We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and comfortable with a great view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfortable with a great view”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We booked room H-2 for two nights. We loved that we could walk down 99 steps to eat and shop without going broke taking taxis! It was a bit on the noisy side in the mornings because of roosters and dogs (as other reviewers mentioned), not the fault of Gwen and John of course, who are wonderful hosts; very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. By our last vacation day we were happy to be able to sit out on the balcony while enjoying the view. Since we had a early flight it was great that checkout was so easy, taxi came on time, and we made to the airport without a hitch. We will definitely make Green Iguana the place we stay when we are in St. Thomas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMPMINFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for finding us! We enjoyed having you stay with us! I make it no secret that H2 is my favorite room, mainly due to the great balcony! The view is AMAZING! As guests (before we became Resident Managers") we ALWAYS stayed in H2 for our yearly trips to STT. We are looking forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    115
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
57
192
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We went off the beaten path (our group stayed at Windward) because we wanted to see a little bit more of the island. Wow! We definitely got a more beautiful and twice as much fun experience.
Gwen and John were really nice and the place was exactly what we needed to begin our vacation. If we make it back with our kids, we'll definitely be staying here again. Gwen and John were so much fun to be around and had great recommendations. Even though we only got to stay one night (off to the catamaran the next day) it was a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thanks for the wonderful comments Amanda! We are happy to hear your Caribbean Adventure, and your time on St. Thomas, was memorable, in the best way possible! Next time you venture off to Virgin Gorda or one of the other BVI's, you must take a few extra days to enjoy St. Thomas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were so pleased we found this local hotel at the top of the 99 steps. Our extended family of 10 felt quite at home with the welcome provided by Gwen and John. The area was quiet and the parking was great. Thanks for making our short stay on St. Thomas memorable. Gwen made us so comfortable we were not worried about a sight unseen choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Karen your entire family is so nice! We are happy you found us too! Booking a one night stay on St. Thomas for a large party such as yours can be exasperating! We try our very best to accommodate parties of all sizes! The Historic 99 Steps is a nice walk even if you have a rental car! Parking right outside our main entrance is a real convenience for those who drive. It's nice to have the option of doing either! Please bring your family again! We would love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We loved the Green Iguana! We were married at Magen's Bay and stayed at the Green Iguana a few days before and after going to St John. The grounds were lovely and the hotel is very quiet with a beautiful view. For our wedding, Gwen recommended someone to do my hair and she recommended a great photographer who took several beautiful shots with us on the grounds of the Green Iguana/Blackbeard's Hill overlooking the harbor. It is close to town, very clean & very secure. Gwen and John were the perfect hosts! Would recommend to my family & friends! (I also recommend "Perfect Weddings of St. Thomas" with Leslie Dawson.)

Room Tip: H2 was very cute with a beautiful balcony & view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
P&P.....we were excited to help in every way possible for your Wedding-Moon! Ms. Dawson does a wonderful job decorating the beach for a ceremony! You both were so excited to become married! Thank you for allowing us to be a part of it! Now, can we be a part of your anniversary celebrations too? Best wishes for a long and happy life together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Green Iguana is a great place to stay!! From the friendly welcome and local info that Gwen & John provide, to the great view from Blackbeard's Hill; Green Iguana is excellent. The bed was comfy and the AC worked great. It was also nice to have in-room coffee and a microwave. We also appreciated that the hotel can provide travel items that might have been forgotten. On top of that, being up on Blackbeard's Hill provided a nice buffer from the traffic down in Charlotte Amalie. It is an easy walk down the 99 Steps to town.

Hope to get back to The Green Iguana in the future. I do not hesitate to recommend it as an excellent hotel choice while in St. Thomas!!!

Room Tip: Room H-2 has a great balcony with an excellent view of the Charlotte Amalie harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
John and I were happy your stay was so comfortable! Being "up" on Blackbeard's Hill is a nice buffer from the hustle and bustle of Town (Charlotte Amalie)! But it IS fun to go to Town to people watch, isn't it?! We are looking forward to your next visit! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Gwen & John were very friendly and helpful in booking the hotel and getting us from the jungles of St. John at Maho Bay back to civilization! We loved the view, the A/C and the clean and fresh feeling of the room. The place is beautifully landscaped. The flowers in the room were a nice touch. We were close enough to walk to the shopping district and just a 15 minute drive to the airport. The Green Iguana is a great place to stay. Gwen and John bring the warmth of their personalities to their work. We are glad we found the place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
We are happy you were able to unwind before heading back to the real civilization of the States! The flowers were from our gardens! We love to put them in the rooms and share will our Guests! We are so happy you had a 'nice find' on your Caribbean Adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We would like to thank John and Gwen for an awesome time! The hotels accomodations were very clean, with a well suplied and clean kitchen and bath. Everything was charming right down to the the fresh hibicus in the vase on the table. We stayed 6 days and the service was above and beyond, as well as, the professionalism of the staff. We found the grounds beautiful, relaxing and secure. There isn't much you could ask for that the management would not try to help you with, including finding the off the beaten road beaches and restaurants. I can not say enough about this wonderful hotel. Great place to stay! Thanks Again!
Jeff & Michelle

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flybyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Jeff and Michelle!
Thank you so much for helping us as much as we helped you! We are happy you enjoyed the snorkeling, the food, and the tropics in general! We are sure we will see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
570 reviews
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
70 reviews
4.2 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
715 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Property: The Green Iguana Hotel
Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing