We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For decades, it's been a comfort to return to.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Beachcomber Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Bridgeport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For decades, it's been a comfort to return to.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2005

My first visit was in 1971. I have tried to return at least once every year or two. In the world of high-rise and pretentious grand resorts (from those like what you find in Vegas to the Tapa Tower at Hilton Hawaiian Village) it is nice to be able to truly relax in a functional Garden-of-Eden. Having stayed at other hotels, as well as those on other local islands (including Caneel Bay), there is a comfort, pace, and sense of family warmth that is unique. Many copies have been attempted over the years, they simply do not have the "flavor". Whether a family trip, romantic escape, or "near-nervous-breakdown-executive-on-the-edge-need-to-get-away", from the moment you check in, and pass within it's confines, the outside world disappears.

  • Stayed January 2003
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TA999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    98
    66
    47
    45
See reviews for
69
108
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2005

I loved the view of the beach and the location, which is very close to the airport. Needless to say, my affinity for the hotel ended on the second day. I found a huge cockroach (the size of my hand) in the closet and two more in the bathroom. The person next door to my room also had cockroaches. When we went to the front office, the desk person told us that she would have housekeeping spray. Thankfully, I was on a business trip and was leaving the hotel. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlotte Amalie hotels

Langley, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2005

This hotels grows on you after the initial shock of discovering that it is right next to the airport. In fact you will get airliners taking off most of the afternoon and they will bank out to sea right over the beach. The hotel is about three quarters down the runway and maybe 150 yards away from it by which time the planes are already in the air.
But it is on the beach with a basic but nice room and bath. And the price is good. You can step out from the room into the beach. The staff was good. My wife had left some things in the room and we received them 2-3 weeks after making a call to inquire whether they had found them. Initially they said no but then we received the surprise package.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Langley-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2004

We just returned from a wonderful trip to St. Thomas and St. John- we spent five nights at the Island Beachcomber. I made the reservations after reading the previous postings since they were so good.

I have to say, in all its a good value hotel that has a nice beach right outside the door.

There are some negatives though, the airport is right there, so the noise at the middle of the day is very loud. They have coffee makers in the room with no coffee! They also have a roach problem (now, I think many places there do no matter what price range you are looking for since its so tropical) I discovered one at 3:30 am the day we left, fortunately... Also, the bed linens and towels should really be replaced, they seem very old.

The outside bar is nice and the restaurant is too... try the banana pancakes! (but don't expect too many coffee refills)

We would go back there if we go to St. Thomas again!

Helpful?
7 Thank Audrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2004

This hotel is the most enchanting little place on the island, it is very quaint, w/topical decor, ceiling fans, and cool tiled floors, as well as air-conditioning.
Everything you need is right there, beach, gorgeous scenery, white sand, and beautiful blue water, resturant, beachside bar. If you need to get away to relax this is the perfect spot. The rates are so affordable you can really enjoy staying a few extra days. This is the best value on the island of St. Thomas.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2004

Perfect place to stay to be on a beautiful Caribbean beach with beautiful aqua blue waters and tiny angel fish swimming all around. Good snorkeling too.
Great shuttle service to town and great beach bar!
You will want to come back again and again! We do.

Helpful?
3 Thank jennyo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2004

My fiance and I went to St. Thomas in November 2003. I found the Island Beachcomber on the web and decided to book it because of the reasonable price and location. We loved it! It's nothing fancy but for the amount of money we paid, it can't be beat! We had a beach front room which was great. There was spectacular snorkeling right outside the hotel and every night we fell asleep to the sound of the surf. The restaurant on site was convenient and the food was good. In terms of service - remember, you're on "island time" here... things move at a more relaxed pace, so do yourself a favor and just try to enjoy the moment... :-)

We were very pleased with our stay at the Beachcomber and would definitely come back. If you're used to staying at places like The Westin or Ritz Carlton, this isn't the place for you. However, if you're looking for a relaxed atmosphere and a great location, I definitely recommend Beachcomber!

(Oh and a little FYI - the taxi system on the island is very convenient and much cheaper than renting a car!!)

Helpful?
7 Thank Raziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.5 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
2.0 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
7.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
3.0 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Beachcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Beachcomber Hotel

Property: Island Beachcomber Hotel
Address: 8071 Lindberg Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5901, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Beachcomber Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Island Beachcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Island Beachcomber
Island Beachcomber Charlotte Amalie
Island Beachcomber Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing