We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, accomodating owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miller Manor Guest House
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Spent 3 nights here recently and found the owners pleasant to chat with and eager to make sure our stay was comfortable. When a water shortage became critical the owners bought water and provided it at no additional charge.

Room we had was comfortable with a/c refer microwave and tv and a nice balcony overlooking the harbor.

The view from the bar and terrace was wonderful and a great place to enjoy a drink after a day around the island. Collection of hummingbird feeders meant there were always a number of hummingbirds flying around.

Nice location for center of town attractions and easy access to public transportation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RASHERRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 173 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2012

Big kudos to the MM staff and owners for their friendly, down to earth hospitality. We stayed here on our way back to the states from the BVI's. We chose Miller Manor b/c of its close proximity to the airport and ferry terminal (5-10 minutes). This area of town is not upscale, but the location is very convenient. When we arrived we were warmly greeted and calmed with a free drink on the magnificent terrace(s) overlooking the harbor. We relaxed while watching the hummingbirds feed in the sunset and then walked 10 minutes down the hill to French Town where we ate at the Hook, Line & Sinker (great pastas, etc. made fresh).

A few tips: This is a historic Caribbean guest house, not an American-style resort. So don't be upset if there isn't an elevator, a spa, or full service restaurant.

The location is good as mentioned, but I would recommend keeping your wits about you if you decide to walk around the neighborhood at night - as you would anywhere when traveling outside of the safe confines of a private resort.

Also, apparently St. Thomas has been having major issues with its water system over the past couple months and all of the properties, including the giant Marriott, are having to import their water! Jeesh.Fortunately, Miller Manor has its own cistern and we didn't have any issues with this at all. I was also impressed by how clean the whole place is.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Otono76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Miller Manor for one night on our way to the British Virgin Islands during the Christmas season. Miller Manor is walking distance to the ferry dock and to Frenchtown, where our favorite restaurant is (Hook, Line & Sinker). The room was clean, cool at night and comfortable. We didn't make use of the kitchenette, though for a longer stay it would be a nice touch. The view from the deck outside our room was great. The staff was helpful, and we enjoyed petting the resident cats.

It's not a luxury hotel, but is a very welcoming, homey place, and I would recommend it to anyone who isn't demanding or high-maintenance.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoddessOfTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My wife and I just got back from a two and a half week trek through the Caribbean islands. We stayed 2 nights at the Miller Manor, from December 16th to December 18th. We had an absolute blast and would recommend this place for anyone looking for a clean room and a friendly atmosphere.

The good: Miller Manor is not far from the cruise terminal, but far enoguh to where the throngs of people disembarking for the day wont disturb your stay. The Manor is also almost directly across (and above) from a ferry station. Anyone could walk from the cruise terminal (about 15 minutes to 20 minutes walk) if that's how you are arriving to St. Thomas, however we took a taxi the first time since we didn't know where we were going (took about 5 minutes to drive there). Main street and French Town are also within walking distance. The room was large, had a fridge, AC, and all the amenities one would want or need. The room was clean. We had friendly service from all the folks who lived/worked at the Manor, and their bar offers affordable snacks and drinks. The hummingbird feeders, and the dozens of hummingbirds enjoying their sweet nectar, was also a joy to watch. The view from our room was spectacular as you could see the entire harbor from the balcony (this same view is offered at their bar as well). The entire property is accessed through a locked gate that guests are given keys to so if you are concerned about people wandering in from the street, that's not happening. That said, the neighborhood was nice and I never felt unsafe walking around at night.
The bad: Nothing "bad" to report on the part of Miller Manor. I've read other reviews complaining about rooster calls, so I would like to address the roosters which, for many not accustomed to their "sweet siren call", offer a rude awakening every morning. Roosters and chickens roam freely on nearly all the Caribbean islands that I visited, including St. Thomas. Contrary to popular belief (I grew up around them as a kid), roosters don't just crow in the early morning: they crow all day long. Anyway, this is nothing that could be controlled but Miller Manor any more than could cricket chirping be controlled by Miller Manor. If you are sensitive to rooster calls, either close your door or don't visit St. Thomas, because they are literally everywhere :-P

Bottom Line: I can't recommend the Miller Manor enough to anyone wanting to stay away from the crowds but close enough to all the action. Super friendly staff, all the amenities of home, bargain drinks and food, all at a great price.

Tips: Take a taxi to the Manor your first time arriving; it's up on a hill that has easy access to everything, once you know where it is. Walk everywhere once you get your bearings.
As was told to us by staff at the Manor, the "safari taxi" (the open aired taxi that holds about 12 - 18 people) will take you all over the island, and it only costs 1 buck, 2 if you "go over the hill", which essentially means if it takes you all the way across to the other side. There are stops all over, a few just down the hill from the Manor.
Although a ferry depot is within 5 minutes walking distance from the Manor, some of the places you may wish to go via ferry would cost you a lot less by hopping onto a safari taxi and taking it to Redhook. It will take you 15 - 20 minutes to get there, you'll see beautiful parts of the island along the way, experience some thrilling roads, and it will only cost you 2 bucks. You'll save 20 - 50 dollars on the higher ferry price (depending on where you are heading) sold at Charlotte Amalie. My wife and I were heading to St. John, and it was about 40 dollars more, per ticket, to get to St. John from Charlotte Amalie than it was from Red Hook, a 2 dollar taxi ride away. If you are heading to Tortola, then the ferry depot near the Manor is ideal and your best option.
There is a "local" convenience store just down and across the steps that take you up the hill to the Manor. Don't be afraid to go inside: they don't bite. They have snacks and drinks that you may wish to stock your fridge with, and they are your closest, most affordable option.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thepurplem0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is a great guest house for budget travelers like me. The owner and manager were very friendly and helpful. Location is strategic, with very very nice view of the harbor and cruise ships, 15 minutes walk to Frenchtown and 8 minutes walk to downtown shopping area. But the neighborhood failed to convince me that it is safe to walk around at night, especially when you are alone.

Room was generally clean (again this is a budget guest house), and the door has a few locks, probably because of theft problems. The roosters woke me up every single morning, but I was fine with that.

They have books, board games and snorkeling gears that you can check out. Also they have a bar and we were provided with a free drink during our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmdjackal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Stayed here overnight two years in a row, Great friendly place, we feel like family. Looking forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron-rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Yuck!! The room was hot & sticky ( the a/c barely worked), even the floor was sweating and there was a worm lying on it close to the bathroom. The furnishings were old & sparse and the bed sheets were black with holes in them! We wondered what kind of stains the black sheets were hiding. Their were various bugs & mosquitos flying around the room. The bathroom was antiquated with a very small sink and nowhere to set your toiletries down, because you sure didn't want to put them on the floor. We wore our water shoes in the shower for fear of getting athlete's foot. And the shower had no hot water.
When we first arrived, it was pouring down rain. The front desk had one of the guys show us to our room, but he didn't offer to carry even one of our suitcases down the many stairs in the rain!
Our plan was to stay one night here on the beginning and another at the end of a sailing trip. After that first night, we cancelled the second one and stayed at another hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShadeTreeAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm1942, Owner at Miller Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2011

To "stay somewhere else"
We are genuinely sorry that you had a bad experience at the Miller Manor! Had you said something to us, we would have gladly moved you to a different room, or happily refunded your money. As you can see, most of our reviews are very positive, a fact which gives us pride, and helps us to continue to get great guests. We're sorry we didn't get the chance to improve your experience. If you ever do decide to come back to St. Thomas, we'll do what we can to make it up to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.6 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Two Sandals by the Sea Inn - Bed & Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,462 reviews
1.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller Manor Guest House

Address: 2527 Prindsesse Gade | Usvi, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5502, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $75 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our casual accommodations are conveniently located within walking distance to ferries to other islands, historic sites, great duty free shopping, and easy transportation to some of the island's best beaches. We have fantastic views of the harbor and town from our hillside location. We offer clean and comfortable air conditioned rooms, a terrace bar for conversation and watching the activity in Charlotte Amalie's busy harbor, and complimentary continental breakfast. The Miller Manor offers a true family guesthouse atmosphere for a relaxing visit to St. Thomas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miller Manor Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Miller Manor Guest House St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing