We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girls Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emerald Beach Resort
Alexandria, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Girls Trip”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 5 nights and did not venture away from the resort much other than shopping and a day trip to St.John. Upon arrival, we had no towels and our sliding glass door to the balcony was broken. We were assured by the front desk personnel that the issues would be addressed immediately, and they were. They were not able to fix the door until the next morning due to it being late, but they were very prompt to get it fixed the next morning. We really enjoyed our stay! The employees were delightful and the beach area was fantastic. The rooms are basic, but who spends much time in their room anyway?! We enjoyed dinner at the beach bar each night and Tony was great! He managed to talk me into getting on a jet ski for the first time for his jet ski tours, and I had a blast! All in all, I'd stay here again!

Room Tip: Our second floor room was perfect, clear view of the ocean, and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    619
    338
    166
    110
See reviews for
399
664
85
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was surprised at Christmas with a trip to St.Thomas by my husband. We had never been to the Caribbean before and our first trip was amazing! We enjoyed our stay at the Best Western. The check in was quick and we were welcomed with a smile and the person was very helpful for us. The first floor room we stayed at was clean and the view from our room was beautiful. I loved that I could walk right to the beach from the room and it made it very easy for us. Although we were near the airport it didn't bother us to hear the planes. The beachfront was very nice, ocean was such an amazing blue/green color and clear and not too crowded with people at all while we were there. I loved that. The staff was very friendly and helpful whenever we needed anything. We had no problem getting towels when we needed them. Dinners at the restaurant were excellent and our waitress, Kristen was very nice and helpful with anything that we needed. We enjoyed the bar and had some awesome new drinks that were different. Thanks to Tony, Morgan and the other bartenders who were great. Also enjoyed eating lunch and dinner there too. What a great place to enjoy meeting new people and the view overlooking the ocean was so relaxing. When we decided to take a tour of the island we were referred to the concierge, Bethany who resided at the Gift shop. She was very helpful and took her time talking to us about the different things to do and places to eat on the island. We took her recommendations and she even called places for us to make reservations. When we needed a taxi to take us anywhere they were always available at the hotel front and the drivers were helpful and knowledgeable with any questions we asked about the island. We are planning a trip for next year. I can't wait to go back.!

Room Tip: I would suggest a 2nd floor room only because of privacy and the view would be better. Our room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearlover74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in St Thomas around 11am off the Carnival Dream and we knew where we wanted to go as we rely heavily on trip advisor ;) we waited with others for a taxi and eventually we along with some other passengers arranged a large group and the taxi quickly jumped at taking us! It was $4 pp there and it was a nice open taxi. The beach is super close to the port but I don't think we could have walked it.
The beach was fairly clean, we threw done our towels and bags and jumped into the water (which was gorgeous). All the staff we met were fantastic, they even allowed us to change in their facilities and got us a cab back to the port. I would definitely recommend this beach to anyone looking for a quick beach stop!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moretown, Vermont
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

With all due respect to the other reviews who book an extended vacation here, my family only stayed one night. After seven nights is blissful St.Johns, we stayed here the night before our 8 am flight back home. What we have are two very different islands and two very different accommodations.

Emerald Beach has beautiful landscaping and a small, but nice pool that my teens swam in while we waited until the 4 pm check-in. A small sliver of beach, but crowded and filled with jet-ski ariels. Fun for some, but again, our taste is much more laid-back and rustic, hence our stay in St.Johns.

Very close to the airport (less than 1/2 mile), but still cost us $24 in taxi fare. Breakfast an additional $17 per person (we didn't partake). Lunch at the beach-side restaurant was good and the pina coladas hit the spot, but what I noticed most was the split personality of this hotel: tired and weary travelers biding time before their flights home and party-hardy young folks drinking, flaunting, flirting, and buzzing about. We took the free shuttle to the other Best Western by the airport (Carib?) for dinner at Fajitas. Dinner so lackluster, lack of charm, lack of flavor. Plus my painkiller was awful and the bill for four was over $100. What we tried to save in taxi fare would have been better spent spending the dough to get into Frenchtown and getting a pizza at Pie Hole.

Rooms are clean and large, all are oceanfront, though somewhat obstructed by the trees and foliage. Request one on the second floor, far away from the beach bar if you want peace and quiet. That said, I didn't sleep well for the thin walls, short sheets, and malfunctioning air conditioning. Pleasant front staff, always very courteous and helpful. Totally adequate hotel for our needs, though forgettable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowyknoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We do welcome your comments and appreciate your feedback. Our goal is to respond to these reviews and improve in any areas that were of concern to our Guests. We do attract a variety of visitors and try to offer a comfortable, clean, friendly and affordable oasis where our guests can relax, enjoy, renew and rejuvenate!

It seems that you are a frequent visitor to the area and we would love to have you visit us again when your travels bring you back to St. Thomas. Please contact me if I can offer you any assistance when you are planning your next trip.

Thank you,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very nice 1 nite stay. A beautiful beach and view from our room. Very clean. Had a great dinner here at their restaurant, then ate breakfast here in the morning. My wife and I sat on the beach after breakfast and hated to leave to go to the airport. Our cab driver told us this is the nicest beach in St Thomas.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I am thrilled that you had the chance to visit Emerald Beach Resort on your recent trip to St. Thomas. Next visit you will have to stay with us longer than 1 night! We do have a wonderful location on one of the most beautiful beaches on the Island and are located near the airport, which is a nice convenience for our guests and you would never know that the airport is nearby!! Every room does have a fantastic view of the beach and is just a few steps from the water’s edge.

Thanks again and see you next trip!

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue springs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here last year and had such a wonderful time that we decided to stay again. We had requested the same room we stayed in previously since this was our one year anniversary and were told we would have it. When we arrived, the girl checking us in apologized profusely stating she was the one who had blocked it off for us, but someone had unblocked it, and it was booked for the next two nights. She let us look at two other rooms to chose between to make sure we were satisfied, gave us two free breakfasts, and gave us the option to switch rooms when the previous room became vacant. That was fantastic customer service. The service at the restaurant had greatly improved from the previous year. Everyone was very attentative and on the ball with whatever we needed and the food was nummy nummy. As always, the very best service came from Antonio. Whether it was giving tours on jet skis or serving us our perfectly made drinks (his bushwackers are the VERY best!) we felt like we had VIP service.

The only thing that really brought down the experience was that one of our neighbors was smoking in their room and the cigarette smoke was coming through the vents making our room smell which was rather unpleasant, but not the establishment's fault.

For the money, the view, service, and rooms are absolutely fantastic!

Room Tip: some rooms do have mold, but they will move you if you let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandolihn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I am happy to hear that you returned to Emerald Beach Resort for your recent Anniversary Trip! It sounds like you have been a part of our Emerald Beach Family for quite a while and easily make yourselves at home when you are here. Our goal is to offer a casual, comfortable and memorable stay for all of our guests. It is always nice to hear that our Staff is friendly and provides wonderful customer service to our guests! We consider ourselves one of the best values on the Island with wonderful rooms, fabulous service at a superb location! It seems that you already know that!!!

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Emerald Beach on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Spent several weeks in March. I have been coming to St. Thomas for a number of years and this is the best beach hotel and bar on the island for the money. Nice clean rooms, excellent air conditioner, and a beautiful view. Excellent friendly staff. Tiffany at the front desk always greeted you with a smile and a positive helpful attitude. Zach and his crew at the bar (Meagan, Andy, and Tony) are not only great mixologist but always friendly and accomodating. I did spend a great deal of time at the bar, but what better place as it is next to the pool and restaurant (excellent food) and right on the beach. None better on the island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheels11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I am so pleased that you have enjoyed several trips to Emerald Beach Resort. We do strive to make every guest experience a memorable and pleasurable event! Thanks for letting others know that our Beach Bar is a very “Special” location! It is so nice that you enjoyed your Island Experience with us!

See you next time!

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.4 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
7.4 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
6.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Resort

Property: Emerald Beach Resort
Address: 8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5901, St. Thomas (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 100% beachfront resort on St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands! Tucked into sun-splashed Lindbergh Bay on the Island of St. Thomas, the beautifully appointed Emerald Beach Resort welcomes guests with the gracious look, style and service of the Virgin Islands' rich heritage. BIG King Size Beds and Spectacular Views from EVERY ROOM! FREE High Speed Internet Access. Flat Screen TVs with Cable TV, 100% Beachfront Views with Balcony and Adjustable air-conditioning. Surrounded by landscaped gardens, cascading waterfalls and lush tropical settings, the Emerald Beach Resort offers a central, convenient location close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and all of St. Thomas's great activities and adventures. With the bounty of land and sea captured in stunning views, it's the perfect place for a memorable vacation. Or an unforgettable wedding, meeting or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Emerald Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Best Western St Thomas
Best Western Emerald Beach Resort
St. Thomas Best Western
Emerald Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing