We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Awesome place to lay your head and island hop”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island View Guest House
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Short version: This was a great place to rest our heads at night while island hopping. Ron and Beth are amazing hosts, full of knowledge and advice. It's almost as if you're staying with relatives. The common area (restaurant, lounge, honor bar, etc) is beautiful and the grounds are full of beautiful plants, Gecko and Iguanas. It's like something out of a novel. About 12-rooms (if I remember correctly). Bottom line - if you're reading this, you're considering staying. If you have any doubts - put them at ease; you'll love it.

Oh – and we LOVED that everywhere we went on the island, when people asked “Where are you staying” – we could respond “Island View Guesthouse” and not only was it universally known – it was universally praised.

For fussy people needing more info :) :

What else we loved:

Honor Bar - a great idea and very reasonable. Breakfast - a very nice selection of cereal, bagels, etc. Juice, milk and coffee. Also - Presidente' Pilsner! MMMmmm! Value – for the money we paid – we couldn’t have asked for more.

Ron and Beth (*and the staff*). They're so knowledgeable about the island (etc) because, well, it's their home. They're always willing to offer advice or a story.

Beds: we had a comfortable king sized bed, clean sheets, and a nice ceiling fan and gentle ocean breeze - only two pillows in our particular room (for those of you who expect more).

Balcony: two chairs, a table, and a spectacular view.

Shower: The showers are pretty basic - they get you clean and there's plenty of hot water. The pressure is a little low (by mainland standards) but they get the job done.

Parking: We never had an issue with parking, but if you're there on a Saturday night - the local's come up for some of Ron's famous cooking...so the parking lot gets a little tight.

Noise? - Ok - so there are roosters on the island who crow and there is a little road below that requires occasional "toots" to warn of oncoming traffic. Very minor issues. If you're looking for total solitude - go to the desert - islands are small. We slept like logs (thanks to the "Painkillers" (local favorite rum drink). Most of the time, it's just island sounds. The airport is nearby but we never heard a peep.

Location: GREAT location. Awesome view of Charlotte Amale from above.

Other advice for St. Thomas:

RENT A CAR no matter where you stay - I got a Jeep from Budget for just under $300 for the week. It was worth every penny. Does that sound like a lot? Well - then pay $40 per taxi ride, stay there a week - and get back to me. :) I'm guessing you'll agree $300 is "cheap".

The whole island is like a paved roller coaster. At "IVGH" you're no more than 30-min from any part of the island. A word of advice - get on the road before the cruise ships debark.

Value: We found it very reasonable when compared to other locations. You could stay at the Marriott - but that's totally different than a guesthouse...it's a different experience (and it'll cost you 2x as much). This place, to me - was a great value for the cost. I'm usually a high-end hotel guy - but I'll stay here again on our next trip. You're not picking this place because it's a resort - you pick it because the owners and staff are awesome - and because it's a clean, safe, comfortable place to rest your head.

Room Tip: Get the balcony. Pics below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Darth_JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 236 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2011

There isn't enough space to describe how wonderful this place was. Island View Guest House was our first stop after getting married at the Wyndham Sugar Bay on St. Thomas.

The view itself at Island View is enough to leave you breathless. We awoke every morning to the most incredible, picturesque sunrise. But that's just the beginning of this AMAZING adventure. The staff of the Island View go out of their way to make your stay memorable. Owners Ron and Beth treated us like family--the ones that actually like you! On one of their busier (grocery shopping) days, they took the time to take us out for a private tour of Buck Island/Turtle Cove on Ron's boat for the morning. Knowing our love of nature, Ron pointed out different flowers and animals around the facility. They loaned us snorkel gear, beach towels, sunscreen, bug spray---and even let us keep our supplies for the week after, when we went to St. John.

Our room was cleaned impeccably every day. The continental breakfast was MORE than enough, from cereal to bagels to even banana bread, fresh coffee, juice, milk. It got us going! Outside the guest house is a veritable nature garden with sugar bird feeders. The resident cats are friendly and outgoing.

This place was our favorite of everywhere we stayed during our 2 weeks in the U.S.V.I. You never know what you'll get when you book online, but tripadvisor was reliable and we now know why Island View got such high ratings!

Room Tip: We were in Room 5. Ask for it. Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ericadanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

STAY HERE!! Ron and Beth are so accommodating, there is absolutely nothing that they will not do for you, if it is at ALL possible. Good advice on where to go, what to see, what to buy, how to get there! Flexibility is their middle name....if you are stuck, or your flight is cancelled, they will either find a room for you or help you find one.
Personally, I loved the Honor Bar, the view, the communal eating area with a view, and the heavenly bed!!!!

Room Tip: Quiet. A view of the harbor. A kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Obsessed_Dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

This is not the Ritz but, if you are looking a clean, relaxing place to stay with people that will do anything possible to make you feel at home this is place for you. We spent one trip during a hurricane ( I forget the name) last year and had a blast with the other guests and owners.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamiesmomnewhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

All the positive things you read about Island View are true. Ron and Beth were wonderful hosts. The staffmembers are warm, friendly, and helpful. It is a very comfortable relaxing place to stay with a beautiful view of the main harbor, especially at night. Yes the steak dinner is fabulous, Ron sure knows what he is doing. We had a great snorkeling trip with Ron, Beth and three other couples that came with a great lunch from a local deli. Leave it to midwesterners to bring good hospitality to the caribbean. My wife and I would deffinately stay there again when we are in the area. Thank you again Ron and Beth for everything while we were there, we really appreciated it all.
From Dan and Dawn.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank disorientedlabrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Looking so forward to our next stay, here at the end of march, were gonna try, god willing and the creek doesn't rise, to make this our getaway every year. So much better then going on the ships, Ron and Beth are the best, and always with the warmest of hospitality and mouth watering home cooking. Had the best time with Ron's boat excursions, defiantly personal, and exciting , with two thumbs up.
The view, accommodations, awesome.
TY again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ernielord3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

By trade I'm a full time event planner, so my job is to plan other's vacations. My fiance and I came down to the USVI a few days early for our own vacation before the group arrived. We chose the Island View Guesthouse based on a little research and recommendation from a friend on St John Island. Over the past 3 days Ron and Beth have made our stay every bit of a vacation.

Every Thursday-Saturday night Ron "fires up his office" (the grill) and you can dine in for far cheaper (and better quality) than it would cost to pay for a taxi and dine out.

If you get to know Ron and Beth, they'll treat you like family. And don't forget to talk to your fellow guests... It could get you an invite on their sailboat or an included on a snorkel adventure!

When I come back, Ron and Beth will get my call (that includes for work and personal travels).

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeamGreenKeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
1.5 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
1.1 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
72 reviews
2.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,462 reviews
1.6 mi away
Midtown Guest House
Midtown Guest House
#12 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
24 reviews
1.6 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Guest House

Address: 332 Scott Free Rd. Contant, Charlotte Amalie 00803-1903, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $115 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Island View Guesthouse Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Island View Guest House St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing