We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 3rd stay at Kay's Paradise - Unit1722. VRBO”
Review of Watergate Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watergate Villas
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our 3rd stay at Kay's Paradise - Unit1722. VRBO”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

2BD/2BA. Great view. 3pools!!!!!! 3 restaurants that you can walk to in 2min or less. Mim's and Iggies are great!!!! The condo is better outfitted than a 3/3 we paid $4500 for a week in BVI and is 1/2 the price. :-)

Owners maintain the unit well. The complex is close to dive shop, catamaran tours, food, drinks, beach, pool, taxis, and......what else can you ask for?

The complex is a bit dated and needs some exterior maintenance but for the money, it is great. You can stay at Marriott, Hilton, Ritz, Caneel, etc but be ready to pay 3-8X the rate here and be disappointed at the lack of culture. We have stayed at those places too.....sterile. Corporate.

Watergate Villas is GREAT!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay in buildings 16 or 17. Closest to pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    27
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
48
26
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Rick and Linda's studio unit - they were helpful and efficient throughout the entire process. The room has a beautiful ocean view from the balcony and the pool was right outside. The room had a small kitchen with everything you could need - going out to eat in St. Thomas can be VERY expensive so it is nice to be able to prepare some meals at home! Great location with 3 restaurants, a dive shop, and resort amenities in walking distance. Highly recommend! We found the rental through VRBO.com.

Room Tip: Unit 1734 is great studio unit for a couple looking for a good value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarakelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We booked our 2bed/2bath ocean front condo with Scott & Leah Browning via the internet. They are wonderful condo owners. They had our reservation done to perfection. The condo was inviting and comfy. Stocked with tons of beach & bath towels, which is a rarity in the Carribean. The well appointed kitchen made cooking on vacation an easy chore. This condo is in the perfect location at Watergate Villas. 1 minute walk to Iggie's beach bar and the St. Thomas Dive Shop. The ocean was honestly 30 footsteps away. The view from our condo was spectacular. Scott & Leah even gave us a quick call after we arrived to see if there was anything we needed to make our vacation perfect. The condo was quiet and secure. I highly recomend that you stay here. Make sure you visit Iggie's beach bar where the drinks and food are great. They had a band each night which we also enjoyed.

Room Tip: Condo #1622 owned by Scott & Leah Browning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marianne151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

From the moment we arrived, until the time we had to leave, this was the place to be! We stayed in the Browning's 2BR condo in building 16 (again). Even better, the 2nd time! This time for our anniversary, we were greeted in the condo with a welcome basket. Same as last year, the reservation process was seemless, and everything as advertised (even better in our opinion). All the information provided is right-on (no need to stray from it - they include the best suggestions). We got to meet Scott and Leah this time; even chartered with them to swim with turtles; definitely our best day; very nice boat. We enjoyed Mims and Iggies onsite (all-u-can-eat, we did!) and also made our way to Magens (Udder Delight milkshakes), Lindquist and over to St. John.

Worthy of saying, we peeked in some of the other condos (they are all different inside) and looked at some real estate this trip, and couldn't find anything that came close to our unit; not even close. Our furnishings and views were the best we saw; location to pool and beach can't be beat.

We are hoping this will be us at our 10th anniversary. Living the dream with nice beach condos and boating in St. Thomas. Cheers to our St. Thomas friends - Until next time . . .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IslandSun04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The unit we stayed in was very outdated and DIRTY! First thing we had to do was wash the sheets and comforter,and clean the AC filter and even mop the floors~ I honestly was amazed how someone can rent a place like this...food was in the refg left over from last person. MANY personal items were in every room. EVERY closet was full of stuff. The unit is located in bldg 17 and did not have a phone or internet as advertised. Not a good experience at all...the room effected our entire trip...it really was that bad. Dirty appliances,still crumbs in toaster oven..and not just a few! Don't think u will enjoy the balcony...very small w/an oversized table and a nasty collection of burned out candles..I came home and looked at the pics they had posted....unbelievable~
OH!!! and the music nect door at Iggies will keep you awake..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank arnfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Wow, what a great condo. It is very nicely decorated and makes you feel at home. The location couldn't be any more convenient to the pool and to the beach. This is the only 3BR condo available at this location which makes it even more attractive. We will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mdfmisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Our travel club, Totally Excellent Vacations, had a great time in St. Thomas, USVI
The weather was perfect every day and we found plenty to do. Great Food, Drinks and sights.

We have visited Magens Bay beach before while on a Carnival Cruse, but this was the first time we stayed 10 days. It rained 3 days out of 10 days but the rain only lasted 10 minutes!

I cost a little more to stay on St. Thomas but it's worth it because everything you want to do it right there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank totallyexcellentvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
13.4 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
9.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
7.1 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,210 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
#1 of 6 in Charlotte Amalie
743 reviews
11.8 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Villas

Property: Watergate Villas
Address: 7101 Estate Bovoni, Charlotte Amalie 00802-2504, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individually owned Studio and 2BR/2BA vacation condominiums with prime oceanfront location on beautiful Bolongo Beach, St. Thomas ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Watergate Villas Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Watergate Villas St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing