We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“B-DAY GETAWAY(BIG 4-0)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emerald Beach Resort
Bohemia, New York
1 review
“B-DAY GETAWAY(BIG 4-0)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband surprised me with this trip for my 40th. I already researched St. Thomas & saved BW Emerald Beach in my favorites because of price, location & reviews. I'm so glad he remembered! The beach is beautiful! It was never crowded, lounge chairs always available. It has a kind of party atmosphere(which we like). The view from the room can't be beat.The bartenders were awesome(big ups to Jebediah & Ryan-tube was key). I recomend eating lunch & dinner at the bar. The restaurant wasn't that great & there is nothing around within walking distance-although the airport is. We walked from the airport to our hotel(luggage & all). The staff were helpfull-no complaints there. Tip-The Beach Comber bar(the hotel next door) has a variety of cigs @ $5 a pack. Suggestion to hotel-there is a lot of garbage right against the hotel & bar. When we look down from our room, you can see it. We had the last room(next to the Beach Comber) & the alley between has a broken chair & stuff. Overall, two thumbs up. We are going to plan a trip for next winter(this time with the kids).

Room Tip: Dont stay on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
It is wonderful that you enjoyed your recent Birthday Trip to Emerald Beach Resort! A top Emerald Beach priority is keeping our Beach and Hotel area clean and welcoming for all of our Guests. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again next year with the entire family!

Thank you,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    607
    331
    163
    105
See reviews for
391
653
85
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

All beachfront rooms are very confortables, spectacular beach and beautifull pool.All fascilities are cleans and the staff is very very friendly, great bar and restaurant , The food is very well but the breakfast is the best.You can arrive to hotel walking from airport. .Very reasonably priced for the area. Taxis just outside the door - easy access. Front desk staff helped us every time. Do not expect luxury accommodations here but you have everything you have.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molinae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for visiting us again and taking the time to write your recent review. We are always thrilled when we have repeat customers and love welcoming first time guests, too! Thanks for letting us be your home away from home!

See you next time!

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I just returned from the Best Western, Emerald Beach. It was a perfect vacation from start to finish. Each and every employee we encountered was courteous and professional. During our 18 day stay we interacted, extensively, with the ladies at the front desk. They could not have been nicer. I did witness some very rude people speaking to them, yet they remained courteous and professional. People can be so rude, and then they expect to be treated with respect in return!!!! Don't get me started. The bartenders were the best (Tony, Morgan, Andy, Zack and Ryan); professionals who went out of their way to serve us wonderful cocktails. As far as the restaurant, I thought the food was good. I enjoyed the pasta with seafood, and my husband liked the burgers and the salads. We ate at the bar, and the service was great, although for some reason they ran out of chardonnay for a few days. :( Each morning I got bagels and coffee, to go, in the restaurant and again, the waitresses were wonderful. The housekeepers always gave me a big smile and a "good morning" when I would pass them on the way to the beach, and the gentleman replacing the tile in the walkway (Frank) was so sweet and courteous. Everyone we encountered was warm and friendly but, so were we. The BEACH!!!!!! What can I say. GORGEOUS. Tony, our bartender, also worked at the beach. I cannot tell you what a great job he did both behind the bar and dealing with sometimes "rude" cruise ship people. He was ALWAYS professional and courteous, and he went out of his way, to insure the comfort of the hotel guests while also catering to the cruise ship crowd. He's a keeper. One suggestion for the beach would be to have some sort of receptacles available for people who "insist" on polluting the air with their cigarettes and cigars. I noticed everyone was putting out their butts in the sand which is gross. Rooms - the rooms were large, clean and cool. The room appeared to have been recently updated. In fact, we had a vessel sink in the bathroom. We'll be back. Yup, already made our reservations for next year. If you're looking for concierge services and a high end resort, you may want to look elsewhere, but if you are a beach person who wants a clean room on a gorgeous beach, this is the spot. Gardens were pretty as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rh0deIslandBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
We love to welcome new members to our Emerald Beach Family and were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We do have the privilege of having a wonderful staff at Emerald Beach and I am glad that you got to meet and enjoy so many of them. We are always working to update and improve our Resort for our Guests pleasure. Thanks for visiting and see you back here next year!

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Beachfront rooms - clean, great bar with local patrons (that's always a good sign), food okay, convenient location to the airport. Beach is spectacular and also a pool with a waterfall so this is a little gem of a hotel. Staff is welcoming, friendly and helpful. A/C works great - a good thing after a long flight. Snorkeling at the end of their beautiful white sand beach. Had a small refrig in the room and a wet bar sink. Hairdryer and shampoo, conditioner, etc. provided. Safe in the closet, iron and ironing board, flat screen TV.Very reasonably priced for the area. In Hawaii these oceanfront rooms would be 3 times the cost. Taxis just outside the door - easy access. No elevator but eager staff to haul your bags up to 2nd and 3rd floor as needed. A $12 taxi ride for two downtown (without bags) so consider this when booking.

We chose this hotel as a rest stop after a long overnight flight from the west coast prior to a Sunsail trip out of Tortola and we're so happy we did. Got to the hotel quickly and jumped into the ocean. Restful nights - airplane noise stopped at a reasonable hour. Sunsail recommended another hotel across from the ferry terminal but it sure didn't have this beach or view. Front desk staff helped us with taxi to the ferry to Road Town and it was an easy transfer, even with sailing bags and gear. We stayed here on our return to STT we enjoyed it so much.

Do not expect luxury accommodations here. This is a fine, clean, better than basic hotel with local ambiance, a spectacular view and lovely staff. Joel, the manager was very accommodating and eager to please his guests. Note: other dining option is right next door at the Beachcomber - just a stroll down the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a palm tree blocking your view if you care about that. If you are challenged...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJaneSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay at Emerald Beach Resort. Our goal is to provide superior service to all of our guests from top management all the way to our Beach attendants. We are eager to share our wonderful Island Paradise with you! Emerald Beach is a true Caribbean Experience and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay... twice!

We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This little hotel, right next to the airport has everything you need in one little spot. Right on the beach, great little restaurant, and very reasonable priced. The beach is beautiful and very calm. I would recommend renting a car though as the main town is not withing walking distance. Also, there is a new playground down the street that is great for kids!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockymtnmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Emerald Beach Resort. We are definitely located on a beautiful beach with some of the best prices on St. Thomas and a Great Restaurant! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Emerald Beach and we look forward to welcoming you back real soon!

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is perhaps one of the very few if not the ONLY hotel that has all beachfront rooms in St. Thomas. Located almost a stone's throw away from the airport. If you are looking for hotel amenities, then this is perhaps not the right one for you because the amenities aren't that great (no complimentary breakfast, no free water bottles!). But, stay in this hotel and you won't regret it mostly because of the private beach that it has which isn't that bad for snorkeling. Has a nice swimming pool and restaurant/bar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arindammukho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Emerald Beach Resort is a 100% Beachfront property with all rooms having a spectacular view of our wonderful Beach and the Caribbean Sea! I am pleased that you were thrilled with our resort and hope you return many times as an Emerald Beach Repeat Guest!

Thank you for your review and hope to see you soon!

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place is close enough to walk to the airport, therefore we knew what to expect. But we got way more! The planes were only in morning and evening, providing for mostly quiet and good sleep after a week of bouncing around the islands on a boat. They accomodated our need for ground floor (no elevator), the bartenders at the beach bar were personable and fun, the bar food was great, and so was the inexpensive breakfast buffet. There is a resident cat who took a liking to us while we escaped a morning rainstorm near it's favorite chair. There are many lounge chairs and palapas right outside your room on the cool white beach,with a roped off area for swimming and playing. Our room had what appeared to be a new bathroom, the a/c worked marvelously, the beds were comfy, and while I don't have a lot of great past experience with BW, I'd highly reccommend this hotel!

Room Tip: If you are worried about the plane noise, it was minimal except 9-11, and 4-6, at which times the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETicketRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at Emerald Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Emerald Beach Resort and do appreciate the time that you took to write your review. Please come back and visit us again when your travels bring you back to St. Thomas!

Thank you,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.4 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
7.4 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
6.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#4 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Resort

Property: Emerald Beach Resort
Address: 8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5901, St. Thomas (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 100% beachfront resort on St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands! Tucked into sun-splashed Lindbergh Bay on the Island of St. Thomas, the beautifully appointed Emerald Beach Resort welcomes guests with the gracious look, style and service of the Virgin Islands' rich heritage. BIG King Size Beds and Spectacular Views from EVERY ROOM! FREE High Speed Internet Access. Flat Screen TVs with Cable TV, 100% Beachfront Views with Balcony and Adjustable air-conditioning. Surrounded by landscaped gardens, cascading waterfalls and lush tropical settings, the Emerald Beach Resort offers a central, convenient location close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and all of St. Thomas's great activities and adventures. With the bounty of land and sea captured in stunning views, it's the perfect place for a memorable vacation. Or an unforgettable wedding, meeting or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Best Western St Thomas
Best Western Emerald Beach Resort
St. Thomas Best Western
Emerald Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing