We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best view in the USVI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mafolie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mafolie Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best view in the USVI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

On a hillttop overlooking Charlotte Amalie.Patio with best view--day and night. Friendly helpful service. Excellent restaurant also with great view. Nice pool and bar. Reasonably priced. Early check in most appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    158
    74
    20
    30
See reviews for
70
257
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

we stayed so we could catch our early fligh the next morning. room was comfortable and had a great view of the bay where the cruise ships dock. we enjoyed a wonderful mahi dinner overlooking a beautiful sea view.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sv b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our room was clean, the people there were very nice. We sat at the bar for the sunset view. One of the best views on the island. We ate at the bar, instead of the dining room the food was very good. Limited TV channel choices, but for a one night stay, it did not matter. Breakfast was included, coffee was great, numerous choices including, toast,cereal, muffins, hard boiled eggs, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here the night before our cruise ship sailed and it was a great location. The setting is spectacular, the view unbeatable and the restaurant, a great place for dinner. BUT. The deluxe room is nothing special, the amenities are minimal and the air-conditioning puts out tepid air that gets blown around by a ceiling fan. The room was so hot and airless we couldn't sleep. The included breakfast is made by someone other than the excellent chef whose dinner we enjoyed the night before. An English muffin and a very old hardboiled egg were all I could manage. The price is right -- $168 for the room with breakfast -- and if you're just passing through, it would be fine if they fixed the air-conditioning.

Room Tip: Our room with the ocean view would have been great if the A/C worked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChamoisMountKisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here with my husband, parents and 2 other couples we were traveling with in late December 2012. We did a weeklong bareboat and needed a place to stay the night before we could pick up the boat at the marina. When we made the reservation in the fall, we were only able to get 3 deluxe rooms and 1 regular. By chance, my husband and I ended up in the regular room. It was clean, fairly spacious but nothing special. The deluxe rooms were much nicer. This place is 100% about the view- safe to say one of the best views in st.thomas. We had drinks at the bar when we arrived, which were tasty & a nice welcome. The staff was very helpful with everything we needed. We were only here for about 16 hours, so I can't say much about the pool or food but the view was amazing. It was perfect for what we did, a night before our bareboat, but if I were staying for longer I would have probably wanted something a little more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoeDiva5386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We arrived on Sunday night, exhausted after traveling 12 hours to reach our destination. We arrived just before the office closed (which is only open 8a-8p). After dinner, we looked forward to showering only to find we were left with no paper products, soap and shampoo. The office was closed so we waited until morning.
We stayed in a mini suite, room 110, which has a beautiful view. The room itself is aged, missing screens, no luxury bedding, no coffee pot, a broken 10' window blind propped up in the corner and the pillows are the worst. It was very clean though.
To get into town, the complimentary shuttles stopped a week before our arrival which they did not tell us. They did offer to provide a cab, however, once we left the hotel, we had to pay for our return. You cannot walk into town. The roads are steep, busy and no shoulders to walk safely on. A taxi into downtown is $6 p/p one-way, to Red Hook, $10 p/p.
The pool bar hasn't been open the past 3 days. We spent time at the pool and if you were thirsty, you needed to walk up to the main office to purchase soda, water or beer. Disappointing since the pool area is the highlight of the hotel.
The staff has treated us very well, most were very polite and accommodated us as best as they could.
The reviews and awards for this hotel date back to 2008. I should have paid closer attention to this when booking. It is apparent this hotel needs quite a bit of TLC including bringing back the advertised amenities we count on when traveling away from home.
We travel quite a bit and have stayed at hotel chains such as The Hampton Inn to luxury resorts domestically and internationally. We choose The Mafolie because of the services offered, the description of the amenities and ease of getting into town.
All and all, it wasn't a bad experience, just a big disappointment as what we were expecting was very different than described.

Room Tip: Room 110 has a beautiful view....we are quite certain all the website photos were shot from this roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield WI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean, but nothing special. The view from the room and restaurant was wonderful - Charlotte Amalie and the harbor are layed out below. The pool is a very nice place to hang out. The restaurant was very good. You will need to take a taxi to town or use their free 10 AM shuttle. You would still need a taxi to get back to the hotel. We were there for only one day, but would definitely go back, even if only for the restaurant.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackschwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
5.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.7 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mafolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mafolie Hotel

Property: Mafolie Hotel
Address: 7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3419, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mafolie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Mafolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mafolie Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing