes out of his way to make sure you are taken care of. He'll pick you up and drop you off at the airport or nearby ferry, which is a huge bonus.

We stayed in the two rooms that have a private bath. The upstairs room was large and comfortable, but the dogs were right outside and their barking at night woke us up several times. On our second stay there, we stayed in the downstairs room, which was much quieter, so would definitely recommend that one. All the rooms with shared bath are also downstairs.

The location is ideal if you want to walk around Charlotte Amalie. It's only about 5 minutes to the waterfront and good eating establishments (Gladys', Cuzzins). We enjoyed the viewing deck the most - to enjoy breakfast, a complimentary drink or conversation with Ronnie and the other guests. Watching all the activity around the harbor from this ideal vantage point was a great way to pass time.

This is an old place, which means it has interesting architecture and furniture, but is always in need of maintenance. Don't expect something shiny and new - this has years of character worn into it.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PandC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Owner, Ronnie Lockhart is a wealth of knowledge and humor to boot. Like others have said: Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. I usually stop in once a year while I'm at the Charteryacht shows. You'll enjoy it. I do.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
270 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

This B&B is right downtown with a view of the harbor. You can walk downtown easily. This is an old house. You are treated like family, and we were very at home. Nothing fancy but well done.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.1 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Green Iguana Hotel
The Green Iguana Hotel
#3 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.1 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crystal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crystal Palace

Property: The Crystal Palace
Address: 12 Crystal Gade, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Crystal Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful historic building in downtown Charlotte Amalie. 5 minute walk to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Crystal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crystal Palace Hotel Charlotte Amalie
The Crystal Palace St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing