We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, affordable stay in the Virgin Islands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Orange Beach, Alabama
Level Contributor
1 review
“Nice, affordable stay in the Virgin Islands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed in this hotel 3 times in 2011. Twice in December. Why? Super clean, super affordable, and it's location. On a bay so you have nice views. 2 minute drive to their sister hotel if you have a need for a more upscale feel. The Carib has a waterfront swimming pool which we had to ourselves most of the time. We also enjoy the casual, laid back, open air bar next to the pool. And the dinners served in the Mexican restaurant.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped and very well maintained. No, this is not the Ritz but for around $150 to $160 a night in the Caribean, it makes a great, affordable layover or a place to stay for those on a budget.

We had a good experience with the manager. Although, she was extremely busy, she took a great deal of time to change a future reservation around for me, and this was during Christmas. Wanted to change my dates and she had to move things around to accommodate my request.

The only negative I would have would be the 10 percent resort fee and the 10 percent tax and the $1 safe fee(which was broken), adds more than 20 percent to your bill. I got such a great rate, I decided it wasn't worth worrying about. Hey, I was in the Caribbean and it wasn't going to break the bank!

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendykay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    190
    154
    104
    85
See reviews for
139
237
40
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
reno, nv
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

The ocean view was lovely, the restaurant great! only trouble is it is not open for lunch, but a free shuttle to the Emerald Beach sister resort ran hourly so we went over there for a super lunch on the beach. We liked the front desk service and the room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

The hotel is small and in walking distance from the airport.

Access to the sister Best Western property on Emerald beach for half the price makes it a great bargain!

The bartender, Daniel, was one of the best things about the place. His advise about scenic places to visit and tourist traps to look out for was right on. Another thing he said that was very helpful was, "keep your elbow in the bush" when driving around the island. This memory tool comes in handy for those of us used to driving on the right side of the road, especially when driving back to the hotel after dinner and drinks.

Renting a car is a must as it allows you to get out and see the island. Would also recommend taking the ferry to St. John for a day trip. Trunk beach is awesome! ;-)

Note to Non-US citizens... St. Thomas is outside the US customs zone, so although it is a US territory, non-US citizens must bring their passports in order to get back to to the states.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Average-American-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Dumpy hotel. Would not use it for anything else than an overnight stay. Restaurant was awful. Food awful and all the waitress did was look at her phone.

And of course nothing better than obnoxious drunk red necks from Texas to add to the "ambiance".

Only good thing was it was a two minute walk to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nocomment26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlotte Amalie hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

I was staying here for one night before I caught my flight out. Talk about nickle and diming you to death. $17 for an "activity" fee, $1 for the use of the safe, the list goes on and on. All in told the price of the hotel winds up being about $30 more than advertised. Combined that with the website said there was a shuttle to the airport (there wasn't, I had to cab it) overall I am not too impressed with the hotel.

The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. The food in the onsite restaurant was ok, but nothing of note.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThereBeBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night after arriving late into St. Thomas before catching a ferry to Virgin Gorda. This hotel is great due to it's proximity to the airport. We were able to walk to the hotel in under 5 minutes. The hotel is basic at best but fine for a night. The common areas felt old and run down. I wouldn't recommend it as a vacation resort but is fine for a night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jalcasey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayalaCarib, General Manager at Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you for your cooperation in taking the time to write your review following your visit to the Best Western Carib Beach Resort.

Your comments on your stay was appreciated and will be used to aid us on improving our services for all our guests.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will give us another opportunty to serve you in the near future if you return to St. Thomas.

Sincerely,

Kanema Ayala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on 11-27-2011 for one night because we missed our flight. I was expecting a low grade place, but was pleasantly surprised! This hotel is old, no doubt, but has been kept in good shape. The rooms are great, with nice beds and large balconies. The soap and lotion (Vaseline brand) are excellent. Also, the shower was the best we had in our 2 week stay in the Caribbean, and we stayed in some 4 and 5 star resorts! The "beach" is not much, but it is there, and rather cute and quaint. The pool is small, but well kept. The "piece de resistance" is the bar. It is outside (with cover) overlooking the water. Excellent beer selection (over 10 types, including some local beers) is excellent. Daniel, the bartender, is really a treat. Very well informed, courteous, and generous with your cocktails. I would totally stay here again! Remember, it is by the airport, so you have some air traffic noise, but I did not find it disturbing. Plus, you can walk to the airport! At $130.00 per night, you can't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a water view.....great balconies. **** No Elevator ****
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hsmithjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayalaCarib, General Manager at Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
On behalf of our entire staff of the Best Western Carib Beach Resort, I would like to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you and your guest on your recent stay with us.

We try in every way possible to offer each guest the finest service, we thank you for your comments which helps us on improving areas of servie that may need attention. We believe each guests deserve the best treatment.

We are very excited about the changes that have been made, and the progress of the changes to come in the future for the property. We want you to know it was a great pleasure for us that you decided to choose our property and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.


Sincerely,

Kanema Ayala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.4 mi away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.2 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
3.2 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
6.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas

Property: Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Address: 8075 Lindberg Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5906, St. Thomas (Formerly BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carib Beach Hotel St. Thomas
St Thomas Best Western
Lindbergh Bay Hotel And Villas St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing