We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emerald Beach Resort
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very friendly resort”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here for only one night before our sailing trip and were very impressed with the hotel staff. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. Nice beach and bar, relaxing atmosphere and very close to the airport and fast ferry to Tortula. I would definitely recommend to anyone needing a short stay in St. Thomas!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    604
    330
    162
    105
See reviews for
390
648
84
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I'm sure you have read about and experienced hotels with amenities. Things mostly, like posh chairs, wet bars, Jacuzzi tubs, etc. I'm writing about the intangibles. From the time I hear Giselle's voice at reservations, to the moment I have to give back the room key, the intangibles are what makes this my place. I say that, "My place" as I would say, "my home" as these people, Giselle, Sharene and Paul, all the way down to the Bartending crew and maintenance staff are kind! I'm not talking about the superficial nice you get from the ritz or raddison chain but the kindness you get from your grandmother. They listen to your boring stories and they laugh with you. You are important to them. To a nothing and a nobody, in this world of great people and feats, that's something very special. I wish I could explain how good it is to feel important. To feel someone really does care about my happiness, even for only a week out of the year. appropriately named emerald beach by the Best western chain it is a radiant gem in the Caribbean. not to be confused with the other best western Caribe the emerald holds the key to a gentle but exciting, calm but invigorating vacation. Would I stay longer? you bet! Would I recommend her to my friends and family? I often invite them to come along! Is it perfect? Are you? It's a gem and it has its flaws like any precious jewel, look past them to happiness. A word of advice to the traveler, If you go through life expecting perfection, expect to be disappointed. Instead look for excellence and you will be pleased. My stay, once again with Best Western Emerald beach allows me a rewind and gives me the tranquility absent in the rest of the world. I wrote this several months after staying because I forgot, but today I made new reservations with my love, at The Emerald and was reminded by Sharene's voice how truly musical this place is. I started smiling again in anticipation.

Room Tip: just ask for Giselle and please be polite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scubeedive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was our second time coming here. It needs updating but you cant beat the view. All rooms are directly on the beach. We went during "Cruise Season" so the people from the ship come early in the morning, around 9:30-10 or so, and like to hog the chairs. The restaurant is expensive, but again, offers a gorgeous view. Please remember that no matter where you go, your on island time, which means, you'll wait.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemont, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I live on Mountain Top and we came down to check out the two hotels on Lindbergh Bay/Emerald Beach... Best Western Plus being one of the two. We were looking for a hotel to recommend to friends who would like to visit us.

The reason we checked this one out is because it is right next to the airport and it has a beach, restaurant and bar. If you are looking for staying put and not traveling too far for food, fun and a decent night's sleep, this is the one we would choose. Rooms are clean, food is decent beach is out your front door, and they are dog and family-friendly.

We hung out at the bar and were treated to the best Island Bushwacker I have tasted since I've moved here. the Photos I've included are of Morgan and Zach, the creator of my favorite Bushwacker recipe, but the beach is great and there was definitely a party vibe going on.

Everyone I spoke to who were staying here seemed happy with their accommodations. It is a 15 minute walk to the marina where the cruise ships come in, and we saw boats anchored in the bay. Only caveat is, if you want to be the only ones on the beach, this is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 17 night stay at the Best Western, and we will be returning next year. The beach is gorgeous, and the rooms are clean, spacious and, best of all, everything worked!!!! Customer service is first and foremost at this ocean side retreat. Each and every request was met with a smile and promptly taken care of. The day we arrived our room was not done. No big deal. We simply went to the bar for our free drinks. Yes, others might have gotten angry, but come on people. You are in the Caribbean. Upon entering our room I noticed the curtain needed repair. Now keep in mind, this was New Year's Eve. I reported it but told them it was no big deal. The next day it was fixed!!!! New Years morning I had a problem with the remote (operator error). At 7:00 AM I called the front desk and was told they would tell the maintenance people when they arrived. Well, I thought good luck with that. The gentleman arrived within the hour and promptly took care of the problem. I could go on and on, but this is the excellent service I received during my stay. The girls at the front desk were wonderful; each and every one of the girls went above and beyond to insure my requests were met. (A special shout out to Gieselle and Tiffany from room 1306!!!!) I witnessed several RUDE people taking their frustrations out on them, and they remained curteous even when they were treated poorly. The bartenders were wonderful. All were professional and a pleasure to talk to each day and went out of their way to make our margaritas like we do back home. Thank you Tony, Zack, Morgan, Ryan, Jodi....you guys are the best. The food in the restaurant was very good. I have read people thought it was "pricey". People, you are in the Caribbean. The only thing I will say is that dining in the restaurant in the evenings can take FOREVER, even to get your first drink. Having said that, the waitstaff was wonderful; curteous and pleasant. On those nights we wanted to eat sooner rather than later, we simply had dinner at the bar where Tony saw to our every need. (Great guy!!!!) We had breakfast in the restaurant several times, and were pleased with the food and the service. Needless to say the beach is gorgeous and, since we are beach people, we were very happy sitting under our palm tree each day. (Regarding the beach, the wedding planner really hijacks the beach-don't walk on the beach, don't go in the water, bla bla bla Thank God there were only three weddings while we were there. My thought would be find a more secluded spot. It's pretty hard to have everyone "follow the rules" especially on cruiseship days). Enough of that. If I had to make a suggestion, it would be to have someone rake the beach and pickup the trash; especially the cigarette butts. Speaking of cigarettes, it would be great if there was no smoking at the outside bar. I know, I know, it's outside, but we never visited another bar on the island where smoking was permitted. OK here comes my husband's big concern....he couldn't get the Patriat's Game on TV which meant the Beachcomber Bar got our money that night; both for dinner and drinks. The TV is very limited. It would be nice if the three major networks were available in the room. One final comment....If you are looking for "guest services and a concierge" this is not the place for you; definitely not the Ritz which is exactly why we come.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rh0deIslandBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intercourse, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Awesome stay, beautiful location, great staff and accommodations. This is our place to stay on St.Thomas! We love the location, the snorkeling is great, one of the best beaches on the island! Cant wait to return

Room Tip: Building 2 & 3 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed here for 10 days over Christmas. Even though the hotel is older, the rooms are clean and decently appointed. The hotel sits right on the sand, and has a good restaurant and great bar. The food is a little pricey, but the bar is cheap and offers enough food to keep you on the premises. The only negative you may encounter is the distance from the main shopping/tourist area. It is about 3 miles into town, and though a reasonably active person could walk, the safari type taxis run continuously and charge $1-$2 dollars. Think open air van that seats 12. Meet people, make friends, enjoy the spirit of the island while technically being in the U.S. Phone service is the same as in the continental U.S., and if you can adapt to island time you are set for a wonderfully relaxing vacation. The "4" rating is due to the distance from town but is really isn't that bad of a jaunt. Take an extra suitcase as you will want to bring back your full allotment (6) of rum at only $7.50 a litre!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raynehri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.4 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
7.4 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
6.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
664 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Resort

Property: Emerald Beach Resort
Address: 8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5901, St. Thomas (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 100% beachfront resort on St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands! Tucked into sun-splashed Lindbergh Bay on the Island of St. Thomas, the beautifully appointed Emerald Beach Resort welcomes guests with the gracious look, style and service of the Virgin Islands' rich heritage. BIG King Size Beds and Spectacular Views from EVERY ROOM! FREE High Speed Internet Access. Flat Screen TVs with Cable TV, 100% Beachfront Views with Balcony and Adjustable air-conditioning. Surrounded by landscaped gardens, cascading waterfalls and lush tropical settings, the Emerald Beach Resort offers a central, convenient location close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and all of St. Thomas's great activities and adventures. With the bounty of land and sea captured in stunning views, it's the perfect place for a memorable vacation. Or an unforgettable wedding, meeting or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Best Western St Thomas
Best Western Emerald Beach Resort
St. Thomas Best Western
Emerald Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing