We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Thomas Watergate Villas on Bolongo Bay”
Review of Watergate Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watergate Villas
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“St Thomas Watergate Villas on Bolongo Bay”
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed at Watergate Villas for a family wedding at a nearby resort. The Condo was rented from Scott and Leah Browing (www.stthomascondos.net). The facilities were nice and a good value. Not luxury accommodations, but clean and well maintained. The complex is right on the water with their own pool. The pool is 3-6 feet deep and there was no kiddie pool. Our 2 year old still loved it. A good seafood restaurant, Mims, is on-site and had very good food. They had an all you can eat shrimp special that was very good. Just down the beach is Iggy's, a cool beach bar with good pub food and a crab leg special.

Our condo was nice and clean and well equipped. Again, not high luxury, but very comfortable. I imagine ocean front properties take on a lot of wear and tear from the elements, but we were more than pleased with the accommodations. I would recommend Scott and Leah's condo to others, especially traveling with a group or a family. We had everything from Pots & Pans, a blender for boat drinks, CD player with a stockpile of Jimmy Buffet CDs, and cable TV with kids movies on VCR. Internet access was tough to find on the island, so plan accordingly. My Cell Phone worked well at the complex.

The location on Bolongo Bay was nice and central. The bay itself is pretty, but there are much nicer beaches. A rental car is a must! We enjoyed Magen's bay, dinner and drinks in Charlotte Amalie (ate ate Herve.. Very good), and did a bar crawl in Red hook by the marina. Food shopping is pricey, but the Food Center near Red Hook seemed to be the best stocked and best value. We also took a car ferry to St. Johns. Trunk Bay and the other beaches n the National park were incredible! Just like a movie set! The food and bars in St John were very nice and I recommend spending time on that island.

TIP: print a cruise ship schedule and plan your days around it. Go on excursions and to the beaches when no ships are in and the beaches are near empty. Go shopping and out to eat when they are in port. Most of the shops and many bars/restaurants simply close when there are no ships docked. If 3 BIG ships are in, the towns get really full and the shops hike up the prices.

Watergate Villas was a perfect central location for our island vacation. Close to everything, but far enough away to be peaceful. We had friends meet up at our condo and they were jealous and preferred it to your typical hotel room on the island. We agreed!

ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sspychal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    27
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
48
28
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

I have just returned from another stay at Watergate Villas, and I think it is the perfect spot to stay on St Thomas...located on Bolongo Bay, halfway between Charlotte Amalie and Red Hook (ie the two major towns). Bolongo Bay has 3 wonderful restaurants (Iggies for the beach bar "scene", Mim's for seaside dining, and the Lobster Grill serving all day), a great beach hut for getting that kayak or other "beach toy", and access to the friendly concierge service at Bolongo Bay Resort that will arrange for your every need. The condos at Watergate are steps from the sand - some are a few steps closer than others, but none are more than 100 yards! The ones closest to the pool can hear the bands playing at Iggies at night (which I loved!) and children playing in the oceanfront pool, but if you want a bit more quiet in the evenings, book a unit in Buildings 14 or 15...you are still on the ocean and closer to my favorite pool up on the cliffs! Which brings up the added bonus of staying at Watergate - access to 3 pools! A short walk up the hill (it's easy - my friend has a foot held together with 8 pins and she walked to this pool every morning and is currently suffering withdrawals because she is missing "her pool") is a gorgeous pool set on the cliffs - not only are sunsets incredible from this vantage point (be there by 5:30 or you may miss it), but most mornings we were the only people there, plus it has the most comfy padded teak furniture.
I love staying at the Watergate Villas. I have rented 2 bedroom units each time and both were fully furnished with quality items. Several people rent their condos by the week, so take a look and see which one appeals to you. I have stayed in Buildings 15 and 16 and both were perfect for me.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wijssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2009

The Watergate exceeded our expectations. The rooms had everything stocked that you could need, rafts, chairs, ice chests, snorkel gear, beach towels, etc. There is a coin laundry just outside which was especially nice since our luggage had been lost for 4 days. The pool is just outside the door, and there are three great restaurants/bars. Two tv's with VCR's and movies are included. The rooms (we had three) were all beautifully decorated and very clean. Pool and ocean were steps away.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillieandKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathag85
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2009

We stayed in Scott & Leah’s 2nd floor condo, with two bedrooms & two baths. We had a great week with our 16 and 20 year old kids. The condo was very nice – two patio doors overlooking the pool and ocean: one in the master bedroom with king size bed and one in the kitchen/living room area. Scott & Leah are wonderful hosts, providing an informational packet that puts the other popular “list” to shame. Yes, the beach is a little rocky – but we never stayed put long enough to notice. It was wonderful having a nice/quiet place & pool to hang out at in the mornings and evenings – no crowds. We couldn’t have been happier with the accommodations and we agree with all of the other positive things being said about their hospitality and condo. It was a perfect week!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathag81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

We recently stayed in Leah and Scott Browning’s 2 B/R, 2 Bath condo (1610) at pool level at the Watergate Villas on Bolongo Beach in St. Thomas. The condo is very comfortable for four adults and beautifully appointed. It is literally right at the water’s edge and steps away from the pool. The Brownings’ leave no stone unturned making your experience in St Thomas completely welcoming. They provide sufficient towels/linens and all the water/beach supplies you can think of. We were sorry that we lugged our snorkeling gear all the way from home after we found the hall closet fully stocked with beach chairs, umbrella, snorkels, masks and fins, coolers, floats and beach towels. In addition, there are books, CD’s, DVD’s, and very detailed information regarding beaches, restaurants, places of interest, etc., all with their personal recommendations, which were right on target.

Although not a resort, guests have access to three restaurants within walking distance of the condo: Iggie’s for a quick bite, the Lobster Grill for breakfast/lunch/dinner, both at Bolongo Beach Resort a short walk along the beach, and Mim’s for dinner right on the premises. You definitely need a car to get from the airport to the condos and to/from town, the beaches and restaurants (if you’re daring enough to take the challenge of driving on the left on very winding, hilly roads). Although we didn’t get a chance to visit all the restaurants we wanted to, we loved Room with a View at Bluebeard’s Castle, the Greenhouse and Virgilio’s in Charlotte Amalie, the Bluemoon Cafe at Secret Harbor, and Molly Malones in Red Hook, in addition to the ones mentioned earlier. Or, if you choose, there’s a full kitchen… we didn’t choose!

We had the distinct pleasure of meeting the Brownings during our stay and found them to be extremely helpful and amiable.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dankner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon,CT
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We just returned from a great trip! We rented a condo from VRBO which read the closest to the ocean, unit 1420. The owners were very nice to talk to and reassured us that we would really enjoy the villa. The condo was an end unit with a huge balcony over Bolongo Bay. The buiding was quiet and very well kept. We had access to 4 pools and would visit a different one every day. We felt safe and our daughters really had a great time going to Iggie's and meeting new friends. We would definitely reccoment this condo for a great vacation!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RICamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2009

Stayed a week after Christmas and into the new year at one of Scott and Leah Brownings 2 bedroom condos. Second trip to St Thomas so we felt a bit seasoned. The unit itself overlooked the pool and surf. It was delightful! The 2 br were perfect for my wife and I as well as our two college age daughters. We had a blast! Rented a car -Avis - no problems, even took the car ferry to St Johns for a day. The Brownings made it easy with superb attention to detail and great communication. Why spend a week (or more) in a hotel room when you can have a palace! This is a no brainer for our next visit.

  • Liked — proximity to beach
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank batgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
9.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
11.3 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,224 reviews
7.1 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
8.7 mi away
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
#1 of 6 in Charlotte Amalie
761 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Villas

Property: Watergate Villas
Address: 7101 Estate Bovoni, Charlotte Amalie 00802-2504, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individually owned Studio and 2BR/2BA vacation condominiums with prime oceanfront location on beautiful Bolongo Beach, St. Thomas ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Watergate Villas Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Watergate Villas St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing