We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Must Do This in St. Thomas”
Review of Fury Charters

Fury Charters
Ranked #3 of 40 Tours in Charlotte Amalie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SWIM WITH THE TURTLES SNORKEL SAIL! The #1 excursion in Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas just got a whole lot better! Join the US Coast Guard certified professional crew of the newly refit, impeccably maintained, sailing yacht Fury on a 1/2 day excursion to Swim with the Giant Green Sea Turtles at the National Wildlife Marine Sanctuary at Buck Island. Here you will encounter a variety of sea life, including stingrays, conch, starfish, tropical fish and up to 20 endangered green sea turtles feeding "naturally" along our beautiful, calm, protected coral reef. Fury is not one of those large, overcrowded cattlemarans, Fury is a classic 46' Morgan Ketch with a maximum capacity of 25 passengers, providing a superior experience and unparalleled service for our guests. Plenty of shade for the fair-skinned under the custom bimini. We will even pick you up at the Havensite Cruiseship Dock with our boat. NO CAB RIDES! NO HASSLES! Don't miss this unique and popular wildlife experience! FURY IS A NON-SMOKING VESSEL.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

On the recommendation of several friends, we booked a day with Captain Mike & First Mate Nikki during a recent Caribbean cruise. We were a group of five including two kids. It was a dreary, rainy day, but it didn't matter. As everyone sat shivering during the sail out from the marina, Nikki took the time to explain why we'd be warmer once we started snorkeling. Both Mike & Nikki got to know their passengers, pointed out sites around the islands, and told wonderful tales as we sailed.

Once we arrived at our snorkel destination, Mike & Nikki ensured everyone had the equipment they needed & knew how to use it. Vests, flippers, snorkels, masks, and other floatations devices were provided to whomever needed them. Nikki got in the water and showed everyone the best areas, pointing out sea turtles, sting rays, and various types of coral & fish along the way.

We had lots of time in the water & had an amazing time. On our way back, Captain Mike gave the kids a chance to drive the boat, which they loved. We also had a medical incident aboard which Mike & Nikki handled with grace & competence. After dropping us all back at the marina, Mike discovered that we had left two raincoats on board and he delivered them to our cruise ship before we left port.

I highly recommend a day with Fury Charters - we hope to spend another day with Captain Mike & Nikki again in the future.

Thank DebbieK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usvisailior, Manager at Fury Charters, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thanks for you kind words. we do what we can to please our guests..Have a great holiday!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
There are newer reviews for Fury Charters
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 304 of 675 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

I just returned from St. Thomas on cruise with 22 wonderful friends. I did some research looking for a private charter that met our needs and Fury Charters exceeded all of our expectations. While researching, this was the only boat that was the right size for our group that we could walk to from the ship. Captain Mike and Nikki made our day fun and relaxing. We did a 1/2 day sail to swim and snorkel with the turtles and along the reef. We added on a beach stop as well that allowed us to sail back into the sunset. Mike was a good sport with our group of chatty ladies and Nikki loved it. As a former Girl Scout leader I really appreciated their attention to safety and rules to follow to make our trip great. Mike and Nikki were generous with the drinks after our snorkel time and provided light snacks (pretzels and granola bars) that were exactly what we needed. They joined our fun as we celebrated 4 birthdays on board too! I would highly recommend Fury Charters for both adults and children and hope to sail with them again.

Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usvisailior, Manager at Fury Charters, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thanks for the review. This was a fun group of ladies. I remember the birthday hats and singing at Honeymoon Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Capt Mike and nikki are awesome! Would book this again! Nikki showed us some of the coral and explained different things about the fish and coral. We had a blast!

Thank Dalaaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usvisailior, Manager at Fury Charters, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thanks for your review. Hope to see you back next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We totally enjoyed this experience! Nikki and Mike are funny and friendly and very informative. The boat ride out to the spot for snorkeling was relaxing...just hanging our feet over the side and enjoying the beauty! We only saw 2 sea turtles but that was ok. We also saw squid, stingrays and various other interesting things. Then the rum punch and snacks on the ride back...perfect day! Would do it again in a heartbeat!

Thank Hailey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usvisailior, Manager at Fury Charters, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback. we're glad you enjoyed the excursion and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I sailed with the Fury in June and absolutely loved it! Booking was a breeze with Captain Mike. We left our cruise ship and met the Fury on the dock. It's a short trip out to the bay where the sea turtles are. It was amazing being so close to these animals! We were incredibly happy with our choice on the Fury with Mike and Nikki. Please don't miss out of this beautiful opportunity! We will definitely snorkel again with the Fury.

Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usvisailior, Manager at Fury Charters, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. we do have a great crew and an awesome excursion with the turtles. Hope to see you both back real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fury Charters also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Fury Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing