We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for drinks while wives go shopping”

Big Kahuna Rum Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Hands down the COOLEST and most FUN bar/restaurant in St. Thomas, Virgin Islands! Right on the waterfront..Awesome harbor views, great people watching, live reggae and amazing and delicious food..Tacos, wraps, burgers, fresh mahi-mahi sliders..LOVE JUICE OMG..Ya gotta try it when you're visiting St Thomas!
Prior Lake, Minnesota
1 review
“Great place for drinks while wives go shopping”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Had a great time with friends and meeting new friends while our wives shopped. Had a great waitress (Melissa) that kept us supplied with beverages and fun conversation. We even came back on the last day of our trip to have a few more cocktails and a few more laughs before our flight home. A great view of the bay that all the cruise ships come in and a fun place to people watch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    205
    64
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect end to the afternoon”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We were on St Thomas because it was a cruise port stop. Following a great tour of the island, we found Big Kahuna Rum Shack by chance. We sat at the bar and loved the fantastic view of the harbour. Our bartender, LAUREN, was wonderful! She suggested a delicious rum drink which didn't cause me to fall off the bar stool and because my husband doesn't drink, whipped up a fabulous non-alcoholic drink for him. Special note: she is from Missouri: our home state. The bar location is terrific and Lauren is a real asset!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52jiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big fun at Big Kahuna.”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Great frozen drinks. I had a pain in the butt which was the combination of two frozen drink flavors. It was very good. Service was fast and fun. You do have to try the homemade love juice it's out of this world.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayette
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Remember to read less than excellent reviews”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Lunch was tasty and service efficient without a hint of smile. 18% is automatically added to total $ due. The bathroom down the alley is shared by other businesses and is guarded by an "attendant" who watches the only roll of toilet paper and the tip jar which are OUTSIDE the bathroom. She tells you not put paper down the toilet. Thus next to the commode is a trash bin filled with white toilet paper stained brown. Plus I don't know if she would be able to hear me holler for more toilet paper in case the need arises??

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank drsmnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Must in St. Thomas!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We love to visit the Big Kahuna Rum Shack when we go to St. Thomas. It has become our "go-to" place for lunch when we are there. The food is great and we love the relaxed atmosphere. It has a great view of the harbor from the tables outside. Last week Melissa was our server and she was awesome!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MUnderwoodGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Kahuna Rum Shack also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Big Kahuna Rum Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing