We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A cross between a Turkish Seraglio and a Motel 7” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mafolie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mafolie Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A cross between a Turkish Seraglio and a Motel 7”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Having just completed a luxury cruise, we arrived at 11 am and since our room was not ready, deposited our suitcases and took a taxi to the closest mall. When we returned, we decided spend the rest of the afternoon by the pool staffed by Rosie who dispenses drinks and operates both the continental breakfast and the poolside snack bar. In our room there were some heavy pieces of victorian furniture mixed with some 1950's chairs and tables. The overall effect was strange and a mite shabby.
This is not a place to go if you have any mobility issues. Perched on a hill, the rooms are scattered up and down narrow walkways. However, the staff were helpful in getting suitcases to our room which is the one featured in their advertisements. The sitting area was the section with the view but the bedroom provided limited visibility. The bathroom had only one small mirror, which was hanging at the six foot level so not useful for using the hair drier unless you are a basketball player.but the shower worked well. The lighting is very dim and hopeless for reading. The whole place is seriously in need of upgrading and maintenance. We opted to have dinner in the restaurant and it was busy and pleasant and the food was pretty good - just don't order anything breaded or deep fried. A taxi was required to leave the property as there is no provision for pedestrians on the narrow road. However, it is not far to the airport or to the harbour. We were flying out the next day so it was more than adequate for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatandHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    158
    71
    20
    30
See reviews for
68
254
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
791 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way from a charter boat vacation. Located high on the hills above the harbour, the views are absolutely stunning. Our rooms were simple, but comfortable and spacious. The whole property could use a little polish, but the rates are so reasonable one can happily overlook the cosmetics in places. The continental breakfast was good. The pool was clean and lovely. The on-site restaurant provided the best meal we experienced in our three nights in St. Thomas. Overall this place is a find.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaraFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

On a hillttop overlooking Charlotte Amalie.Patio with best view--day and night. Friendly helpful service. Excellent restaurant also with great view. Nice pool and bar. Reasonably priced. Early check in most appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

we stayed so we could catch our early fligh the next morning. room was comfortable and had a great view of the bay where the cruise ships dock. we enjoyed a wonderful mahi dinner overlooking a beautiful sea view.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sv b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our room was clean, the people there were very nice. We sat at the bar for the sunset view. One of the best views on the island. We ate at the bar, instead of the dining room the food was very good. Limited TV channel choices, but for a one night stay, it did not matter. Breakfast was included, coffee was great, numerous choices including, toast,cereal, muffins, hard boiled eggs, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here the night before our cruise ship sailed and it was a great location. The setting is spectacular, the view unbeatable and the restaurant, a great place for dinner. BUT. The deluxe room is nothing special, the amenities are minimal and the air-conditioning puts out tepid air that gets blown around by a ceiling fan. The room was so hot and airless we couldn't sleep. The included breakfast is made by someone other than the excellent chef whose dinner we enjoyed the night before. An English muffin and a very old hardboiled egg were all I could manage. The price is right -- $168 for the room with breakfast -- and if you're just passing through, it would be fine if they fixed the air-conditioning.

Room Tip: Our room with the ocean view would have been great if the A/C worked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChamoisMountKisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here with my husband, parents and 2 other couples we were traveling with in late December 2012. We did a weeklong bareboat and needed a place to stay the night before we could pick up the boat at the marina. When we made the reservation in the fall, we were only able to get 3 deluxe rooms and 1 regular. By chance, my husband and I ended up in the regular room. It was clean, fairly spacious but nothing special. The deluxe rooms were much nicer. This place is 100% about the view- safe to say one of the best views in st.thomas. We had drinks at the bar when we arrived, which were tasty & a nice welcome. The staff was very helpful with everything we needed. We were only here for about 16 hours, so I can't say much about the pool or food but the view was amazing. It was perfect for what we did, a night before our bareboat, but if I were staying for longer I would have probably wanted something a little more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoeDiva5386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
5.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.7 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 stars 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mafolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mafolie Hotel

Property: Mafolie Hotel
Address: 7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mafolie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mafolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mafolie Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing