We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip”
Review of Fury Charters

Fury Charters
Ranked #2 of 40 Tours in Charlotte Amalie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SWIM WITH THE TURTLES SNORKEL SAIL! The #1 excursion in Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas just got a whole lot better! Join the US Coast Guard certified professional crew of the newly refit, impeccably maintained, sailing yacht Fury on a 1/2 day excursion to Swim with the Giant Green Sea Turtles at the National Wildlife Marine Sanctuary at Buck Island. Here you will encounter a variety of sea life, including stingrays, conch, starfish, tropical fish and up to 20 endangered green sea turtles feeding "naturally" along our beautiful, calm, protected coral reef. Fury is not one of those large, overcrowded cattlemarans, Fury is a classic 46' Morgan Ketch with a maximum capacity of 25 passengers, providing a superior experience and unparalleled service for our guests. Plenty of shade for the fair-skinned under the custom bimini. We will even pick you up at the Havensite Cruiseship Dock with our boat. NO CAB RIDES! NO HASSLES! Don't miss this unique and popular wildlife experience! FURY IS A NON-SMOKING VESSEL.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great trip”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a great time on the Fury. Cap'n Mike and first mate Nikki put on a great trip. The information was useful, the banter was fun and the snorkling was amazing. Great equipment too.

Although low key and easy going, it was clear that these folks were pros. Everything you could reasonably want was available. Thanks guys.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usvisailior, Manager at Fury Charters, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks for calling us "pros". We do appreciate it. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    37
    7
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing Day”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Thank you so much to Captain Mike and Niki for making our day sailing and swimming with the turtles very memorable. They both know so much about the turtles and you can tell they truly care about them. Sailing was a blast!!!
I would highly recommend this adventure to all my friends!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usvisailior, Manager at Fury Charters, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We try to export great memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Would definitely recommend! Great for a shore excursion and much less crowded than the other big boats that were around us. Having a smaller group is much nicer, plus its a gorgeous sailboat! The ride out was great, with Captain Mike making jokes and pointing out the sights. The snorkeling was so much fun. We saw many turtles as well as some stingrays. Capt Mike and Nikki both made sure everyone was comfortable with the equipment and ready to get in the water. Even when we were in the water they were sure to point out turtles to us and make sure everyone was happy and safe. There was one person in our group who got a bit seasick and they were quick to notice and make her more comfortable and ensure she still had a great experience. The ride back was relaxing and snacks and drinks were provided.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elle1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Great excursion!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We booked this excursion while our cruise ship stopped in St Thomas as it came recommended by a couple of our family members that had been before. It was a wonderful trip and we had a great time! The staff was amazing! I have been on several (8-10) snorkeling excursions like this before and the staff on the Fury was the best I've ever had. Nikki and Captain Mike were awesome! The boat was beautiful and the snorkeling was very good too. I would recommend this for anyone going to St. Thomas. Well worth it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank elmitchell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrell, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Time!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

"Swimming with the turtles" was a highlight of our December Carnival Cruise. Working with Captain Mike of Fury Charters was a pleasure. Before the trip, he was quick to respond to my emails, answered all my questions and provided helpful information. The sailboat ride to get to the turtles was very enjoyable and our snorkeling time was a wonderful experience, especially with just the small group on the boat (10 in total). After Nicki took us all out and showed us around, we had plenty of time in the water to explore on our own - probably 45-60 minutes in total. It was amazing to watch the turtles (there were many) swim to the surface. We also saw plenty of colorful fish near the coral reef. We brought along our new Emerson Video camera and got some great shots. Our cruise ship arrived at Crown Bay which is a cab ride away from the meeting place but it was not difficult to get there. Just outside the port there were plenty of "group" vans that transported us quickly and inexpensively (I think it was $5 per person). It was also easy to catch a cab to take us back to the ship. It was really a great way to spend the afternoon and I highly recommend Fury Charters!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fury Charters also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Fury Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing