We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Gem”
Review of Cafe Amici

Cafe Amici
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: Ciao! We offer authentic Italian cuisine created by our talented team of chefs, inspired from family recipes passed down. Come and enjoy pizza made in our wood burning brick oven and our pasta that is made fresh each morning. Our menu also offers an array of fresh salads soups and paninis. Our bar offers a full selection of spirits, bottled beer and non alcoholic beverages.
Restaurant details
Description: Ciao! We offer authentic Italian cuisine created by our talented team of chefs, inspired from family recipes passed down. Come and enjoy pizza made in our wood burning brick oven and our pasta that is made fresh each morning. Our menu also offers an array of fresh salads soups and paninis. Our bar offers a full selection of spirits, bottled beer and non alcoholic beverages.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Super Gem”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Seek out this little gem of a restaurant. It is located in the Passage just off of the main street. The drinks are excellent and the pizzas are fresh and flavorful. They make a really mean red sangria. And a wicked pain killer. You may have to wait for a table, but it will be worth your wait. ENJOY!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank almtyr0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    69
    26
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
184 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely setting for lunch amid the shops”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Shopping, or even window-shopping in downtown Charlotte Amalie can be awesome, overwhelming, fun and/or maddening. Sooner or later you will want a light meal. In the Riis emporium, the open-air cafe is a lovely. The old stones and structures are ingeniously being reused for commercial purposes. Wish I could rave about the experience of eating / drinking there but….

long, long wait for food, poor quality (my soup was so salty I was thirsty the rest of the day --and I am a water guzzler!), and erratic service. It seemed under-staffed. What really annoyed me is that the tip---even for a party of two-- was automatically added to the bill but on the bill to sign it ALSO left a place for a tip. HAd I not noticed I'd have given way too much money.If you're going to doit that way, at least clearly mark the second tip area as discretionary, ADDITIONAL gratuity.

A tourist and her money is soon parted….

Oh, and it would be a great place to add non alcoholic, decaffeinated, coffees to the menu! ---- right ambience and location for that.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLRS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“not bad”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

not a must on the stop and eat list - but not bad. food is good, pricing ok, little atmosphere, nice staff - just not a super destination

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jayccash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“STT 13”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great place for lunch downtown. Outside cafe with a wonderful wait staff. Everything fresh. Very enjoyable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Must go!!!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

The Mai Tai is awesome...pizza off the chain. Jennifer waitress was the best. Will definitely be back!! :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yurtletheturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Amici also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Cafe Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing