We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Frustrating Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island View Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overall Frustrating Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We just returned from a 2 day stay at Island View. As a “glass half full” person, I can typically find positive aspects in most negative situations. Sadly, however, I found our stay at Island View extremely frustrating. Negative things just *kept* happening, and it ultimately became a bit ridiculous. Initially, we discovered that the sliding glass door to the room’s balcony/deck was in disrepair and would not open. Although we were assured someone would come fix it, that never happened. Next, we had no light bulbs above the bathroom sink. The last straw, however, was when we heard “rain” inside the room. Upon entering the bathroom, we saw water pouring out of the shower’s light fixture. Luckily, the light was not on, as this could have been a dangerous situation. As we tried to remove our personal items from the bathroom, several ceiling tiles collapsed due to the leak and fell to the floor. Again, we were relieved that no one was standing directly under them at the time they fell.

More disappointing than the disrepair of our room was the poor customer service we encountered afterward. Several comments from the owners/staff included: “Luckily, it was just a leak from the room upstairs and won’t cost a lot to fix.” and “So sorry, we might be able to get you another room later on today”. Quite honestly, the owners seemed more concerned with how much their repairs would cost and their own inconvenience. Considering that the bathroom was unusable and that our personal belongings were all wet, we were hoping for a bit more attention to the solution. Once our room was changed, we were given a reduced rate, but only after we asked for it. There were many opportunities for the owners to offer this, but we were ultimately put in the awkward position of asking for a reduction in our nightly room cost. This seemed more than reasonable, considering that our room was not usable. The owners are very personable, but I’m not sure that they are skilled at what it takes to run a business.

The upside was that there is a great honor bar and the dinner was fantastic. I won’t return to Island View again. If I did, however, it would be for dinner and definitely not a room!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandviewstthomas, Owner at Island View Guest House, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Anyone one would agree, this is a Guest House owner's worst nightmare. Ron & I have been working on a much needed remodel of six bathrooms this summer for our upcoming season and had guests who had a disappointing stay with us shortly after our major construction. It was an unfortunate & regrettable accident with a leak from a shower above. We were very sorry and had hoped compensating their room would show our sincere apology. Our biggest regret, these guests did not get our best. We will continue to add the finishing touches.
Sincerely,
Ron & Beth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    43
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
36
115
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We used Island View as a start and end point for our week long trip to Tortola. There were 4 of us staying. The first night we shared one room because 2 of our group were flying in at different times and arriving late. So we opted to the provided air mattress for the night. When we arrived it was beyond hot in St Thomas and we were just ready for some cool air. Found out the A/C didn't work in our unit and there was little breeze with all windows and sliding door open. The owners gave us a fan which helped a little, but it was still a minimal sleep night.

On the return visit, we stayed 2 nights and it really just killed a great trip. The owners are attempting to renovate so the bathrooms look great. But the rooms are in a state of "not quite done". So many things just weren't what we expected for the price. We had 2 rooms this time and our friends room had a leak in the ceiling and the ceiling tiles collapsed on them in the middle of the night with water and dirt/debris covering everything in the bathroom including their personal items. There were several things missing in the room as well. Our room seemed to be ok, but on further inspection was full of tiny ants. When we went to check out, the owners apologized for the problems, but we actually had to ask for a reduction of our bill based on the problems we experienced.

The good stuff:
Great honor bar that is fully stocked
The staff is great and you will soon feel like family
The food is outstanding and makes me think they should really just open a restaurant. Best steak we have ever eaten!

This place is under renovation so if you are willing to put up outlets without covers, bugs in your room and refrigerators that don't get cold, this might be your place. But we won't be back.

Room Tip: We had 3 different rooms, none were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDivaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Prepare yourself for an amazing time. The grounds are well kept with native plants and large trees. You are personally greeted and treated as a V.I.P by a dedicated staff. You are only a short distance from the Airport, Nisky Center and the Shopping District. Your view includes the yacht club and the docking of the daily cruise ships. You can watch the sea planes take off and land nearby. In the evening, you can see the lights of the Island and enjoy the sea air. This Guest House is a quiet, clean and private home away from home. Ron and Beth are personable and they are always willing to share their knowledge of the area. The friendly staff will extend the red carpet to you.

Room Tip: Room 14 is large and freshly painted. The newly tiled bath area is beautiful and it is well thought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I cut short our sailing trip with friends because I became ill. Beth and Ron were able to let us check in 2 days early, and recommended a doctor who was wonderfully kind and helpful. I settled gratefully into the king size bed with immaculate sheets, and enjoyed the lovely view from the balcony, which I could see while propped up in bed. The staff provided sandwiches for us in addition to breakfast. When our friends arrived, they agreed that this is a beautiful and friendly place to stay on St. Thomas. Our dinner on the last night before we flew home was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

This B & B is located with a wonderful view of Charlotte Amalie from the terrace and some rooms. Friendly and helpful hosts, and we can especially recommend the barbecue. It is not suitable for handicapped people. It takes 15 min. going down the hill and into town. Breakfast is OK and there's a nice atmosphere. The rooms are bright and friendly, some have a small kitchen with fridge.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I did not stay at the Island View Guesthouse, but a local had taken me to dinner there and it was amazing. The view overlooking the city as well as the amazing tasting food (I take credit for the drinks myself since I made them in their well stocked honor bar) were not to be compared with the friendliness and great conversation I had with the staff and owners that make sure you have nothing but a smile on your face from the moment you walk in till the moment you leave!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

While I did not stay at the Island View, I did have a great dinner there! I was on St Thomas working for a friend who had visited Island View before. I bring this up, because we were greeted like old friends by Ron and Beth when we arrived. They could not be nicer people and they make sure that you are taken care of. From the honor bar to the self service salad bar, this place has a very laid back vibe. The food was excellent and easily one of the (if not the) best meals I had on the island. It was the last night of Carnival when we were there, so we got to enjoy after dinner drinks while watching the Carnival fireworks display. Amazing!

If you're looking for a great meal, a great view, and great people.... this is the place! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
1.5 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
1.1 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Guest House

Property: Island View Guest House
Address: 332 Scott Free Rd. Contant, Charlotte Amalie 00803-1903, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Island View Guesthouse Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Island View Guest House St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing