We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miller Manor -- We're definitely coming back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miller Manor Guest House
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Miller Manor -- We're definitely coming back!”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Our 2-week stay at Miller Manor this past February was sheer pleasure. Will we stay there again? Absolutely YES!

For folks who have stayed at Miller Manor in the past, take note that the owners, Harry and Marj, have refurbished the entire guest house. There is a TV, a refrigerator, and AC in every room, along with very comfortable beds.

For folks who are planning to visit the Virgin Islands in the near future and have never stayed at this guest house, I believe Miller Manor serves as an excellent home base as you visit the exotic beaches of St. Thomas and the other nearby islands. If the fascinating architecture of this historic house and the spectacular view of the harbor fail to claim your heart, then I’m certain the warmth and professionalism of the owners and their fine staff are certain to win you over.

We had a wonderful vacation in St. Thomas, and our relaxing stay at Miller Manor was a big part of the trip. Yep. Definitely going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darvin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm1942, Owner at Miller Manor Guest House, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We know it takes time from a busy schedule to write a review. We so appreciate yours! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    47
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
89
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, N.C.
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We just returned from St. Thomas and a three day stay with Marj
and Harry at the Miller Manor. We were pleased with the accommodations and personal service that they provided. The rooms were very clean with fresh linens and the beds were comfortable. The view of Charlotte Amalie and the harbor is spectacular from the open air veranda. We enjoyed the hummingbirds that flocked to their feeders. Drinks and food are
very reasonably priced, although there is no restaurant. Each room
has a refrigerator, microwave, telephone, kitchen sink, tv that works,
alarm clock and are tastefully decorated.

Marj and Harry go out of their way to make you feel at home and are very helpful in providing recommendations of where to go, what to see and restaurants that are close by. We felt safe walking to near
by Frenchtown and Charlotte Amalie although we had a rental car. We'd recommend renting a car to see St. Thomas and St. John. You get use to driving on the left side of the road very quickly and a car will allow you to see all that St. Thomas has to offer! We took our car over to St. John for the day.

We plan to go back an visit Miller Manor again and spend more time with Marj and Harry. We'd recommend Miller Manor for those that want to stay in Charlotte Amalie and in a historic setting. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Betsy & Larry

Room Tip: Trip Advisor is a great source for choosing the right place for you to stay. We talked with Marj be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmatheny46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm1942, Owner at Miller Manor Guest House, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your kind words. We're so glad you were pleased!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Miller Manor on our recent anniversary trip. We had a balcony room. The bar is for hotel guests only so it's quiet, and you can't beat the great happy hour prices. The location is both good and bad. It's an easy walk to town and the Ferry, however it's not an overly nice part of town. We didn't encounter any trouble, but you did see the occasional bum/crazy person during the day. We felt somewhat trapped at the hotel at night with nothing to do unless we were willing to spend an extra $30-$40 in round trip cab fare. It just didn't seem safe walking around at night. Please note this is not a B&B. It's a small 30 room hotel. Parts of the room and courtyard were nice; bar area, courtyard, fridge. However, it just didn't seem worth the money we paid. We were told the water "should" be ok to drink, which didn't seem worth the risk. They gave us some bottled water, but it was kind of a hassle to get it 2 bottles at a time. I also got a cold shower the 2nd day as they were having some trouble with the water heater. The view of the water is very nice, but if you look left, right, or down you see a less than stellar neighborhood. The bathroom tile and fixtures were also in need of updates. Overall, Miller Manor is ok, but if you're seeking vacation accommodations I came away feeling I should have spent a little bit more and stayed at a nicer place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank teford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at Miller so we could be in the heart of Charlotte Amalie. The property is a cool multi-level funky building with good views from the bar and patio. It is an older building and tends to constantly remind you of that. The room we stayed in was small, damp and dark with very little natural light. The bathroom was very small and cramped as was the kitchen. It's a short walk (5-10 minutes) to the waterfront and even closer to the historic center with an open market. The Savan neighborhood is adjacent to the manor and walking around the hood felt a little uneasy. We were told unanimously by every local and taxi driver we had we were staying in a bad neighborhood and should never walk outside at night. That being said we didn't encounter any real problems but were disappointed the owners weren't more forthcoming with that information for their guests. All in all the owners were very kind and gracious and we felt like we were staying with family, but the kind of family where you stay in a hotel when you visit instead of at their house!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyBoySB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I was travelling by myself and stayed for a week before heading for St. Croix. Liked the people there so much that I stayed there again on my return. The owners and staff made it such a pleasurable experience. Convenient walk (daytime only) to Frenchtown (good restaurant choices), safari buses and the seaplane terminal. Nice rooms at a very reasonable price. Stay 6 and the 7th is free. Their Promenade deck/bar has gorgeous views of the town and harbor and evening chats around the bar with other guests and staff were one of the highpoints of the tripl. If Chris is at the bar, try his 'St. Thomas Sunset'. You are in the center of town, so you'll hear the noise of the city if, like me, you prefer the windows open to air conditioning. You'll also may hear roosters in the morning, which cracked me up. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Miller Manor for two nights before a sailing trip in the region. Miller Manor offered a very nice, clean room with air conditioning and a beautiful, large balcony with an amazing view of the bay. But the best thing about Miller Manor are the people- the owners are wonderfully hospitable and we would like to give specific praise to Vicky. She was so nice to us after a long day of travel, and on our way out when WAY out of her way to help us make our ferry on time. Her kindness and service was truly above and beyond. We highly recommended Miller Manor for your stopover in St. Thomas.

The only downside I would like to comment on has nothing to do with the Manor itself but about Charlotte Amalie. We were surprised at how unsafe it feels there after sundown. We walked 3 blocks from Miller Manor to another hotel and felt very threatened and unsafe. A local woman even pulled her car over to tell us we should not be walking around. Also, the local restaurants close at 4:30pm because of the crime. I lived in New York City for five years and have traveled to many unsafe spots such as Nairobi and consider myself to be street smart and not easily spooked, but Charlotte Amalie is no place to walk at night.

Aside from this sad inconvenience I do highly recommend Miller Manor - you will be safe and well cared for there!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuori-Pista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Spent 3 nights here recently and found the owners pleasant to chat with and eager to make sure our stay was comfortable. When a water shortage became critical the owners bought water and provided it at no additional charge.

Room we had was comfortable with a/c refer microwave and tv and a nice balcony overlooking the harbor.

The view from the bar and terrace was wonderful and a great place to enjoy a drink after a day around the island. Collection of hummingbird feeders meant there were always a number of hummingbirds flying around.

Nice location for center of town attractions and easy access to public transportation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RASHERRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.1 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
707 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
421 reviews
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller Manor Guest House

Property: Miller Manor Guest House
Address: 2527 Prindsesse Gade | Usvi, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5502, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our casual accommodations are conveniently located within walking distance to ferries to other islands, historic sites, great duty free shopping, and easy transportation to some of the island's best beaches. We have fantastic views of the harbor and town from our hillside location. We offer clean and comfortable air conditioned rooms, a terrace bar for conversation and watching the activity in Charlotte Amalie's busy harbor, and complimentary continental breakfast. The Miller Manor offers a true family guesthouse atmosphere for a relaxing visit to St. Thomas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miller Manor Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Miller Manor Guest House St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing