We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Anniversary!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had such a lovely stay at The Green Iguana! The hotel is clean, private, safe and situated in the middle of the island. You can get anywhere on a short drive or walk into downtown. Gwen and John are an absolute treasure, they took such great care of us the whole week! Great recommendations for sight seeing and food, loved the trip via ferry to St. John and with the week after carnival we felt like we had all the beaches to ourselves! We truly can't wait to go back! Thanks GI for making us feel at home!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libbyculley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Off season is a great time to come to St. Thomas! From May through November (including Thanksgiving), cruise ships cruise to the northern coast lines, restaurants offer nightly specials and the beaches have just enough Visitors on them to be very enjoyable! As the seas warm for the summer, the diving and snorkeling are at their best!
How awesome it was that your hotel neighbor was a friend from home! Thank you for including John and I in your dinner plans! We really enjoy interacting with our Guests, and having dinner together is a real treat for us! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 418 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a lovely holiday visiting St Thomas & St John. We have previously visited St Croix and enjoyed it very much. So the hotel is very quaint, quiet, wonderful landscaping, well managed, clean, offers great views, is close to downtown (although you will need a rental to really enjoy both islands), close to shopping and food spots, and they actually have a wild iguana living in the secret garden. While visiting a friend was added- you'll have to stay there to meet her.
We stayed in A2 & really liked the simple aspects like super filtered water and ice. We had everything we needed in our mini-apartment: kitchen, nice restroom, closet, balcony with a view, super comfy bed, dining table (perfect for take away from the grocery store deli-delicious, authentic, & cheap!), cable tv, & AC.
The managers live on-site and are very kind. We enjoyed meeting them. If we ever stayed on St Thomas we would stay there again. Hope this helps with your travels :)!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARIANA177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

You are right when you say you really need a car to visit ALL of St. Thomas and St. John! Taxis can cost quite a bit it you are the kind of Visitor who wants to see it all! And driving on the left side of the road is like driving in the fast lane of the stateside freeways!
So you met Igor the Iguana! Igor's family hangs around the gardens as well! We have Igor, Junior, Tre', Ratcliff, and Iggy, that we know of! It's fun to sit in the gardens in the afternoon and watch all the island critters, lizards of all sizes and a variety of birds, come out to sun, or feed on the flowers, or freshen up in the trays of water we leave out for them!
We hope you come back to enjoy the islands and the gardens soon! We enjoyed meeting you as well! Take Care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I visit St Thomas A LOT and I love trying new hotels. Since I visited during Carnival, I wanted to be close to the action during the day, but have quiet nights. This was the perfect location. The one thing I loved about this hotel is that it felt more like a bed and breakfast. Everything was so casual and if you needed anything, the managers live there so they're always accessible and they're so nice. There is no concierge, bellhop, valet, or room service, but that's what makes the stay there so cool, you feel like your staying with family. There are beautiful views of downtown and the docks. The hotel sits on a hill off the main street so you don't have to worry about a lot of foot traffic.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

It was a pleasure to meet you Stephanie! While we wish we had the space to be a B&B, we are fortunate to have Town (Charlotte Amalie) so close to us! Especially during Carnival! From the "Queen's Show" at the stadium to the parades through Town, you don't have to worry about parking in Town! Just a short walk down the Historic 99 Steps and you are right in the heart of it all! We have personally experience 3 Carnivals, and must say, "If you haven't been to Carnival, you simple HAVE to put it on your To-Do List!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

After my second stay, at this wonderful hotel, I was reminded why I enjoyed staying there so much the first time. The location is perfect for enjoying downtown Charlotte Amalie. The views - fantastic. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Beautiful landscape! I can't say enough about the property managers, Gwen & John. They were incredible hosts. They definitely went above and beyond to make our vacation enjoyable. We had a situation with a taxi driver who left us stranded. I called Gwen, who sent John to pick us up within minutes. They handled the situation very professionally. Their knowledge of the area was very helpful as well. Looking forward to many more return trips as we are passing through the islands! I highly recommend the Green Iguana when visiting St. Thomas.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarribeanSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

After the second stay, you know you are a friend! John and I love this little island and love to scout out restaurants and activities so we may give our Guests the best recommendations! There are so many great restaurants in Town (Charlotte Amalie) there's no need to take a taxi!
We are sorry your taxi driver turned out to be a no-show, you shouldn't have to worry about how you are going to get from Point A to Point B, especially if it's pre-arranged. We wish we could have more control of that, however we don't. All we can do is try our best to "make it right" and help make your Caribbean Adventure as stress free as possible!
PS... Thanks for the gifts, especially the Anchor Bar Wing Sauce! It's one of our favorites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was our second stay at this wonderful jewel of a hotel. Location is perfect as it is in walking distance of many shops, restaurants, and the vendor market down on the waterfront. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Great WiFi and TV as well. Very cozy and beautiful courtyard for sitting and enjoying the foliage and views. Property managers John and Gwen are fantastic hosts who really do make you feel like family. Their warm nature make you feel right at home. I can't say enough about the two of them as they make your stay special. Whenever I travel to or through St Thomas, this is where I will stay, period.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TechGuy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We enjoyed having you and your group stay with us! And we know where Gasport NY is, having been in the Buffalo area many times with friends, of course that was life before St. Thomas! Thank you for the gifts, especially the Anchor Bar Wing Sauce!
We enjoy having Guests like yourself stay with us! You are welcome back to our "home" at any time! See you next year!?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We absolutely loved our time at the Green Iguana! We stayed for a day on each end of our trip to St. John. We stated in a balcony room (H2?) the first night and in a room with a large window the other night (A6?) Both rooms were spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. The rooms were quite large as well. Being able to sit outside on the balcony or see out the wall to wall window out over the harbor made it an even better experience.
The location is ideal- the property is situated on a hill just a short walk (up the 99 steps) from town. A taxi ride from town isn't too expensive but we had no trouble with the walk. The view is spectacular. The property feels private, as you can sit outside in the garden area (making you feel like you are away from town), but is actually very conveniently located. The area also appears safe, as we ended up walking/driving by some of the other guesthouses we had seen online and the GI is in a much nicer area. You have to utilize common sense as far as safety on the island but the guesthouse is very secure.
The managers, John and Gwen, add another element to the experience. They are knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. You can see their passion for what they do. They appear to have taken on their role as managers without hesitation and are working hard to improve an already fabulous guesthouse.
I would highly recommend the Green Iguana!

Room Tip: Both rooms were wonderful! Each had it's own charms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

H2 and A6 are two of our favorite rooms as well! You are right the view from the balcony of H2 (and the balcony itself) is beautiful! A6 gives you a view like no other! And of course if your room does not come with a balcony, there are many areas around the gardens you can enjoy as well! We love that the location of The Green Iguana is right in the middle of the island, making it easy to get anywhere, including the other US islands and the BVI!
Congratulations on your engagement, we hope to see you again for your honeymoon! A life time of happiness is our wish for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Green Iguana both before and after a chartered sail in the BVI. Gwen and John were great hosts providing us with pickup at the airport and a wonderful tropical banana frozen drink upon arrival. The rooms were exceptionally clean and well maintained, with a nice balcony overlooking the bay and city. The location was great as a short walk down the 99 steps took us right into the center of the city. There was a nice manicured garden area in which we sat one evening enjoying our meal on the picnic table with wine we were able to purchase from the office. Snacks were readily available as well.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony to enjoy the spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Traveling from the airport to islands hotels can be confusing, and we are happy to arrange to have a local taxi service meet you at the airport! We are so happy you were able to enjoy the gardens! We love them too! We enjoy caring for the plants and our housekeeper enjoys making arrangements for our Guest Rooms from the clippings! Remember the barbeque grill is available for Guests to use anytime! Thank you for finding us! We are looking forward to your return to St. Thomas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
2.7 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
638 reviews
0.9 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
73 reviews
5.1 mi away
Two Sandals by the Sea Inn - Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
429 reviews
0 mi away
Midtown Guest House
Midtown Guest House
#12 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
25 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $114 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing