We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Green Iguana Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$179
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windward Passage Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mafolie Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
$231
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Beach Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
$290
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove(Charlotte Amalie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Island Beachcomber Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveler rating
281
115
16
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
115
16
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblackbeard's castleone nightst thomassmall hotelsailing tripgreat hostshill overlookingshort walka great place to stayvirgin islandsboutique hotelfull kitchentaxi serviceclose to downtownferry dockbeautiful viewgwen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 422 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Everything just worked here. Relaxed and attentive managers, Gwen and John, were perfect hosts. We were allowed to leave our luggage both before we could get in to our room the morning of arrival, and after check out, since our ferry wasn't till late in the day. I was especially impressed on the phone when making the reservation, that Gwen offered to give me realistic info on the competing local hotels in the area. That was unusual enough that I booked right then even though I was trying to find something cheaper. Glad we did. Clean, great room view, quiet, Internet worked as did everything else, spacious room, very walkable to downtown and our new favorite food place( Ideal Restaurant), the Best veg and chicken rotis ever!, and cheap for this city). Anyway, don't bother looking further if you want to be right in town.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank VTLisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

We try very hard to accommodate early and late arrivals, with at least a baggage hold so you can enjoy Charlotte Amalie and the Historical aspects of St. Thomas! Thank you for trying Ideal Restaurant for Roti! John tried them on your recommendation! The Roti is very very good! And it's just a short walk from The Green Iguana Hotel!!! Thanks for finding us and for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Well I must say this wouldn't be my first pick for a roomto as I would prefer an Embassy Suites or other 3+ star hotel but I really loved this place. Really not much more to add than what other reviews have mentioned but we stayed in H1 and the room itself was cute. Everything was fairly worn but the special touches like the vase of flowers, the flat screen tv, the wifi, the balcony, and welcome home feel made our experience in St. Thomas one of the best weekend getways to date. As everyone has said before me, Gwen and John are awesome hosts. Very helpful with tips and suggestions. Really nice people. As far as negatives, ther aren't many but the sketchy wifi worked sometimes, the floors were a little beat up (made them appear a bit dirty), the furniture is definitely in need of refreshing, the bathroom probably could've been cleaned better as there was a couple strains of someone's hair on the shower wall. I wish this was a bed and breakfast but realize the cost per night would have to increase with the B&B amenities. Otherwise, we loved how close we were to Main Street and Royal Dade Mall. The infamous 99 steps are literally just steps from this hotel. Love the balcony in H1 but since Gwen graciously showed me A1 we would likely try for this room in the future since it has a (very) small kitchen and a small balcony. All rooms have a view. Blackbeard's Castle is right next door. We actually walked to Yacht Haven. Magen's Beach is a 10 minute drive over the hill from here and for breakfast you must walk over to Gladys' Cafe ...absolutely the best (thanks to Gwen for the recommendation)! We plan to visit again this year and will likely stay at The Green Iguana. We enjoyed this very quaint, right in the center of everything hotel. You will not be disappointed. And if you've never visited the islands of Virgin note: they drive on the left side and taxis are heavily used here.

Room Tip: The A building rooms will have better views. H1 balcony is nicely sized and super private with curtains and pretty nice view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roshaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

I agree A building has a better view, however all the views from every room are just beautiful! Please know the housekeeping issue you mentioned has been noted and the housekeeping staff has been asked to keep a better eye out when sanitizing a room for our Guests! Your next visit will be spotless, we guarantee it! We have also called in our IT technician and he agrees it's time for an upgrade to a few of our access points. He has isolated the faulty access point and all is well, and our wi-fi is still FREE to our Guests! Just ask us for the access code and you will be back on the net before you know it! We are very much looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Take Care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Green Iguana is right next to Blackbeards Castle at the top of the 99 steps, a chichi neighborhood but without the chichi feel. Very nice rooms, with kitchenette if you'd like, clean, simple, well furnished, with balconies and views. Hosts John and Gwen are outstanding. Lots of helpful details - a basket of sunscreen to take to the beach, a few groceries on site.
Local events and food within a short walk, 10 minutes to everything. Great views of the harbor. We had a2, very nice. Sunset views. If you don't HAVE to be on the beach, this is your spot!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank flygirlnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

John and I look forward to the sunsets every evening! Even when there is an "island shower" sometimes a bit of the sun shines through! A2 has a spectacular view of everything going on in the harbor, from Fort Christian to Crown Bay and beyond! Thank you for finding us! We will meet again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were a party of 4 and booked 2 rooms. Our rooms were clean and cozy with a balcony that afforded us beautiful views of the harbor. the hotel managers,Gwen and John, were friendly and very helpful. This is a small hotel with 9 rooms. We stayed for a week and had great service. Don't let the fact that this hotel is rated 2 stars keep you from staying here. Having a kitchenette kept cost down as we could make breakfast and lunch. Having a coffee pot and a hairdryer are a must on my list of amenities.

Room Tip: ask for room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmt17545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

The Guest Rooms with full kitchens are very popular for our Guests who spend their Caribbean adventure with us! While all our rooms have a great view of the harbour, your room has one of the best! And the balconies are great for relaxing in the evening and star gazing! We know how important certain ammenities are, such as morning coffee, hair dryers and even irons, which you will find in all 9 of our Guest Rooms. We also have small appliances, toasters, toaster ovens, even juicers and crock pots our Guests may borrow at any time during your stay! Making our Guests comfortable is our main goal! Thank you for finding us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent the night on our way to Tortola and it was perfect. The owners are very relaxed and helpful....all around comfortable stay in a beautiful spot with great views and in walking distance to the Green House...our main mission!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boatchick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Greetings to you in Alaska! We'll bet the warmth and sun of the Caribbean is welcome this time of year to you and our Iguana Fans from the north! We are so happy you were comfortable and found the hotel to be convenient to the places you wanted to visit and needed to go! We hope we will see you again around Winter Solstice for another dose of Caribbean warmth and adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews