We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Yes a little old, but has advantages” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Island Beachcomber Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Alabama USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Yes a little old, but has advantages”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel about 8 times since 1992. Don't expect a lot of amenities or luxury. My room has always been clean, looks like a budget hotel you find along the highway anywhere, and it is next to the airport. The airport noise is not constant all day long, at night there are no airplanes.They have a good breakfast(tall stack pancakes$ 8.00 with real blueberries not the chemical berries you usually find) The bar is a lot of fun. I have always got the beachfront room three steps you are on the beach. Great beach, water is great to swim, usually not rough, children will love it.I would recommend this place, just don't expect a lot. The price is cheap as compared to other hotels in the area, There are two previous reviews that hit the nail right on the head when they said, kinda funky and it gets the job done. Save your money and take a all day boat trip

Room Tip: Beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IrishDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    86
    55
    42
    42
See reviews for
61
88
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Island Beachcomber is one of my favorite island get-aways, and I always ask for a Beachfront King room, which from my patio is 3 steps to the beach and less than 15 steps to the warm beautiful water. It isn't the fancy upscale hotel, but the people working there have been there forever and remember me when I go there, especially a lovely waitress who was there on my first trip in 1980. The price is reasonable if you go in November and a little higher in high season, but the kingsize bed is comfortable. There is a coffee maker, small frig and a microwave in the room, confortable chairs, ample closet space and the bathroom would be better with bigger towels and a double sink. It has a shower that is also kind of small, but the beach and the restaurant and the bar make the stay a real winner. I've been going there since 1980, and have stayed alone, and traveled with friends. They loved it too. I'm sorry to read in the other reviews that one discovered bugs (yikes), It is near the airport but as a former pilot, I enjoyed being awakened by the sound of a jet coming in or going out.

Room Tip: If you're a couple opt for the Beachfront King rooms. Most other rooms have two double beds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bracolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place is in need of renovations long long ago. This would be fine, except they charge $150/nt for a room that is run down, and had bugs. I've stayed at many older budget hotels, they can still be clean. The price should match that as well. The staff was friendly. They also claim to have free wifi. This is only true if you sit out at the bar.

Room Tip: For another $10 go stay at one of the resorts on the other side of the island. We stayed here becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nurshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlotte Amalie hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed her for one night because our rental villa in St. John did not begin until the next day and were looking for an overnight stay that didn't break the bank. Indeed the price was right compared to the alternatives. Overall we felt we got good value and a nice beachfront for the time there.
The first thing you have to know is this is next to the airport. I don't mean near the airport, I mean literally right next to it. So, be ready for plane noise that sounds like there might be a landing on the roof of the hotel. Two things on this- first, the planes only arrive and depart during the day so you kind of get used to it; second, you might consider walking to and from the airport if you don't have too much luggage.
The room (beachfront king) was just adequate (at best) and maintenance was needed (i.e. air conditioner controls didn't work). The saving grace was being right on the beach, with a little sitting area in front of our room. The beach was nice and is shared with the adjacent Best Western.
The staff was friendly and helpful (with the exception of a truculent waitress at breakfast) and the food was surprisingly good at the on site restaurant. The guests seemed to be mainly from Europe (Holland especially) and there was a nice mix of interesting people at the hotel when we were there. I walked to the nearby University of the Virgin Islands which has a nice campus to walk but a little grim walk getting there. Charlotte Amalie is a short ride away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had the unfortunate luck of having our flight cancelled when we were in St. Thomas. American Airlines provided us with a voucher for a one night stay in this place, however we ended up checking out and staying at the Best Western next door. The hotel looked rundown as soon as we saw the reception, but we thought that it was only for one night so as long as it was clean it would be okay. Well it was far from clean, the shower still had the used soap from the people who had stayed her the night before there was still urine in the toilet and hair on the toilet seat. My wife and I wiped things down and threw away the soap. We decided to go to the bar in an effort to stay awy from the room as long as possible since it was just dirty. The bartender Denita was the only good part of this hotel, she was welcoming and a really good bartender, unfortunately she works at this place. After being at the bar we walked down to the beach which was beautiful, but that is just because it was St. Thomas it had nothing to do with the hotel. We ended up returning to the bar area to have a few more drinks when it began to rain and ended up having dinner. Then it was finally time to go back to the room to sleep, we were looking through TripAdvisor and saw that people warned about the roaches which made us very weary. We walked up to the room and decided to look in between the sheets before laying down to go to sleep, to our surprise we didn't only see 1 but 2 giant roaches in between the sheets. This was our limit, we were not going to sleep in a roach infested bed. We walked to the Best Western next door to see if they had availability, my wife asked the front desk at Best Western, "You guys don't have roaches right?", the front desk agent laughed and said, "Let me guess you are coming from next door, this happens all the time." Once getting a room we went back to the Beachcomber to grab our stuff and checkout. The front desk agent was super rude when I told her we wanted to check out and was rolling her eyes at me when I told her about the roaches. Overall, I hated this hotel but I am glad that we did not pay for the night. Although we ended up having to pay a few hundred dollars to stay at the Best Western, an expense that we hadn't planned for, we were happy we did because at least it was clean and it gave us peace of mind.

This hotel/motel has potential, it is in a beautiful location but it needs a major renovation and cleaning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Third stay at this wonderful older-style beach hotel. Yes, the rooms are dated, but they have always (in my experience) been clean and well-kept. The beach bar is a great place to hang out and the staff ( and other visitors) are friendly and sociable. The beach is clean and pretty, such a nice view from most of the rooms, with their cosy terraces. The menu is basic but the food good, no reason to go hungry here...there's something for most tastes.
Will be back again in afew months - it's definitely the best place to wait for an early morning flight out, or unwind after a late arrival on island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Neddick, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

On our way to the BVI's we stayed at the Beachcomber. After landing at the airport, we headed over to the hotel, changed into our shorts and met our friends at the bar which is right on the water. We sat right there from 3:00 PM until closing! Great way to start the vacation. The bar staff was friendly, the drinks were great and you can't beat the view. We also had dinner and the food was just okay. We had a room in the older part of the hotel. The room itself was pretty bad. Very thin walls. On one side of me I could hear someone snoring most of the night. On the other side, someone was coughing most of the night. But again, the view was great and we were right on the beach. At then end of our vacation, we came back for one night. This time we got a room in a newer part of the hotel. This room was much cleaner. However, there are no elevators and our room was on the 2nd floor. It wasn't fun carrying our luggage up stairs. Also keep in mind this place is right next to the airport. During the day it can be very noisy. I would come back though and overall I would recommend the Beachcomber.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.5 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#2 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
2.0 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
0.1 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 stars 1,454 reviews
3.0 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Beachcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Beachcomber Hotel

Property: Island Beachcomber Hotel
Address: 8071 Lindberg Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5901, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Beachcomber Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Island Beachcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Island Beachcomber
Island Beachcomber Charlotte Amalie
Island Beachcomber Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing