We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the airport for our final night in the Virgin Islands. We arrived early and were told one of the rooms where almost ready. Three hours later, we finally were able to get into our rooms, exactly 4pm. The restaurant was not open for lunch so we were offered to either shuttle to the much nicer sister hotel for lunch, or sit in the lobby with all the rest of the unhappy people waiting for rooms. I don't know why this is billed as a resort. There is a small unkempt pool with a very small beach area. If you stay in one of the rooms across the street, you have to drag your bags there, no porters here. The air-conditioned in the room didn't work, and a couple of light bulbs were out. The coffeemaker had missing pieces, including the basket that holds the coffee. The rooms are not soundproof so you can hear all the take-offs and landings.
Pros is the bed was comfortable and room was clean. It is literally within walking distance to the airport. Dinner at the restaurant was delicious and the service from the bartender and the waitress was excellent.
I'm not sure we would stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoytieToytie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 636 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

We chose this hotel for convenience - and for that purpose it was perfect! We had an early departure from St. Thomas on Saturday morning, so we needed some place close to the airport. It is literally right around the corner! It took us maybe 5 minutes to walk to the airport. There is a concrete side walks the whole way.

You might expect there to be a lot of airplane noise, but we heard a few while we were outside dining, but not while we were in our room. The hotel is clean and decorated nicely; the bed was comfortable, too.

We arrived early to the hotel and knew check-in would be a wait. The check-in staff were professional and quite nice. They gave us a pre-check-in and stored our luggage while we went to their sister hotel (just across the bay) and enjoyed their small beach. They loaned us beach towels for free and called the free shuttle they use between hotels. It was the best check-in wait I've ever had!

I would book this hotel again because of convenience instead of the Best Western Emerald Beach. You can have access to the same beach and restaurants without the higher price.

Room Tip: Go out and enjoy the lanai - it's almost as large as the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C-02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Avoid this hotel like a plague! We booked it with priceline hoping that priceline wont be marketing a hotel that belongs in a 3rd world county. Yes it is close to the airport but the pros stop there. It is dated, it is ugly and the staff is rude. On top of that they call it a resort and charge you a 10% surcharge, hey how about a 50% dump discount? All we had to do was spend a night as we had a flight to ctach so we booked this hotel on priceline without much research. If I did my due research I would have read other comments. I am even surprised that Best Wester would allow such a dump to carry their name/logo. Take a look at the pictures if you dont believe me.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stay ANYWHERE else!

If you didn't stop at the first sentence, then you obviously want more details. So where goes ...

I travel extensively for business and have written many, many reviews on this web site. Most are very nice, some not so nice ... this is the absolute worst!!!

Stayed here because it is close to the airport; actually, the airport check-in area is with walking distance. However, town is about 3 miles away, and St Thomas taxis have quite the racket going - travel from airport area to center of Charlotte Amalie is $10 per person. So if 2 go in a cab, it's $20; if 4 go in a cab; it's $40. BEWARE!!!!!

Check-in: Front desk staff were extremely rude (the entire 24 hours we were here) and simply couldn't care any less. My headache begins. Our group consisted of 3 couples. One couple has specifically reserved a room (via Expedia) with ocean view and a bath tub. At check-in, they were told there was no such combination as an ocean view with a bath tub; they were given an ocean view (which turns out to ony look on a small inlet with another hotel at the other side - no ocean!) with a shower.

No elevators, and no staff to help you carry your bags up the stairs. Headache just got worse.

Hallways and rooms smelled like industrial cleaning solvent; headache is now raging!

Our Room: outdated, fraying carpet; dirty bedspread; tile & grout in the shower could use a serious scrubbing; old worn-out towels; not even a glass in the bedroom or bath - just plastic cups; barely any water pressure. Headache has progressed to migraine. Good news - the water does get hot.

Friend's Room: no bath tub, as reserved; broken telephone; broken TV; room was dirty. Walked back to front desk and demanded another room. Given keys to another 'ocean view' room, walked in to find a bath tub (!); broken telephone; broken safe. At this point, they just wanted a place to rest their heads, so they stayed.

There is a sister Best Western, the Emerald Beach Resort (nice beach and restaurant with a nice ocean view) across the little bay. Shuttle runs between the 2 hotels every 30 minutes. We were standing outside NEXT to the shuttle; driver walks over to car, says nothing to us, gets in shuttle bus and drives to other hotel - never asks us if we're waiting for him - never asks us to get in - just drives off. So we walk to the sister hotel (10-15 min walk, nice). Have dinner there. Food was so-so (like all the food we in the BVI for the previous week); nothing to brag about; I give it 5 out of 10. Catch shuttle bus back to our hotel.

For $200/night, breakfast is NOT included in the room rate; shocking. Wait staff had same attitude as front desk staff.

Checked out of rooms and had hotel hold our luggage; no charge for this service. Went on an island tour for 3 hours. Returned to hotel to get our luggage before heading to the airport; front desk staff was busy, so we walked to the luggage hold room - door was wide open with no one in sight! Luckily our luggage was still there, but hotel demonstrated zero security concerns for our belongings.

NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DoloresLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Hotel needed some updating. Check in was slow and confused.Phone did not work, not all outlets worked. Bar / restaurant was friendly and fun. Views from bar and room were great. Very close to airport. Price was. Right at around $100, for a resort. Would book elsewhere next time.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cbryana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is a nice resort with private cottages which are very nice. We were here Jan 21-29 for our honeymoon and stayed in cottage 115. The room was nice and the balcony was great with awesome views. We did have some issues with the tv and nightstand, but the manager did her best to try to accommodate us and make us comfortable. The shuttle is nice that takes you to the other resort Emerald Beach where there is many more amenities (snorkeling, kayaking, jet skis & paddle boats) all for a fee of course! If you are interested in jet skiing I would say try the small place on the local beach between the two resorts as they are cheaper. We walked the road to take the local bus for $2 per person to town, the mall or red hook, as the bus stop is right up the road if you don't have a car. Was tired of the steps up and down to get to the cottage, but was very nice. Water pressure is much to be desired here and it takes some time for the water to get hot! Small beach area and pool, but was very nice for honeymooners! Nighttime bartender was awesome and the food was good too! If we go back we would vote to stay the Emerald Beach resort instead, but if you are looking for seclusion and privacy this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: private cottages are definitely the way to go here!! We were in room 115.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ripsgirl032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I sail the US VI's and BVI's for 2 weeks every year. We had our typical sailing vacation planned where we end in St. Thomas and normally stay at the wonderful Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel for convenience to the airport and the exceptional customer service.

This year (for a period of 3 months) we were hit with prices of $329 and $349 on the internet and calling Best Western directly. We typically stay for 2 to 3 days and this was absolutely ridiculous. I could have stayed further out on island in a 4 or 5 star hotel for less using some mileage points or reward points. But we like to be in town to do some walking and shopping and have done this for 12 years. Our Department of Defense friends traveling with us had a $189.00 rate at Emerald Beach and when i called to request same was told I could have $289.00 per night in a few days under AARP or AAA (Best Western reservation line). What???? Never happened.

So we wound up for convenience of my 88 year old sailing mother-in-law staying at the Carib so she could walk and shop in St Thomas. I initially had booked through Best Western and then found a rate $40.00 less on hotels.com and cancelled the one made with Best Western.

We arrived on Saturday 2/15/2014 from sailboat and had 11 bags after being out 2 weeks (7 people). The front desk staff said we could not check in until 4 PM - hotel rules and when we advised at Emerald Beach when room available we could check in - the young woman at the desk trying to be polite (tongue in cheek so to speak) said we don't have as many rooms or staff as they do so you will have to wait until 4 PM. When I asked about our first floor rooms she rudely advised me I had booked with web site and she had put us in a bay view room which was superior and she had no first floor rooms nor did she see any request for same (I requested). She then explained it was next building and only 8 steps to second floor of this building. Nothing further from the truth. It is 8 steps each landing and no bellman or assistance when I requested (just haul those bags in/out and up down and they don't care). We hauled all our bags from lobby to rooms in 200 building on second floor. My 88 year old mother-in-law could not believe how careless and inconsiderate they were and will never stay there again.

We had a 5:45 PM flight out the next day and we asked for late check out of 2 PM. We were "told" we had to vacate room by 12:30 PM and at 12:25 PM someone was knocking on our door to get in and clean. My husband and I went for a short walk at 11:00 AM and when we returned at 12:05 AM and we immediately started removing bags (housekeeping in hallway watching), we noted our keys were not working. When inquiring with front desk we were told even though check out extended "as a courtesy" they did not re-key us for the extra 30 minutes., Had my mother-in-law not been in room we would have had to walk back to lobby and I am sure beg for keys and not be charged for the half hour.

Rooms have been remodeled and cleaned up. There are only double beds and it is ridiculous we could not get anything else. The rooms were clean and from a customer service prospective hotel is terrible and not worth wasting your time.

The staff at front desk "placated us" and acted as if they were paying the bill. They need some customer service education and need to learn how to treat guests as we pay their salary. There is no lunch and you can take the shuttle to Emerald Beach property to eat but it only runs on the hour so beware....We had to have our personal driver pick us up there and go to Carib property to pick up our bags. NO extra cost - the joy of knowing who to hire in St Thomas to take care of you year in and year out with excellent customer service.

As a business traveler who spends about 200 days a year on the road in hotels (flies over 140 segments per year) and has elite status at three different properties (Best Western is not one of them and now certainly will not become one after this poor experience) I am appalled. What is so strange is that after one year - when we walked into Emerald Beach Hotel lobby the young woman at the desk greeted us and said - my goodness you were here last March (yes we were) - where have you been? She was right on the money and I told her the story. She apologized profusely for my poor experience at Carib and told us to call Emerald Beach directly in the future so they could accommodate our family. It seemed like everyone from the cook in the Emerald Beach kitchen to the wait staff and bartender all apologized for our Carib experience. Wow - sister property and they cared enough to apologize when no one at Carib even cared to do so for our inconvenience.

So, as a frequent flyer and "other" hotel guest - do yourself a favor and don't stay at Best Western Carib. Pay a few dollars extra and don't be treated like a second class citizen for your hard earned dollars. When in lobby on day one I overheard a guest complaining of toilet overflowing requesting assistance (he was given a plunger), another that room was not as reserved (he booked online from Europe) and another loudly complaining he and family would never stay there again.

Just a terrible experience and never again. Will pay extra and not even think about it.

Room Tip: Read Trip Advisor reviews. We take our time and energy to make sure when we review a property etc. y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RBG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
2.7 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
2.2 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
712 reviews
7.8 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,811 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas

Address: 8075 Lindbergh Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5906, St. Thomas (Formerly BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $161 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carib Beach Hotel St. Thomas
St Thomas Best Western
Lindbergh Bay Hotel And Villas St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing