We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take a break”

Big Kahuna Rum Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hands down the COOLEST and most FUN bar/restaurant in St. Thomas, Virgin Islands! Right on the waterfront..Awesome harbor views, great people watching, live reggae and amazing and delicious food..Tacos, wraps, burgers, fresh mahi-mahi sliders..LOVE JUICE OMG..Ya gotta try it when you're visiting St Thomas!
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
201 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Take a break”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Nice place to take a break after shopping Charlotte Amalie. After buying that perfect Alexandrite ring for my wife we just needed a drink. We ended up staying around for dinner and had a few fish tacos. Boy were they yummy. We will be stopping back next year.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oodnil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    200
    63
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Done with the Crowds”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Went into town for a bit of shopping only to realize that there were 5 ships in town and the streets and stores were packed; so we settled into the cozy center table at BIG HAHUNA. We had some appetizers and drank a few cold ones. The girls had a couple of the fresh fruit drinks that our most excellent server MELISSA recommended. It was a busy day there too but Melissa took great care of us and even treated us to a shot of some blue stuff that was oh so tasty. We will certainly make this a stop next time we visit St Thomas which we hope is very soon. Cheers!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

While shopping I stopped in for a quick meal. Melissa recommended local favorites and drinks. Great Burger! Friendly laid back place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food. Better service!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We recently moved to St Thomas from Kentucky and TripAdvisor was kind of our guide to what restaurants to try since we didn't know anyone here. Big Kahuna Rum Shack got some very nice reviews so we gave it a shot. We had a flat bread that is basically a pizza and it was awesome. More impressive was the service we got from our server Melissa. I don't know why I was surprised because I had seen her name in several other reviews. We didn't realize they closed at 2pm when there weren't many cruise ships at dock and even though we got there at 145pm we were never rushed to order. It was only after we finished our meal did we find out that we were basically coming in at closing time. Just wanted to thank the Rum Shack and Melissa for giving us some good old southern hospitality so far away from home when we were missing it the most!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big Kahuna Big smiles”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This was a nice place! We stopped in for a drink and the bartenders were very nice. Good atmosphere. Our friends grabbed a bite to eat and they said it was amazing!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngS1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Kahuna Rum Shack also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Big Kahuna Rum Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing