We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i love it regardless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Beachcomber Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“i love it regardless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

i had a serious great time the few days i stayed there.... the staff is great and the owners were so awesome.. i didnt'really care about the plane noise or "how my room looked" i simply enjoyed the hospitalty of it all.... i will be returning with no complaints ... as i would say "your on island time... leave the trivial behaviour at home"....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abellevoyagetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    86
    55
    42
    40
See reviews for
61
88
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I am SAD to read in the Virgin Island Daily News 2/21/2013 that negotiation are underway for a take over of the Beachcomber. I have been vacationing at the hotel since 1985. Staff has always been very accommodating. Who could ask for a nicer beach. True the rooms weren't "fancy", but mine was always clean. I liked it because of its island charm. Its a part of the islands history. What a shame it will probably be tunred into just another fancy place to stay. With out the island charm or friendlyness. Well at least I can have my great memories, of the great staff and the Resch family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HappyTravelerVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived our rooms weren't ready, they lost the reservation for one of our two rooms so I was forced to share with the person I had to travel with. The door to the room looked like it had been kicked in. So close to the runway at the airport, every time a plane landed my headboard shook. Roaches in our room were big enough to steal the soap from the shower. Beach on the property was nice. Never again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frequentflyr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlotte Amalie hotels

Bountiful,Ut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have been staying here off and on since 1995. We stopped staying here after Rebecca took over and the price went thru the roof. The last trip we paid $127 inc tax. Anything over $200 is not worth it. Some of our group paid $188 for an upgraded room and were given Rms 124-125, which face a wall of the Emerald Beach and need to be upgraded.
The staff here is wonderful if you treat them with respect and are very accommodating. Our room was clean and comfortable. The beach and beach bar are great. The restaurant has new servers who are warm and wonderful.
It was nice to return and will plan to stay here after our charters again.

Room Tip: We prefer Rooms 100-104. You get the feel of a beach room without the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It is hard for me to believe the positive feedback posted here. This place is close to the airport, walkable in fact. But, don't book it just because of location or value. My sheets were stained, the shower was peeling, the water was cold. The check in staff, although friendly, was misinformed (you can't be at the airport 2 hours early for your 7:30am flight if the airport doesn't open until 6:30, right?) Simply put, it's a dive. Book elsewhere because you won't feel safe - you'll probably sleep with one eye open.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoginimama454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very close to the airport, but not worth staying there...you wont feel confortable. If you're a non smoker, then the constant smell of smoke in the room will drive you knuts!! Very out-dated hotel...no lobby area and only like a "holding room" for you to check in...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisalisaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for a whole month. The hotel is incredible. It is older than alot of the resorts here, but it has character and the people that work there are the most friendly people on earth. They are located on Emerald beach, have a cute beach bar and a fantastic resturant. Teresa, the ladies at the front desk, the housekeeping staff and Michael Jr. are the best. Please take our advice and give this wonderful hidden treasure a try! Keith and Lee Ann Gates

Room Tip: they have alot of cute ones right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee ann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.5 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#2 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
7.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 stars 1,384 reviews
3.0 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Beachcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Beachcomber Hotel

Property: Island Beachcomber Hotel
Address: 8071 Lindberg Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5901, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Beachcomber Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Island Beachcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Island Beachcomber
Island Beachcomber Charlotte Amalie
Island Beachcomber Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing