We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fabulous stay at The Green Iguana”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another fabulous stay at The Green Iguana”
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Having stayed at The Green Iguana Hotel at least about six ( 6 ) times in the past, I recently returned to this lovely boutique hotel for an overnight stay. Although my time spent there on this occasion was quite brief, I was once again an amazed beneficiary of the legendary warm and genuine hospitality which resident managers Bill and Susie so willingly extend all their guests! I felt so much 'at home'. The room I stayed in ( H1 ) was spotless , as usual. The many comforts and amenities in the room reminded me of why I love to stay at this Hotel ..; In addition, I noticed that the 'in-room' safe had been upgraded to the more solid and secure electronic safe. All in all , the room offered a level of comfort and convenience which surpasses many large hotel chains, yet...without the exorbitant price.

The location is also a 'big plus'...Close to all the restaurants of downtown Charlotte Amalie and many of the key attractions of Saint Thomas.

I would highly recommend The Green Iguana for a vacation or business trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0binNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    114
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
55
191
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed at the Green Iguana on our way to and back from St. John. Very close walk to down town shopping, restaurants, and bars. A short taxi ride to the airport. Susie and Bill were SO welcoming and helpful. The area seemed very safe during the days and early evening, but be aware of your surroundings once it's dark (as you would in any city). We took a cab back to the room after dark. Short, easy ride. We stayed in H-1 (with a great balcony) at the beginning of our trip. And then A-5 (no balcony, but cute sitting area) on the last day of our trip. If Susie and Bill are off property, you can easily contact them on their cell phone. Check in and check out were super easy. We can't wait for our next trip to St. Thomas. This is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pontas00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, MT
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed at The Green Iguana only one night after a week on St. John. What a great place! We were looking for a small charming property, within walking distance to town, without spending an arm and a leg. We found exactly that ! The managers Bill and Susie were very friendly and accommodating. We walked to downtown in the afternoon and the next morning and felt very safe. At night however, you'll want to take a taxi back . I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaGBillings_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We spent 5 nights at the Green Iguana. Bill and Suzy, the resident managers, are very nice folks and were very helpful in guiding us around the city. In the year-plus that they've been managers, they have done an amazing job of familarizing themselves with the city and the outer islands, also with the use of the Safari busses around the city and to the ferries, where to eat, where to shop and what to do. They had an answer for our every question. They had on-site washers/dryers that were available during normal business hours. We have not received this kind of personalized service before even when we stayed in B&B;s. Our room was very tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The views were impeccable of Charlotte Amalie. We enjoyed the aerobic exercise we got by going up and down the "99" steps multiple times a day We walked everywhere!
Thanks again, Bill and Suzy, for making our stay memorable.
Upgrading the air conditioniong system to a quieter one would be an improvement.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenEichhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Area
Level Contributor
99 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

As described by TripAdvisor and its own ads, the Green Iguana was above and close to the heart of Charlotte Amalie, had a view, and would be a reasonable place to stay. The price was a bit high ...because we were there just at the end of high season.

A significant reason for selecting Green Iguana was on-site laundry facilities (we wanted to clean our clothes before the second and longer stay on St. John ... our major destination.) Well.... the late afternoon before we were to leave we found that the laundry was CLOSED/LOCKED without warning .... and a sign said "will return at 10PM".. Proprietor was not available. So we waited to do laundry that evening ... but they did not return as promised. We had to spend the next morning after they returned doing laundry instead of going to a local beach before going to St John.

Proprietor when asked about this said "We have lives too!" This for over $200/night!
The proprietor the day before had also told us that there was no local transportation to the far end of the Island except by taxi ... which we fortunately found to be false after talking to locals. Local transportation was fun and cheap unlike rather expensive local cabs.

So, staying at the Green Iguana cost us a day of beach use because of their NO EXCEPTION check-out which made us spend the morning with laundry .... instead of the planned prior evening. And, as you might expect from the above, they charged us for the laundry --- it does not use coins. Not a real expense, just an insult after they failed to provide the facility (on-site laundry) that was a clear incentive to select this place.

I would not recommend Charlotte Amalie for more than one day ... but did like the nearby Magens Bay and very much enjoyed Glady's Cafe. Enjoyed things on the far end of the Island more. I rented a much needed car in St. John, but it looked like driving a rental car in St Thomas was much more difficult.

I would recommend the Green Iguana for a night or two, with the warning that the proprietors might not provide what is expected. If I had to stay on St Thomas again, I would both avoid the Green Iguana in particular and also avoid the general Charlotte Amalie area and stay in the "East End".

Making St. John our main destination was a good decision and we found it was relatively easy to use the ferry from St Thomas to St John. On reflection, we should have made an effort to just make our way to St John without an overnight stop ... or with perhaps only a one night stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockySeattleArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegreeniguana, Bill McCarthy, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
Our use of hotel laundry privilege is available to guests from 8 am to 7 pm. The machines are new, are not coin operated and cost $3,300 each so guests are asked to have us help them do the laundry. The machines are located below units so we can't disturb those occupants with late operation of the machines. We do our best to accomodate guest's schedule IF they let us know what the plan to do. There are laundromats in town. If it is so important to use the laundry, please let us know at check-in so we can be sure to meet your needs.
This room rented for $168 tax included. We have no sign that says "return at 10 pm" because the Office is closed after 8 pm. We post our 24 hour emergency number on the door when we are off property or asleep!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2010

This is a very friendly and comfortable place to stay. The owners are very welcoming and provided lots of useful advice on how to get around and what to see. I actually stayed here twice in the space of a week (with a short visit to St. Croix in between) and so tried two different rooms. Both were extremely comfortable with great views.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterdamLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

I stayed in late March for one night at The Green Iguana, in room H1. Arriving later in the evening, I was personally met at the door by one of the onsite resident managers, Bill, who pleasantly guided me through “check in”, gave information about the hotel as well as the room’s operation and features. While not spacious, the room was certainly more than adequately comfortable for one person and provided a reasonably sized bathroom (shower only), adjoining dressing table, and the bed and small seating area abutted the balcony. The balcony was very nice with an additional seating area affording a panoramic view of Charlotte Amalie.

The room’s furnishings were simple but functional, and satellite TV and Wi-Fi service was included.

The property itself is nestled into the side of a hill adjacent to Blackbeard’s Castle. It has both a tropical feel and look with lush, local foliage embracing you in the common areas. There are lizards and iguanas running about, which adds to the experience. I did not observe any unwelcome insects or other four legged guests; the location is very quiet – well, except for early morning when the roosters throughout the valley provide their wake-up call ritual. Again, this adds to the experience of this kind of locale and needs to be taken in that spirit. The room’s a/c operated fine – yes, it can be a little noisy but it is an a/c unit afterall – and I did try to get by with use of the ceiling fan only (I finally relented when the humidity got the better of me).

While there are no eating establishments on-site or close by (that I was aware of), the resident co-managers did provide food and beverage options for drinks and snacks out of the office. Bill and his partner, Susie, are extremely friendly, welcoming, and helpful; they really do add to your stay’s enjoyment. The Green Iguana’s location by Blackbeard’s Castle makes it easy to access the “99 Steps” that take you into town without too much difficulty. The return trip up is a greater challenge but with a little patience and perseverance, can be accomplished with a small investment of sweat equity. Great exercise.

The room rates are very reasonable – relative to other hotels and resorts on the island, and I would not hesitate for a moment to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beenthereseenthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.6 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Property: The Green Iguana Hotel
Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing