We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I solo traveled to the US Virgin Islands on my own. The hotel managers (John and Gwen) are very friendly and easy-going. They helped me with all the information I needed, and even supplied me with some anti-sun products when I got sun-burned. I had a great time in St. Thomas and St. John, during my 6-night stay, I feel as comfortable as a local. If I have any opportunity, I would like to come back to these islands and stay in this hotel again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
You were our first Guest from your country! Thank you for sharing your adventures with us! We hope you will be able to come back with your friends and family and show them all the wonders of the islands you were able to experience!
Remember you promised us a post card from your country! And we look forward to seeing you again! Take Care LW, we will think of you often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    114
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
54
187
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the The Green Iguana Hotel May 17-23-2013. Gwen and John went beyond making sure we enjoyed our stay and making sure all our needs were taken care of. They invited us to dinner with them in the evening which was great since we were two girls traveling together. The location of the hotel is awesome and the view is breath taking. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay while in St. Thomas. The relief managers Paula and Kirby were also so wonderful to us and took care of us and our needs. Gwen and John made a lot of good suggestions of things to do while there. You will not find a better place to stay and get such great service then at The Green Iguana Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room A4 which was a awesome view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pserenari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing The Green Iguana Hotel for your maiden adventure to The Caribbean! You asked questions before your arrival and had everything planned! You two definitely got in every minute of Caribbean Fun you could! We enjoy helping our Guests plan their adventure in advance! Our newest Relief Managers, Paula and Kirby are a nice fit to The Green Iguana Family! We are happy they were able to step right in when John and I went off on our stateside visit! We know you will be back, and most likely sooner than later! Enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
44092
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed a night at the Green Iguana on our way home from St John. The hotel was a lovely surprise. I wished we could have stayed longer. It's in a great location for dining and shopping. The hotel room was very clean and comfortable.
Gwen and John could not have been nicer or more helpful. It was my birthday and they had a happy birthday sign in the room. Very thoughtful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justjudyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We like to surprise our Guests with banners to help celebrate the occasion! Just let us know when your reservation is made it is your, or your traveling companion's, birthday, anniversary, honeymoon, we love celebrations! We can even arrange engagement proposals and weddings in the gardens! However we can help make your celebration better, please feel free to ask! We are here for you, our Guests, anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were going to vacation in the BVI but wanted to stay one day in Charlotte Amalie to get "into the zone". Selecting the Green Iguana was a very good decision as it's walking-close to town (via the "99 Steps"), fun-cozy, and the staff were very knowledgeable about things to do. Note: try to plan your stay when cruise ships are NOT in-town (unless you like crazy when you vacation).

Room Tip: Rooms are different. Ask about choices (ocean view, private, etc.) before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
May through November are great months for Caribbean Getaways! Cruise ships are cruising mainly north up the east coast. We enjoy the quiet summers, however the busy winters are fun too! As you stated, all our rooms are different in their layouts, however all have a view of the Charlotte Amalie Harbor! I love watching the sea planes take off and land (in the water of course!) All rooms are private rooms, with private baths, etc. Guests enjoy gathering in the gardens to exchange adventure stories, we hope you did too! To unwind before your vacation, or to squeeze in "one more day" The Green Iguana Hotel is perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because of the name...
we were greatly surprised how close it is to everything...
the great restaurants.(hook line and sinker..Mafolies..Mims..
and pizza amore..)..
the great party places..(Iggies and the shipwreck cafe)..
the great tours..tree limon zip line..coral world..ice magic..
St john ferry..and blackbeards castle)..
thanks to John and Gwen we had the greatest vacation in 10 years..
and that includes stays in key largo, bermuda, and 6 cruises..
(2 with rcl. Oasis-Granduer- 2 with carnival Dynasty-Pride and
2 with pcl Caribbean princess-crown princess )..
all of the cruises cost more than a week at the Green Iguana..
thanx again John
We will be back

Room Tip: our rooms were A5 and A6
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We love having families travel together! While our vacation occurred during your stay, we were happy to have met you before our departure. Our relief managers told us how happy you were with your choice of hotels. The central location on the island does make it easy to find your way around St. Thomas! You guys discovered some of the island's best!
John and I chose The Green Iguana Hotel for our first visit 12 years ago because of the name too! It is aptly named as the iguanas love to sun in our flowering trees! We hope you don't wait 10 years before your next Adventure to St. Thomas! We will be looking forward to meeting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had one night here at the Green Iguana with John and Gwen before heading back home after a BVIs sailing trip. The location is perfect - up and away from the bustle of town. Quiet, great for sleeping, great view of the town from above, perfect sunset from the balcony. Got in town in time for dinner and were welcomed by John and Gwen with an invitation to one of their local favorites for dinner and music. It was a perfect end to a wonderful vacation! John and Gwen are terrifically accommodating - printing out boarding passes, recommendations on getting to airport, etc. The place is super clean and super casual. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cc g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We were happy to have you along to one of our favorite restaurants to hear one of our favorite bands! The HooDoo Cats are from the states and perform a "Virgin Islands" tour twice a year!
What ever we can do to help our Guests get through the airport is our pleasure! We even have customs forms to help you get through the lines faster!
Perhaps your 'perfect ending' will the 'perfect beginning' to many more adventures in the Caribbean! Enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had such a lovely stay at The Green Iguana! The hotel is clean, private, safe and situated in the middle of the island. You can get anywhere on a short drive or walk into downtown. Gwen and John are an absolute treasure, they took such great care of us the whole week! Great recommendations for sight seeing and food, loved the trip via ferry to St. John and with the week after carnival we felt like we had all the beaches to ourselves! We truly can't wait to go back! Thanks GI for making us feel at home!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libbyculley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Off season is a great time to come to St. Thomas! From May through November (including Thanksgiving), cruise ships cruise to the northern coast lines, restaurants offer nightly specials and the beaches have just enough Visitors on them to be very enjoyable! As the seas warm for the summer, the diving and snorkeling are at their best!
How awesome it was that your hotel neighbor was a friend from home! Thank you for including John and I in your dinner plans! We really enjoy interacting with our Guests, and having dinner together is a real treat for us! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.6 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
549 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
414 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Property: The Green Iguana Hotel
Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing