We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FULL review of Carib beach with TIPS!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We came out of the airport and asked the cab how much it would be to go to the hotel.

$70 for 6 people.

We got in, loaded up and left the gate of the airport and IMMEDIATELY saw the sign for the Best Western Carib Beach 10 YARDS from the airport! It literally would have been faster to walk!

Upon arrival we noticed that the hotel was very run down, dirty, dated and poorly kept. Oh well - we were only going to be there 12 hours so we checked in. Our room was sparse. The tile floors were dirty. The bathroom was smaller than any dorm you had in college.

My wife wanted to brush her teeth and needed a bottle of water. NO WATER after 8 unless you have EXACT CHANGE for the vending machine and they have NO CHANGE at the front desk. NO WATER? NO change? NO restaurant or bar? NO WATER?

My wife put the kids to bed and noticed that her feet were dirty from just walking in the room for 10 minutes so we had to put down thin towels in a trail from the little bathroom to the bed.

The AC worked fine but that was the highlight of this trip - excluding our checking out of course.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelf50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 640 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had another overnight stay at the Carib Beach. As usual it was more than adequate. We checked in late and checked out later than normal because of a lost luggage situation, the staff was friendly and helpful. We have never stayed more than one night at the Carib Beach but it’s perfect for our needs (airport & ferry) and would recommend it for anyone needing an overnight in St. Thomas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobcat2948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I checked in on March 21, 2014 at around 5pm, by 6pm i was already the hell out of that nadty filthy place.

A/C was almost non existen as is was hot, no hot water, TV would not turn on, toilet barely flushed, hospitaly? what hospitality? its null, nada.

We had to walk up two set of stairs with a verly large heavy bag. No elevators amd not even the courtesy to ask if we needed help up.


My advice, if you had to chose between this hotel and sleeping on a bus stop, if would go for the bus stop, hands down.

Unless you are used to filthy stuff
like this.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank omarvqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed at Carib beach after a villa stay on St John in February for our last night prior to flying out. The proximity to the airport is great, literally walked to the terminal in 5 mins. The hotel itself was nicer than portrayed in some reviews we found the rooms clean with great views for a great value. Front desk personnel were polite and helpful. We especially enjoyed the Tiki bar/restaurant which was a great mix of local and traveling patrons which made for an enjoyable happy hour and ultimately dinner. The bartender and servers were all helpful and enjoyable. I have already booked for next year for first and last day of vacation in STJ. We will definitely take advantage of the sister hotel Emerald beach a short walk or shuttle ride away, something we did not take advantage of this trip. I wouldnt hesitate recommending this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmf4107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Where do I begin

Pros: close to the airport, comfy bed, very nice hotel staff

Cons: far from attractions, no beach, very very outdated, have take a shuttle to actually get to the beach, no hot water, horrible bathroom scared to take a shower, restaurants is overpriced with limited menu, waitress at the restaurant has no clue at all

Don't waste your time staying at this resort should be called motel

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the airport for our final night in the Virgin Islands. We arrived early and were told one of the rooms where almost ready. Three hours later, we finally were able to get into our rooms, exactly 4pm. The restaurant was not open for lunch so we were offered to either shuttle to the much nicer sister hotel for lunch, or sit in the lobby with all the rest of the unhappy people waiting for rooms. I don't know why this is billed as a resort. There is a small unkempt pool with a very small beach area. If you stay in one of the rooms across the street, you have to drag your bags there, no porters here. The air-conditioned in the room didn't work, and a couple of light bulbs were out. The coffeemaker had missing pieces, including the basket that holds the coffee. The rooms are not soundproof so you can hear all the take-offs and landings.
Pros is the bed was comfortable and room was clean. It is literally within walking distance to the airport. Dinner at the restaurant was delicious and the service from the bartender and the waitress was excellent.
I'm not sure we would stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoytieToytie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We chose this hotel for convenience - and for that purpose it was perfect! We had an early departure from St. Thomas on Saturday morning, so we needed some place close to the airport. It is literally right around the corner! It took us maybe 5 minutes to walk to the airport. There is a concrete side walks the whole way.

You might expect there to be a lot of airplane noise, but we heard a few while we were outside dining, but not while we were in our room. The hotel is clean and decorated nicely; the bed was comfortable, too.

We arrived early to the hotel and knew check-in would be a wait. The check-in staff were professional and quite nice. They gave us a pre-check-in and stored our luggage while we went to their sister hotel (just across the bay) and enjoyed their small beach. They loaned us beach towels for free and called the free shuttle they use between hotels. It was the best check-in wait I've ever had!

I would book this hotel again because of convenience instead of the Best Western Emerald Beach. You can have access to the same beach and restaurants without the higher price.

Room Tip: Go out and enjoy the lanai - it's almost as large as the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C-02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
2.7 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
577 reviews
7.8 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
0.4 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
718 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,225 reviews
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas

Address: 8075 Lindbergh Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5906, St. Thomas (Formerly BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $156 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carib Beach Hotel St. Thomas
St Thomas Best Western
Lindbergh Bay Hotel And Villas St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing