We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (775)
Filter reviews
775 results
Traveler rating
87
183
224
132
149
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
87
183
224
132
149
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 775 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2019

My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Windward passage hotel while visiting the U.S. Virgin Islands. Before we stayed there we had read reviews on the hotel and should of trusted them because we would of not stayed here. The location of the hotel is great. It’s with in walking distance of good restaurants and other attractions near by. The staff at the front desk and bar area were very helpful. They have a free shuttle that takes you to Magens beach every day and that’s a nice amenity.
The hotel,itself needs updating. They have signs saying they are renovating.but, we seen no evidence of this happening.
Our room was dirty. The carpet was stained and dirty and I really didn’t want to walk on it with my bare feet. There were stains on the walls and drapes and chair.And there was a broken lamp on the night stand. There were gaps in the door where you could see the sun shining through them.
And it was noisy. At night you could hear guests in the courtyard area. Our room was at the back of the building and could hear loud music from cars going by at night.
We had drinks at the bar one night. It was so dimly lit that you couldn’t see.
We had breakfast in the dining room one morning. The food wasn’t bad. But, the room lacked any atmosphere.
The hotel has a lot of potential to be nice. It has nice amenities. They just need to bring it up to its potential. We wouldn’t stay here again unless they do some updating or something.

Room tip: Book a room on a higher floor to the front of the building for a better view.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been shared with our staff.

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019 via mobile

Worst hotel ever. We stayed here for a night to catch an early flight and it wasn’t worth it. Nasty black hairs EVERYWHERE on the counter, bed, and shower. Red stains on pillows, stains on carpet, etc... so so bad. Not to mention WAY overpriced. I wouldn’t spend a dime to stay here.

Date of stay: April 2019
1  Thank 138susannahv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been shared with our staff.

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

Filthy dirty property all around. Pool was the only thing that appeared to be clean. The carpet in my room had to be original, nasty stained. They are still playing the hurricane card, Holiday Inn Corp. has enough money to fix this place up. Charging 190.00 bucks a night for a crap hole.

Room tip: Find another option
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank bigwave549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been shared with our Management staff.

Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2019 via mobile

We stayed one night and took the ferry to the BVI. Our flights changed and we ended
up here longer than the 10 hours we anticipated. The hotel is nowhere near renovated and even in its finest hour I would guess it is a 2 star hotel. Dirty rooms, service was slow, in a pretty undesirable location. We chose it because it was close to the ferry. I would never stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank SBCG149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
948pamk, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review your comments have been shared with our staff.

Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2019 via mobile

We had to overnight in St. Thomas and there aren’t many options so we decided to try the Windward. For the $200 plus nightly rates, they need to do much better. While they still blame the hurricanes of Sept 2017, their rooms could use a major upgrade. But where they need major help is in the restaurant. We had breakfast and it took at least 25 minutes before we could get coffee. And then we sat there for nearly an hour before we got any food. And the worse part is that we were not the only ones complaining, just about everyone had sat there for a long time before they could get any part of their breakfast. As soon as other hotels get back in business in St. Thomas, I predict this place will either go out of business or will require a major upgrade in facilities and personnel. If you can, try Airbnb or other places. This is pretty bad & for the price you pay, it isn’t worth it.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank fdoaguirre57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
948pamk, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been shared with our Management staff.

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews