We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good choice!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bunker Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bunker Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Bunker Hill Hotel
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   2307 Commandant Gade, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
COMPLIMENTARY ISLAND TOUR
Chenango Forks, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a good choice!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed here in 2003 and it was all right. Stayed here May 10 and 11 of this year and it was terrible. Had called to reserve room in Feb. 2012 and, because I knew there are many flights of stairs and no elevators, I specifically was assured we would have a first floor room ( only one long flight of stairs to deal with). My sister and I are in our 60's and each with 40 lb. suitcases, carry on's etc. There was no one available to help us carry our ags up the three sets of stairs and finally, the female desk clerk helped us when I told her I had back surgery a year ago and the hotel would be liable for any injury since I had been promised a first floor room!
When we got there, they didn't have a first floor room and were told there were none available. During our two day stay, we only saw one or two other couples so I can't believe they didn't have another room available. Also, their ice machine was broken as well as their soda/water machine. The air conditioner in the room blows cold air directly on the person in the doule bed nearest the door and it was hot,so it had to be on. We were suppose to stay one night the next week, but cancelled that night and found The Island Beachcomber Hotel right near the airport. A little more expensive but one of the best places I've ever stayed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunker_Hill_Hotel, Manager at Bunker Hill Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Joyce T,

We are very disappointed that you would give our establishment such a low rating based on the fact that we did not have a room available for you on our lowest floor. To make up for that, we did give you an upgraded room with a balcony and lovely view of the surrounding hillside and harbor. I’m glad to know that your misgivings had nothing to do with the quality of our property, rooms and service. The other items you mentioned were minor details that could have been addressed in minutes had they been brought to management’s attention. For instance, we would have told you that the air condition vent is adjustable and that during the time that we were awaiting the arrival of our new equipment, ice and drinks were available in the lobby (there was a sign on the old equipment to that effect). As for the stairs, well, the best we could do for that was to port you luggage up and down for you, which we did, with a smile.

We are, however, very glad to know that you enjoyed the rest of your vacation on St. Thomas and St. John. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    69
    29
    16
    16
See reviews for
37
70
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apen, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed one night here before flying home to the usa. The location was really convienent to the tourist shopping area, & restaurants. At the same time, a little scarry! St Thomas (at least in the area we were in) is rough. I would not leave anything of value in the room.
The hotel is very basic-no frills. Some rooms have air con- some not. Some rooms have phones- some not. Some rooms have hot water- some not. Some rooms are clean- some not. Ours was not cleaned from the previous occupants (shower :-/) and no phone. So, if you find you are lacking one of these, just ask for another room.
There is a lovely small pool and outdoor lounge area.
The breakfast (included) was very basic as well.
I would not recommend this hotel unless it was your last option....especially since the price was over $100 a night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank provencegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunker_Hill_Hotel, Manager at Bunker Hill Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Provencegirl,

We appreciate your business, and do hope you would come again, but would like to clear up some mis-information.

1. We are located in St. Thomas' Historical District (late 18th/ early 19th century architecture), which is in Downtown Charlotte Amalie, just steps away from the main shopping area. We are not secluded on a resort, so therefore you will see and quite possibly interact with locals (in non-official capacity) in the area- nothing to be scared about at all.

2. We have been here for 31 years and in all that time have never had a single incident of guests missing anything from their rooms. This includes the jewelers and other main street vendors who routinely stay with us.

3. All rooms are air-conditioned. All rooms are clean. I do hope that if for some reason you found that the room had not been cleaned before you checked in, that you immediately returned to the front desk so that we could take care of you!

4. Our complimentary breakfast includes 1 egg, 2 strips of bacon/ham/turkey, toast with butter and jelly, juice and coffee or tea.

5. At under $100/night we are among the most budget friendly accommodations you will find on the island. The larger hotels are three to four times (sometimes more!) our rate, there is no complimentary breakfast and you still end up spending more on transportation. I can honestly say, that you won't find a better value for your hard-earned dollars anywhere else.

Again, thank you so very much for your business. We do appreciate the feed back as we are constantly working on improving our offering. Have a blessed day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlotte Amalie hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed here twice. It is incredibly well located for the ferries and the shopping area, safe, clean, and has a nice breakfast. There is a very small swimming pool and a wonderful view over the town. It is a great choice for a few days if you are passing through.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I arrived late and famished -- they hadn't fed us on the plane. The manager said most restaurants were closing about then -- but that if I told him what I wanted he'd run out and get it for me! (Instead I bought a tasty barbecued chicken leg from the bar around the corner). The room was VERY basic motel-style... 1970s-type fixtures, aircon kinda noisy... TV only showed a gospel channel. But breakfast on the porch overlooking the harbour was magical, and the view was amazing. The hotel is run by a lovely St Thomas family -- such a nice change from the sterile, impersonal chain hotels you find all over the Caribbean. The location couldn't have been better for me to catch my ferry to St. John: I just rolled my suitcase down the hill 5 minutes. I would definitely stay here again - and some of the other guests had already been there a week or more.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are up at least one flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Omnivole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Bunker Hill is only 2-3 blocks away (up hill) from all the shopping. It is nothing fancy, but it was very clean, included breakfast, and compared to other places very reasonably priced. I would certainly stay there again. (Note: The deli just a couple doors down has awesome Cuban Sandwiches)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KAbraham33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This place has lots of character. Amenities are older, but are clean and working. We loved being within walking distance of the market, restaurants and historic sights. Breakfast with a view, friendly staff and cute little pool added to the experience. Liked that it's child-friendly. The neighbourhood is a little sketchy, but one shouldn't be walking about on their own at night anywhere and we had no issues at any time. Taxis arrive quickly if you order one from reception and it's about two blocks to the bus stops and taxi lot next to the market. We liked the price and plan to stay here again. Lots of steps to negotiate, but you'll be in great shape when you leave!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curly05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bunker Hill during "Christmas Week." We wanted to get away without spending a ton of money. I didn't hate it, but it wasn't the greatest experience.

PROS:
+Price
+Walking distance to the waterfront, shops, and some restaurants. We also walked to Yacht Haven Grande several times, which is a 15-20 minute walk in flip-flops.
+I'm gonna include breakfast here. It was more than I was expecting. However, I recommend walking down to Bumpa's at least one morning.
+Friendly office staff. They were very helpful and gave us advice for finding our way around the island, recommendations for dinner, etc.
+Air Conditioning


CONS:
- Mosquitos!!! My legs were covered in bites after our first night. Several other guests I saw were also covered. They were all over the room. I wanted to catch a gecko from the pool deck and bring it in to kill them.
- The immediate neighborhood. We didn't walk after 8:30pm, but every time we did walk we felt safe. However, we got lots of warnings about the neighborhood. I actually liked seeing both "sides" of island life. As for noise in the night, we had our AC on and didn't hear any outside noises.
- Our cab driver one night told me his friend was killed at the Bunker Hill Hotel. He said it was a domestic dispute. I suppose that kind of thing could happen at the Marriott, too, but I couldn't get it out of my mind after I heard it.
- The steps. We were on the third floor and we dreaded the walk back up to our room (65 steps - we counted).
- Our room could have used some updating. We did see some nicer rooms on the other side of the hall, though.
- Our shower didn't drain properly BUT it was fixed within a few hours.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STJJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.4 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#2 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
2.2 mi away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunker Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunker Hill Hotel

Property: Bunker Hill Hotel
Address: 2307 Commandant Gade, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bunker Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunker Hill Hotel is a unique cozy, affordable and clean Bed & Breakfast Inn located in the Historic District area of Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas.Come and enjoy our serene and comfortable accommodations. From our balconies and common areas enjoy a breathtaking view of the Downtown Harbor & surrounding hillsides, dotted with charming Seventeenth Century Danish Architecture including the Governor's Mansion.We are conveniently located just a few minutes walking distance to many points of interest such as:* Government House* The 99 Steps* The 17th Century Fort Museum* Second oldest Jewish synagogue in the western hemisphere* Duty-Free Shops* Restaurants* Downtown Main Street* Parks* St. John - Charlotte Amalie ferry* Tortola - Virgin Gorda Ferry Dock* Emancipation Garden* Market Square (Rothschild Francis)Whether for pleasure, relaxation or business, this is the place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Bunker Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunker Hill Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing