We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mafolie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mafolie Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean and Reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is a nice hotel for a reasonable price. My family stayed here for 1 night on our way home from St. John. The view is great, but I would not recommend spending an entire vacation here because it is very removed from the beaches and town (unless that is what you want).

A good part is that the restaurant at the hotel is excellent, and everyone is extremely polite and service oriented.

Be aware, the hotel is CLOSED from Aug. 17 - Nov. 1, 2014.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    177
    78
    23
    34
See reviews for
79
290
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel and restaurant provided my family and I with the most wonderful vacation. The property is gorgeous, with stunning views of St. Thomas' harbor, neighboring islands, and city below. Tucked up high in the hills, this property is designed seamlessly into the cityscape so that guests can roam freely and comfortably while having an incredible view from every vantage point! We spent the entire day by the pool, sipping on drinks from the bar and looking out at the gorgeous city below. The restaurant had the most delicious cuisine and a variety of different options for all of the picky eaters in my party (vegan, vegetarian, children etc.) ! I cannot wait until my next visit at this quality hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: Some rooms are higher up than others…the higher you are in the properly, the more impressive the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed here for one night after spending some time on St. John in July 2014. The service was very friendly and accommodating. Our room had a lovely view of the harbor. We spent a serene day by the pool and had a great panini at the poolside lunch spot. The restaurant has a beautiful view and served delicious food. A cheerful, peaceful place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJW2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days with a family of five. The room had a mini-fridge and continental breakfast cut down on our cost extensively. The restaurant was great with helping with things we needed. The view was spectacular! The room came with a king size bed and a pull out futon which was more than enough space. We did lots of comparing before our stay and we were happy with our choice.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank skillcutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, TN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed for 1 night on our way home from a week in the BVI's and it was great. Lisa at the front desk was super helpful, Rosie at the pool bar was great and I could talk to her all day, Brian at the bar and Liz our server, were great for our dinner. The food was wonderful! The room was clean and very spacious. The views here are the real specialty...amazing during the day, but WOW!!! at night. I would stay here again in a heartbeat...thanks to the whole Mafolie team!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCeyecandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Great view from room 111. There is a canopy over the bed. I will include photos of view from room with review. Internet was not available in this room, but is in most other rooms due to the concrete walls. There is a public computer right outside of the room, as well as a Keurig. 15 min walk to downtown on very steep, dangerous roads that are navigated by psychotic and reckless drivers. Don't plan on walking up the hill back to the room unless you are a triathlete. The restaurant here is expensive (NYC prices) like everything else on this island, but the food is tasty.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saldanais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Our yacht broker recommended this hotel and we are glad she did. It's a small and quaint hotel perched high over the harbor. We stayed in four different rooms and all had great views. This is an older building and it shows some age but we prefer to think of it as character. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The drinks at the bar are great and inexpensive and the bar tender was really fun to talk with. Pool is great and it has the view too!

I have no problem recommending this hotel for anyone that values the view over a new looking room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkkD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
5.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.7 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mafolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mafolie Hotel

Property: Mafolie Hotel
Address: 7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3419, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mafolie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mafolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mafolie Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing