We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Alex was awesome!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Kahuna Rum Shack

Big Kahuna Rum Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hands down the COOLEST and most FUN bar/restaurant in St. Thomas, Virgin Islands! Right on the waterfront..Awesome harbor views, great people watching, live reggae and amazing and delicious food..Tacos, wraps, burgers, fresh mahi-mahi sliders..LOVE JUICE OMG..Ya gotta try it when you're visiting St Thomas!
Gas City, Indiana
1 review
“Alex was awesome!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We will be back!!! We had a great time!! The food was great and the service was even better!!! There is no doubt that we all will return!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dankeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    183
    59
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida
1 review
“Isis is the Bomb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Food was really good but it is bar type food. Isis (bartender) made the visit worthwhile. She was extremely friendly and it was great talking with her. The mix of music was great also. Nice view.
Jim and Diana
Titusville Florida
Visited in Oct 2012

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
123 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“LOVE this bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Visit the Big Kahuna whenever we visit St Thomas - the painkillers are awsome! Just a simple place but the atmosphere and view are great! Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenpEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent place for bar food and good drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It's a very friendly atmosphere here. They have wonderful drink specials and the people who work here are very friendly. Their menu is not unique but the food is really good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lezahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great drinks and grub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stopped in while visiting Charlotte Amalie. Happened to be happy hour, drink specials were good and waitstaff was very friendly. Even with our little family, they were accommodating. The food is pub grub. That's the only reason I didn't rate excellent. It was good but not over the top. Kids enjoyed the cheese burger sliders and pizza. Both were eaten up quickly, my husband and I enjoyed the frozen drinks. Definitely a good stop if you are cruising around CA, you won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Kahuna Rum Shack also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Big Kahuna Rum Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing