We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of Mafolie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mafolie Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2014

After a fun week of sailing we stayed at the Mafolie for one night to semi recover. We chose it for the view, the pool and the restaurant reviews. On those points the hotel worked really well for us. On the other hand there were several things that took away from the experience.
In the bathroom the screen was missing from the window and you could not close it. At the restaurant we were seated late, we later found out they were trying to give us a better view, but the the wait staff was very slow to getting to us. Over a twenty minute wait. After we got someone they were attentive and the food was excellent!
Overall this hotel worked for us but with a little effort could really be good !

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sctravelinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 574 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had a great stay at the Mafolie Hotel. The service was great. The views are incredible from the rooms our group had. The group enjoyed the pool too! The rooms are eclectic and different which was different compared to traditional hotels. Though the hotel is not convenient to walking to downtown, the cost to get a taxi is small. The rooms were very comfortable. Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that will have air conditioning for all areas. Some rooms have AC in the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDM_BSA_Venture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at the Outrigger House and our Daughters wedding was there. For a Gift we sent the Bride and Groom to the Mafolie on their wedding night. What a perfect place to choose!!! The staff was wonderful, they spread flowers in the shape of a heart on the bed and had chilled champagne waiting for them. 5 star rating is not enough for the Mafolie...They stole all of our hearts. THANK YOU MAFOLIE!!!!! It was perfect :-)

Room Tip: The suites are Excellent! The view is priceless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Mafolie Hotel at Mafolie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you for the great review! Glad you enjoyed the flower arrangement as much as I enjoyed creating it!

Greatly appreciated,

Lisa
Front Desk Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place is a rare gem. It's not modern, it's not 5 star, but it's full of character. The service was fabulous. The rooms were quaint. The restaurant was delicious. The view was PRICELESS. We spend an incredibly romantic evening in room 111. The room contains a rustic canopy bed and a view of paradise. We laid in the bed upside down so we could gaze out the window all night long. If you have an opportunity to stay in the Mafolie, don't miss out.

Room Tip: Room 111 is charming and incredibly romantic. Room 102 has a beautiful balcony overlooking paradise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 4ManFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

As other reviewers state, this hotel is high up the hill above the old town and walking down is not an option (you would need a taxi). Not interested in shopping, we spent two restful nights up there and a full lazy day by the pool before boarding a charter boat, which was the purpose of our trip.
This delightful place is built on several levels on a very steep lot and you must expect climbing up and down outdoor stone stairs (not a problem for us, but surely a big challenge to handicapped people). The view from is yes, day and night spectacular. The building itself shows its age, but is well maintained and has lots of charm. The pool is just big enough to really swim. For a great price our room (#17) was comfortable, quiet and extremely roomy, and even had a little private terrace. We took our breakfasts and dinners at the restaurant (you won't find restaurants nor shops of any kind in the neighborhood) and had simple lunches at the pool. The food, the service, the atmosphere and, again, the stunning view made us very happy.
Everyone working there is very nice with a friendly, informal demeanor, and eager to help efficiently. I strongly recommend Mafolie if you want to stay away in style from the madding/shopping crowds coming ashore from one huge cruise ship after the other. You can still take a cab and go to town after they are gone!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DELAQUERIERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Let's get this clear first this: you're coming to this hotel for the view. Your room overlooks Charlotte Amalie and the harbor. The restaurant overlooks Charlotte Amalie and the harbor. Your balcony (if you have one) overlooks Charlotte Amalie and the harbor. And no, it doesn't get old.

We came here for our first anniversary and stayed here six nights.

Important things to know beforehand: when first arriving here, you need to drive up when it's still light, especially if you're not used to driving on the left on narrow, windy, steep roads. Parking will be an adventure. And no, you're not going to be able to walk to town under any circumstances. BUT! You came for the view, and it is worth it. (Also, you're just a few minutes' drive from absolutely gorgeous Magens Bay Beach down the other side of the hill.)

The hotel is distinctly not new, but it is still quite nice. (If you care about your hotel's paint job, stay somewhere else. If you want to stay somewhere memorable, however...) We had a comfortable room, a delightfully restful bed, a fairly large bathroom, minifridge and the A/C worked great (it was a wall unit). Water pressure is an issue occasionally when the restaurant is making heavy use, but it's all a connected cistern system, so that's just part of the deal. The only real recommendation for improvement is for softer toilet paper (you'll notice when you get in the ocean).

The staff was very helpful, with good recommendations and advice for getting around the island.

The grounds of the hotel are very pretty, decorated with tropical plants, trees, occasional murals, and coral. The pool is small, but nice to hang out at (and the nice patio furniture provides another spot to stare at the view from...). We spent a lot of time on our balcony, watching sunsets, sunrises, the moon, and cruise ships coming and going. This is definitely a place to come to just sit, relax, enjoy the warm ocean breezes, and put a (temporary) stop to all the rushing and bustle.

Breakfast at the restaurant was included with our room; while it does not start on the dot at 7:30 (island time!), it hits the spot, with complimentary smoothies kicking off your day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Cuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We came to visit our son. Mafolie made us feel right at home, from check in to check out. We ate at the restaurant a few times, awesome and the views were spectacular!! Thx again we really live the location and it was easy to call a taxi.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
2.7 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
636 reviews
5.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
709 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,225 reviews
4.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mafolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mafolie Hotel

Address: 7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3419, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $275 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mafolie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Mafolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mafolie Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing