We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Beachcomber Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed here with four adults (60, 27, 27, 24) for a 4 day weekend. We chose it because we had stayed on Lindbergh Bay for other weekends, but never at the Island Beachcomber. The BW Carib wasn't available and the BW Emerald resort was very pricey - over $100 more per night. We had been to the Island Beachcomber for meals and their great bar, but had never stayed there. We were pleasantly surprised with our stay. Although we arrived before check-in time, we were offered a family suite at no extra charge, which consisted of two double beds and a futon bed. It was perfect for us and quite a large room. The bathroom was huge and clean, although there were signs of rust and aging. If you want a reasonably priced room (by STT standards), on the beach, within walking distance of the hotel (save on cab fares) and a decent, clean room, this place is perfect. If you want luxury, go elsewhere. Did I mention how beautiful the foliage is? Many Scandanavians stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbarney51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    98
    66
    47
    45
See reviews for
69
108
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I were coming back from a week of sailing in the BVIs and were looking for a place near the airport, on the beach. I did a lot of research and decided on the Island Beach Comber, as it seem to have more flair than other hotels on that beach. I was a bit irritated by some reviews, but luckily they turned out to be completely wrong. The staff was very friendly, we had a warm welcome and were shown 2 rooms, to pick one from. Both were beautiful, overlooking the beach. The bed was fantastic, after a week at the boat. The room was extremely clean. The beach was directly in front of the room and we watched the sunset from our balcony with a painkiller from the cocktail bar.
We both loved that last day of our trip and would highly recommend the place to everybody who is laid-back, in search of a place with a personal touch.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

The place is run down and dirty & we found spiders and cock roaches in our room and it seems the place is run by idiots who do not care about their guests. I arrange 8 to 10 treasure hunting adventures a year. This time I booked airfare and hotel trough Orbitz. I was pleased with Orbitz. However the Island Beachcomber people were rude and crude.
Because 2 in the party were coming from different areas in US, I booked room for 2 and called & asked for 2 rollaway cots to be added and I'd pay difference. We never got what we reserved and the staff, including the general manager & the idiot who runs the place were unfriendly, incorporating and really nasty to us.
When bill was presented it was wrong & in our favor and I tried to correct it I was again rudely treated. If you are old and looking to save a buck and do not mind spiders, cock roaches , sometimes no hot water and a unfriendly staff, the Island Beachcomber is for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seahunter361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlotte Amalie hotels

Edgartown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

My family and I stayed here only one night before our early morning flight. We wished we could have stayed longer. The beds were very comfortable, the towels generous and the room clean. Best of all, the food was wonderful. Maura was our server for lunch and she welcomed us warmly. We ate huge burgers for lunch and decided to split 2 meals for the four of us for a late dinner. The food was delicious and plenty for us. Maura cooked up a lobster mac & cheese and a pork dish. Yum. The beach is beautiful and the gentleman who manages the beach (with chairs) was pleasant and very helpful when my daughter was stung by a jellyfish. This did not prevent her from going back in for a swim in the sparkling clear water. The bartender made the best bushwackers - my daughter loved them! The reservation woman who greeted us when we walked in several hours early - made us feel so welcomed and got us in our room early. We walked to the airport with our bags in tow. It was a nice walk - took only five minutes. We will be sure to stay longer next year!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VineyardKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We could hear the waves break as we slept which I loved but we could also hear the planes since it was so close to the airport. We paid $154.80 for 1 night.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A-JoyAyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We finished up the delivery of a saiboat from Florida and anchored in Lindberg Bay right off the beach. It is an easy walk to the airport from here.

We found the folks here friendly and accomodating, we've been here several times in the past and that has always been our experience. The bar is a busy and friendly place with an interesting mix of people. The beach is great.

The economy here is struggling and we were disappointed to discover the restaurant was closing early and the menu was very limited. We left, not angry, to a busier place with hopes business would pick up for them and keep them in operation.

Room Tip: This is a perfect place to arrive or depart from if you are going down island from St. Thomas or tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Bed,beach,bar...awesome!! This is the greatest place to STAY!! No need to go out..just relax.
Staff were more than accomodating,very pleasant and the food was awesome!!! Best place to "Live well,laugh often and love much"!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.5 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
2.0 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
7.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
3.0 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Beachcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Beachcomber Hotel

Property: Island Beachcomber Hotel
Address: 8071 Lindberg Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5901, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Beachcomber Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Island Beachcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Island Beachcomber
Island Beachcomber Charlotte Amalie
Island Beachcomber Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing