We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miller Manor Guest House
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Rooms are clean with all comforts. I did not like too much the smell (humidity?) in the standard room. However I would go again and take the premium room.
The staff is cool! The view is amazing. There is also a big terrace.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vorname_N188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm1942, Owner at Miller Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

We really appreciate when guests take the time to write a review, and give us feedback. Thanks!

You are right. Moisture can cause problems in the tropics. Parts of our building are over 150 years old, and were constructed using ballast (heavy material that is placed in the hold of a ship to enhance stability) bricks that were brought from Europe to trade for sugar and rum. The brick is very porous, and absorbs the moisture in the air, causing the issue you mentioned. We are continually looking for the best solutions to improve the experience our guests have.

We're glad you enjoyed our wonderful view, and that our staff helped to make your stay a positive one. Thanks for choosing us for your stay in St. Thomas. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 173 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Apr 2014 - I've just read the last few recent reviews for this time - A Jewel in Paradise - The Most Wonderful Island Experience - Home Away From Home - Experience The Real St. Thomas.
They all echo my sentiments exactly!

So something new for the sailors. Miller Manor is a great jump point to and from BVI. Almost hailing distance to the Fast Ferry terminal. Easy walk to Frenchtown dining / downtown Shopping. Quick and inexpensive taxi rides for night time fun / airport.

Stayed 3 times in the last 4 years and the experience and Manor just keep getting better and better!

Special nod to all the gang - Harry, Marj, Scott, Jason. Hope to see you next year! Give my best to Luna and Sam ... And keep singing Christmas carols to that Poinsettia, Marj, it'll bounce back.

Oh, one final comment. Thanks for this one Scott. Open the eyes and hearts of the folks you meet in St. Thomas as you walk around. A simple smile and genuine "Good Mornin' / Good Afternoon" launched many amazing conversations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fundy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm1942, Owner at Miller Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

What lovely sentiments--especially what a smile and some kind words will do to lift the spirits of those on the receiving end. We appreciate more than we can say your willingness to take time to write a review for us. We hope we can continue to improve your experience. Our guests are the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

If you're looking for a down home experience with fabulous hosts, personalized service, a view that is unparalleled, and a staff that goes out of their way to help, then Miller Manor is your place. Marj and Harry are gracious, flexible and caring. A huge shout out to Scott who will help with anything you need, even on his days off! And he gives a terrific tour with helpful hints for anything and everything you need to know during your stay on the island. We're looking forward to our next visit, hands down one of the most delightful places we've had the opportunity to stay at. Thank you Marj, Harry and Scott for making our visit so special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulab619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm1942, Owner at Miller Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for the lovely review, and for mentioning Scott. His tour guide experience has made him a helpful addition to our staff. It was great meeting you, and so much fun having you here at the Manor. We really enjoyed your company!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

If you want to feel like you are welcome and cared for, you will want to stay at the most charming place - Miller Manor. Two dogs and three cats truly help to make you miss your own pets less. The onwers - Marge and Harry are incredibly gracious and warm. There are a number of charming terraces over looking the turquoise waters and sailboats. The living room offers tons of books and interesting artworks. I can't wait to come and visit again soon. Thank you for a wonderul Island stay. It was so relaxing - great rum drinks during cocktail hour too!
Tom and Diana Bulger

Room Tip: All rooms are different, but charming with many communal terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm1942, Owner at Miller Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

We're glad you felt at home here. We greatly enjoyed your company, and are grateful for the kind words you have written. Thanks for choosing to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Marj and Harry make this place a real find! Their warm hospitality and attention to detail made our stay exceptionally good. We enjoyed the privacy of our own space and the opportunity to meet and connect with others in a welcoming community space with a fantastic view of the harbor. The resident cats and dogs contribute to the homey atmosphere. Very clean and a good value!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm1942, Owner at Miller Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

It was great having your family here! Everyone was so interesting and fun. It was a pleasure to be around your infectious good spirits and curiosity. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and also so grateful that you would take the time to write so favorably about us. It's great to be challenged to live up to the kind things that you have said. THANKS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

There's no better way to experience St. Thomas then staying at the Miller Manor. This place is overall charming and historic. With rooms and hallways the go up, down, around and through the manor you never feel like you've seen it all. The family owners are friendly and helpful ... the pets are active ... and the residents make you feel at home. Definitely look into staying here before you book a 'hotel' in the area.

Room Tip: Every room is different ... ask them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deathgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm1942, Owner at Miller Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thanks for the wonderful pictures and kind words! ...we really enjoyed your time with us.
Come back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I had an amazing time at the Miller Manor. We stayed for a week in room 105. The room was a good size with a comfy King size bed. We had a private balcony facing the harbour. The value of this hotel was wonderful; we got a night free and on top of that, the base rate was considerably less than other hotels in the area! The views from the bar area were stunning and we enjoyed watching the boats in the harbour as we ate our breakfast each morning. The hotel was well located and we walked around much of the town. We had rented a Jeep and never had a problem finding parking on the street.
The owners and staff made our stay extra special. Harry and Marj were gracious hosts who made sure we had everything we needed. Scott was full of information about places to eat and things to do. We celebrated an anniversary while we were there and they brought us sparkling cider and a lovely card. This was so unexpected and delightful. It made us feel that we were among friends. The hotel is also home to 2 dogs and 4 cats, all of whom were well behaved and friendly. Visiting with them became part of our daily routine.
We will definitely be coming back here when we plan our next trip to the Virgin Islands.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm1942, Owner at Miller Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write such a kind review! We are so glad that you had a good experience at the Miller Manor, and hope we can continue to provide good service and value to our guests.
We enjoyed your stay with us. Every one of our guests enhances our information about the place from which they come, or brings travel experiences that we can share with future guests. In person social media!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.6 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
577 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#2 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
80 reviews
5.5 mi away
Two Sandals by the Sea Inn - Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller Manor Guest House

Address: 2527 Prindsesse Gade | Usvi, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5502, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $75 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our casual accommodations are conveniently located within walking distance to ferries to other islands, historic sites, great duty free shopping, and easy transportation to some of the island's best beaches. We have fantastic views of the harbor and town from our hillside location. We offer clean and comfortable air conditioned rooms, a terrace bar for conversation and watching the activity in Charlotte Amalie's busy harbor, and complimentary continental breakfast. The Miller Manor offers a true family guesthouse atmosphere for a relaxing visit to St. Thomas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miller Manor Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Miller Manor Guest House St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing