We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Emerald Beach Resort
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Positive:
Beautiful view from the rooms!
Fantastic beach with white sand and turquoise water!
Great big room with big beds and a lovely balcony.
Free air con, fan in the ceiling, wi-fi and sun beds.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Good cleaning.

Room for improvement:
We desperately needed a screen in the balcony door to keep out the very annoying mosquitos! Would've loved to sleep with the door open at night but it was impossible cause of the blood thirsty bugs.
The breakfast buffet needed decent cheese/jam/cream cheese/honey/Nutella/whatever - the spreads(cheese and jelly) are really boring.
There was an accident with a broken water pipe while we were there but we got no information about the situation apart from what we asked ourselves. It was Saturday afternoon/evening and our entire block was without water for hours but noone from the staff did anything to inform us or make sure we were offered alternative showers e.g., even though many of us were planning on going out for dinner etc. The water came back early in the evening but went missing again the following day - again without any information. I'm aware that it was "force majeure" but would've been nice with a more proactive staff in that specific situation.

All in all:
Very happy with Emerald Beach Resort and we'd definitely come back again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IbenKristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    645
    360
    174
    122
See reviews for
438
689
86
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Awaiting departure on a cruise, we found this hotel to be comfortable and convenient. The staff were friendly. The rooms need refreshing. It was quiet and the nearby airport was not annoying. The dining room was so so but service was friendly. The buffet was not worth the cost.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank deyurdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

While my expectations were low, the hotel was still disappointing. We had a wonderful stay in St. John for the week where we rented a great house. Our flights were one day later than we could stay in the house so we decided to spend one night at the Best Western and then head to the airport in the morning. I used Tripadvisor reviews to make this decision. It seemed very convenient to stay near the airport but I worried about the noise. Many reviews said nothing about the planes so I figured it was worth a shot. It shocks me that every review doesn't mention the incredibly loud airplanes overhead throughout the day. I can't imagine coming here for any other reason than a one night layover. The noise stops at night but I worry about 8am and if my room will shake! The beach is lovely (the one good thing) but it's hard to really enjoy it fully when you have jet planes right above you. But that's not the worst of it. When I went to take a shower, I found there were no towels. When I went to call for towels my phone had no power (and neither did the clock radio by it's side). As we left for dinner I asked for help. The towels were here when we got back but the phone and radio were still not working. When I went to change stations on the TV, the remote wouldn't work. When I wanted to have fresh air, there was no screen on the sliding glass door. This I found truly absurd with all the bugs on the islands and the great fresh air that should be savored. To add to the oddity - there are no elevators so you have to lug all your bags up one or two flights if you aren't on the main floor. The hotel has been updated some but it still feels dated. Also there seem to be a lot of smokers here. Sad. For almost $300 a night it really was a disappointment.

Room Tip: Ask to not be near the bar b/c the music / noise level is loud. But you won't be keeping your d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyof4stamfordct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
I want to thank you for your review about your recent stay at Emerald Beach Resort. We do take our reviews very seriously; reading and responding to them, and are always trying to improve our guest’s experience.

We enjoy a beautiful beachfront location with all rooms enjoying a spectacular view of the Beach and the Caribbean Sea. We are conveniently located near the airport with a small number of flights arriving and departing from St. Thomas, mostly in the afternoon, with no late evening or early morning flights.

Our front desk is always happy to help and available to assist you should you need anything during your stay with us! We do apologize for any inconvenience due to your phone and remote control not working! We pride ourselves on our friendly and courteous staff and providing all of our guests with a memorable stay at a great value!

It is also important to us to conserve energy at our resort and we have found that having screens encourages people to leave their windows open and run their air conditioners at the same time. Enjoying the out of doors is easy to do at Emerald Beach at our wonderful Beach, any of our restaurants (Caribbean Fusion, The Beach Bar, and Oceanside Bistro) and from your private patio; all just a few steps from the beach!

I welcome your phone call to discuss your recent stay and hope that you will reconsider and visit us again on your next St. Thomas Trip!

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed with my partner for 3 nights. The staff are really nice and the views from the room are really nice. It's right on the beach which is quite nice also. The only faults I would have is there is no elevator and it's a bit of a walk between facilities. It's also a bit expensive but the surroundings make you forget that. I'd go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed with my wife for 2 nights.

Liked: good location, very nice and relatively quick staff, great view of the bay from the room, nice beach right out the back door, great vibe in the restaurant area.

Didn't like: older crowd a majority of guests: no elevator; long distances between different facilities with no ramps (pain when having luggage); no breakfast inclusion in the price; expensive dining within;

Generally, would definitely stay there again if we again in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czaja2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The hotel is very close to the airport and super convenient if you need to wait until the morning for your ferry to Road Town. It's right on the beach and has decent food. The hotel is a bit expensive for what you get but the location is king. There is a sister property closer to the airport that is cheaper and allows you access to this hotel but it's not on the beach like this hotel. I plan to stay here for a night on our next visit as it's super convenient but it comes at a price. Rooms were basic but clean and overlooked the beach and water. Service was fine.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JGalt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I was tired of winter and in need of a break and I found this hotel on tripadvisor. It is within walking distance of the airport. It may be an older facility but has been updated. Snorkeled out to the point one morning, pleasant swim but not a lot to see until you get further out. So handy though, being right on the beach. There's a "neighborhood" type bar right on the beach. I was taking pictures of the sunset from the deck and stuck up a conversation with another shutterbug. When I went in for dinner, he turned out to be Paul the waiter. Delicious stuffed Caribbean lobster with a view of the bay. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and hope to go back next winter!

Room Tip: Two buildings are partially blocked by trees while the others have direct views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.4 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
570 reviews
2.9 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
715 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
6.7 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Resort

Property: Emerald Beach Resort
Address: 8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5901, St. Thomas (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 100% beachfront resort on St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands! Tucked into sun-splashed Lindbergh Bay on the Island of St. Thomas, the beautifully appointed Emerald Beach Resort welcomes guests with the gracious look, style and service of the Virgin Islands' rich heritage. BIG King Size Beds and Spectacular Views from EVERY ROOM! FREE High Speed Internet Access. Flat Screen TVs with Cable TV, 100% Beachfront Views with Balcony and Adjustable air-conditioning. Surrounded by landscaped gardens, cascading waterfalls and lush tropical settings, the Emerald Beach Resort offers a central, convenient location close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and all of St. Thomas's great activities and adventures. With the bounty of land and sea captured in stunning views, it's the perfect place for a memorable vacation. Or an unforgettable wedding, meeting or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Emerald Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Best Western St Thomas
Best Western Emerald Beach Resort
St. Thomas Best Western
Emerald Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing