We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience at Emerald Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald Beach Resort
Reviewed April 19, 2004

We arrived at the Best Western Emerald Beach on April 15 and left April 18. We found it to be a clean, well-run hotel with a pretty beach and nice views from the restaurant and our room. The airplane traffic during the day was definitely noticeable but didn't bother us.We had no problems with rude staff members; however, we observed American tourists being rude to hotel staff and other guests on several occasions. From what we saw, the staff replied to demanding guests and badgering questions with cool detachment. The level of service and attitude of staff was comparable to or better than other hotels and restaurants we visited in St. John and St. Thomas.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KristinS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,812)
There are newer reviews for Emerald Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,706 - 1,712 of 1,812 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2004

My sister and I stayed at the Emerald Beach Hotelin March, and I must say my expectations was met. The continental breakfast was quite filing. The hotel is close to the airport and downtown. The view is beautiful, and the noise from the planeslanding and taking off is hardly noticiable.

1  Thank nickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2004

We stayed here our last night in the Virgin Islands in March 2004 after spending the week on St. John's with our two sons 7 and 10. After spending a week on "island time" we wanted to be close to the airport, but feel we were "still on vacation". When we walked into the lobby the woman behind the desk literally sighed heavily and disappeared to a back office. When she decided she was ready to help us she couldn't find our reservation and told us "we were probably at the wrong hotel" and disappeared again! When I dug out a confirmation number she grudgeingly gave us a room. We LOVED the room and the beach and the pool area. Unfortunately the staff continuously took be aback by their rudeness. My children were the only ones staying here at the time and we got the distinct impression they were NOT welcome. We had the same experience with the weddings and the wedding planner, so we ended up relocating to the beach, which is beautiful. quiet and calm. The planes were not a problem.

Thank GeminiDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2004

We spent 5 nights at the Emerald beach in feb 2004. We have kids 3-9yrs old. Here is a quick snapshot of our +/-; then i'll explain the weddings!

+view and beach are awesome +airplanes NOT a factor +rooms are large with balcony on the ocean +atmosphere at bar is tough to beat =breakfast buffett not much but menu item reasonable =service is island style...you'll get used to it soon -water pressure low/hotwater not very hot -pool area not big and water very cold

We had at least 2 weddings everyday that took place at the pool, right in the view of the beautiful bay; normally not a big deal but the wedding coordinator(not from hotel) was the most abrupt and pushy person I've met in sometime. First day was Valentines....probably 5-7 weddings...we understood but we had to move our pool belongings to one side(away from the ocean) and she asked us not to swim in the deep end.
We ordered hamburgers and she asked us to refrain from them because the smoke interfered with the occasions-unbelievable. She was chasing after us and generally ushering us around when there was a wedding. Mentioned this to the hotel and they had nothing to compensate for our disruption or inconvenience.

Overall, this is a great place for kids/family. Besides the weddings, it was a reasonable value and beautiful setting.

3  Thank plunkpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Glastonbury, MA
11
Reviewed March 7, 2004

Four of us vacationed there in Feb. 2004 and had a very nice time. Not ever being in the Caribbean before, we are not sure how to rate it.
There is a very nice beach that was never crowded and it is very accessible to the rooms. The grounds were very, very nice and the pool was nice too. Our biggest complaint was the food, which we felt was mediocre. There were really no activities run by the resort, but the staff was amicable. The rooms were in very nice condition, but our ceiling fan was broken and they did not repair it as they said they would (the only real complaint). Would we go back? Yes we would, but probably will try some other island first. Oh, our teens loved the fruit smoothies at the restaurant and bar.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2004

We stayed here for two days prior to beginning a cruise. It was nice and relaxing with a good beach for swimming. The room was quite large with a lovely view. I am not sure I would want to stay here much longer because, while they are not a great distance from other places it is still a cab ride. And cab fares add up since they charge per person.
The hotel does provide one way into town in the morning. It seems that they could also run into town at the end of the day and pick people up.
Also be aware that service is pretty bad - but we found that in all the islands - hence, the term "island time". A continental breakfast was included but you could also order a full breakfast for a quite reasonable price. There is some airport noise but surprisingly it was not intrusive.

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PatKBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hampton, NH
12
Reviewed February 29, 2004

Spent one night here on our way to the BVI's, and would recommend it for a short layover/getaway. The location is private and quiet, with the exception of the planes going over every few minutes. The beach is beautiful and pool area is very clean. Nice bar area and quiet restaurant, the food was good enough if you didn't want to leave the hotel. Rooms were clean and spacious, nice private balcony and beautiful view. Service was fine, don't know what people have to complain about when they're on vacation. Overall, wouldn't stay here for an entire vacation, but it is a reasonably priced place to spend a night or two of your travels.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.4 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
571 reviews
2.9 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
727 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
4.7 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Resort

Address: 8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5901, St. Thomas (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $177 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 100% beachfront resort on St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands! Tucked into sun-splashed Lindbergh Bay on the Island of St. Thomas, the beautifully appointed Emerald Beach Resort welcomes guests with the gracious look, style and service of the Virgin Islands' rich heritage. BIG King Size Beds and Spectacular Views from EVERY ROOM! FREE High Speed Internet Access. Flat Screen TVs with Cable TV, 100% Beachfront Views with Balcony and Adjustable air-conditioning. Surrounded by landscaped gardens, cascading waterfalls and lush tropical settings, the Emerald Beach Resort offers a central, convenient location close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and all of St. Thomas's great activities and adventures. With the bounty of land and sea captured in stunning views, it's the perfect place for a memorable vacation. Or an unforgettable wedding, meeting or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Emerald Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Best Western St Thomas
Best Western Emerald Beach Resort
St. Thomas Best Western
Emerald Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing